We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Steam room out of order but otherwise a stunning spa”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 21 August 2014

Booked a spa day with my sisters and mum which we do every year. Spent a bit more than usual to come to Bowood and I think we all agreed it was worth it.
The staff were all very welcoming and friendly. The view from the pool and Jacuzzi is amazing and very relaxing. Unfortunately during our visit the steam room was out of order which I did feel we should have been informed about before or on arrival and offered a form of compensation as it is a big part of the facilities and one which we all enjoy using usually.

We had a lunch, fruit platter and glass of fizz included in our package and this was lovely. We were able to sit out in the courtyard and enjoy the sunshine.

The massage was very enjoyable, the treatment rooms are the nicest I've ever seen.
We all came away feeling very refreshed.

Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank dontliketomoanbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear dontliketomoanbut,

We’re very glad to hear that we succeeded in making you feel relaxed, refreshed and pampered and thank you for your review.

We’re sorry to hear about the steam room, however hope that everything else you experienced on the day made up for this not being available.

We hope to welcome you back to The Spa again to enjoy the facilities as a whole.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,337)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

981 - 987 of 1,337 reviews

Reviewed 19 August 2014

A delicious meal was enjoyed by the four of us. The starters were quite varied and unusual. My duck was delicious. For main courses we enjoyed sea bass and sea trout which was very nice too. To top it all the strawberry roulade was really yummy.
All through the meal the very attentive staff were very professional and knowledgable too. A really relaxed evening had by all.

Room Tip: A beautiful setting with golf and spa.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Debbra M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 26 August 2014

Dear Debbra M

Thank you very much for leaving a review of your dinner in the Shelburne Restaurant at Bowood Hotel.

We’re very happy to hear that we could provide great food and service along with that all important relaxed environment.

Please do come again when I’m sure our menu will have changed and there will be new dishes for you to try.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

Had a two day family golf and spa weekend. Hotel is fantastic. It is a little expensive but you get what you pay for. Food excellent and rooms perfect. Good spa facilities and a great golf course. Man in golf shop was a bit miserable but all in all very good.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
Thank Properjob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 20 August 2014

Dear Properjob,

It's great to hear that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay and thank you for taking the time to review every activity you experienced whilst you were here.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and can recommend taking a trip over to Bowood House & Gardens whilst you're here, which of course is included in your stay during the open season (between April and November).

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

I would recommend for anyone wanting a really nice stay away - the team who we interacted with where very pleasant, accomodating; the room but in particular the bathroom very well appointed and spacious down to the toiletries; nice touches like fresh cookies in your room and water each day. The restaurant for dinner was exceptional but beware the menu does not change each night although the chef kindly accomodated an off the menu creation for me. Breakfast really lets them down as it is a free for all (a buffet for hot - yuk) and does no favours to what they do for the balance of the experience; the golf tour were loutish and allowed to be (very bad form) and made everyone very uncomfortable in the restaurant and there is simply not enough serving staff on the Friday for sure (which when you know you have a large golfing party this is not rocket science). The 18th birthday party in the Golf club had the potential to ruin the ambience but thankfully after an hour of loud music someone must have popped along and told them to shut the door - you dont get second chances guys to create an impression. As for cigarette butts on the patio from breakfast time still in evidence at cocktail hour...
The spa is very pleasant and I would recommend the half hour massage as a good pick me up.
Took bikes to enjoy the surrounding countryside and worked up a good appetite coming up the hill to pub by main entrance after 13 miles to enjoy lunch - it is lovely. Overall 8 out of 10 when they should be delivering a min 9 out of 10 for the money, even with the late escape deal but I would still recommend - working hard and very nice feel.

Room Tip: Balcony rooms are nicer but the balcony is tiny, shame. Not sure splurging for one of 4 suites is wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Croft69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Croft69,

Thank you for the recent review of your stay with us.

We welcome all feedback good or bad and are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay even though it may have been a little disrupted by slightly overenthusiastic guests. Great that you enjoyed the tranquillity of The Spa and your Sundari massage.

We do pride ourselves on first impressions usually being very good and we are a fun place to be.

We hope to welcome you back in the future and recommend a visit to Bowood House and Gardens to experience the peace of the outdoors and history of the estate.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

We spent the day at the Spa: Staff very friendly and helpful, enjoyable day out, food was delicious we did the spa day so a light lunch, fruit, fizz and massage included, along with full use of facilities. The food was more than substantial, very filling! Small gym but lovely equipment and facilities, the massage was very good too and we left feeling more relaxed. We went in the week midday and found this to be a good time to go, as by 4:00pm children can access the facilities so gets a little busier and noisier, so time your visit accordingly.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank Elle M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Elle M,

Thanks for reviewing your day at The Spa.

We hope that you left feeling relaxed and rejuvenated and are happy to hear that you enjoyed the facilities we have on offer.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014

A wonderful relaxing place and tranquil. Still loads to do for teenagers and under 7yrs alike. Our families all joined to together for a family Birthday. Wonderful. Pool lovely except kids are only allowed in 3.45-5pm and before 10 am so quite restricted which was a downer as we wanted to go before lunch time. Golf driving range fun as we all tried it out - the good, bad and downright rubbish! Food in Brasserie was good value and tasty. Good with allergies too. Bowood house and gardens well worth a visit too as free entry if you're in the hotel. Kids enjoyed adventure playground too - lovely area for a picnic too. Take a blanket in case all tables are full. came back relaxed and refreshed!

Room Tip: Choose first floor for family room overlooking golf course.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Lonnky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Lonnky,

Thank you for taking the time to leave a review of your stay with us.

We’re very glad to hear that you had a very enjoyable family break away and are grateful for your feedback. We hope that our junior swimming times didn't interfere with your stay too much and that you found plenty more to do instead.

We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2014

So many hotels these days get some things right and other things wrong but Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort are deserving of an 'excellent' review. The hotel staff were friendly, cheerful and have a 'can do and happy to help' attitude and it was a pleasure dealing with them all from the moment we checked in to the minute we left.

Despite being told the hotel was full on the night we stayed, it never felt busy or overcrowded and the layout of the hotel is well thought out. Bowood makes a difference with the 'extra touches' in the rooms and the overall cleanliness of the hotel was exceptional.

Well done Bowood, we had a wonderful Golf/Spa weekend stay and we will most definitely recommend the hotel to friends and colleagues.

A job VERY well done.

Room Tip: We had a luxury double room on the third floor - the rooms are a great size and the bathrooms are wo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dannydaniels12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BowoodResort, Manager at Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2014

Dear Dannyg1rl,

Thank you very much for your recent review of your stay with us.

It really is a pleasure to hear such lovely feedback and to hear that we could provide you with such an enjoyable break.

We look forward to looking after you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
760 reviews
9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
697 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 3 in Calne
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
893 reviews
13.5 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,084 reviews
8.9 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort

Address: | Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Calne
Price Range: £92 - £246 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort is ideally situated just off the M4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All 43 bedrooms and suites are decorated in a contemporary English country house style and feature plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. The hotel is set in 2,000 acres of beautiful parkland, so you can relax and enjoy your surroundings. Dine in the stunning Shelburne restaurant and enjoy a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring open fires. The Spa at Bowood offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers as well as luxury spa treatments for that perfect treat! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, HotelsClick and Ebookers so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing