We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All round fantastic 2 days, the hotel, staff, facilities, setting and course were perfect.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Certificate of Excellence
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
85 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“All round fantastic 2 days, the hotel, staff, facilities, setting and course were perfect.”
Reviewed 20 October 2009

We had a great two days playing golf and spending time around the hotel. The hotel is high spec. The staff are so well mannered. The main restaurant is fine dining but don't worry about having your meal in the other restaurant, it is a lot less formal and a different menu but the food is still excellent. We played the course off the yellows and whites, it is long and demanding but very fair, you will need to drive the ball well. If I was going to be picky, some of the par 3's lack a bit of character plus in the golf restaurant they should put a few loungers to allow you to watch the tv a bit easier. But my overall opinion is a great place to spend a weekend.

  • Stayed October 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cockneysontour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,214 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    718
    302
    125
    38
    31
See reviews for
263
534
12
92
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (143)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2009

My wife and I have just returned from a wedding anniversary break, we booked the dinner, bed and breakfast deal with a round of golf. As you cant check in until 3pm we started with our round of golf, it wasnt an overly busy day but it still took us (a 2 ball) five hours to complete. We werent slow and everyone was keeping up with the game in front. The course is in superb condition and is quite tough for middle to high handicappers. When the round was complete we checked in and were pleased with the hotel and room. Everything is immaculate and still very new feeling. Dinner was formal, dress smart ! The meal was top quality but remember it is fine dining and you could fit my main course into a tea cup!!!
There is a very well maintained 3 hole academy course which you are entitle to use whenever you like which is ideal for par 3 practice. My wife tried to book a treatment in the spa but was told that because the hotel was fully booked, the treatment room is converted back into a bedroom (there isnt a purpose built room) it would be worth checking that you havent been given this room as your bedroom.
Overall, a great stay in beautiful surroundings nothing is too much trouble for the polite and friendly staff. We would go again but would definitely get a BUGGY !!

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank moonraker909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
gwent
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 September 2009

a highly recommended Hotel, with staff that were all friendly and attentive.A lady called Natalie was on Recetion who couldnt do enough to make sure that our stay was enjoyable.The rooms are spotless, spacious and comfortable.and very modern in design, with high attention to detail no expense has been spared. The library room was pleasant and inviting.Breakfast was excellent, a buffet to start and then table service for the cooked breakfast..The waiting staff were all charming and polite which makes a pleasant change to some of the staff in other hotels that I have stayed in.I would stay again at this hotel if in the area. I have stayed at Golf hotels in the past which have been noisy but this was relaxing and very quiet and the setting is superb. Well done to all

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank world-wise-traveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 August 2009

Just returned from a weekend of golf and relaxation and this was certainly what we got! I worked at the golf club 15 years ago (and still work in the golf industry) and was very curious to see the new hotel. It was wonderful. The attention to detail is superb wherever you look. The staff are very helpful and smilely and are excellent ambassadors for the business. The bedrooms and bathrooms are elegant and contemporary. The public areas are subtly luxurious. We had two excellent evening meals in the restaurant and breakfast was very pleasant. The golf course is well maintained and the course views are of the beautiful parkland. It is a long course but fun to test yourself against. The only negative was that on the Friday we experienced a 5 1/2 hour round as a two ball - a group somewhere ahead of us apparently got lost and went back and played the two holes they had missed out! This then caused a golfer-jame behind them with lots of waiting on tees. The next day it was fine and we got round in 4 hours as a two ball (as I said - it is a long course!). We also used the swimming pool and the aromatherapy shower (hot or cold) but didn't have time to try out any spa treatments. Many places do not live up to expectations but the new Bowood hotel very definitely exceeded them! We will definitely return and will also recommend Bowood to our friends.

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank standard_bearer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berkshire
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2009

We stayed here for a golf weekend with friends. The hotel was superb - clean, bright, well decorated and the rooms were superb with all the facilities we could want. The restaurant and food were excellent. The spa facilities were good with an excellent choice of treatments. All the hotel staff were bright, cheerful and friendly and this seemed to rub off on all the guests :) This has to be the best hotel we have ever stayed in and we would recommend it to anyone. Other hotels take note - this is the way to do it!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Izzy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Uttoxeter, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 August 2009

My husband and I booked this hotel for an overnight stay on our way to the West Country from the Midlands. We usually avoid golfing resorts like the plague, but having read a good newspaper review and as it was only for one night, we gave it a try. What can I say? This place is absolutely fantastic. We booked a great room, with a balcony, overlooking part of the course. We arrived late afternoon, during a heavy rainstorm and the hotel did not appear to be very full (it was a week night). We saw very few golfers from our balcony, but did spot some deer, which we enjoyed much more! Dinner and breakfast were perfect and service was spot on. Ouir compliments to all the staff who helped to make our stay so pleasant and especially to the young cocktail waiter, who certainly knew his stuff. A few very minor criticisms - I have to agree with a previous comment about doors that would not shut. We had a problem with our bathroom door. Also, if we had been staying for longer, with more luggage, we would have been very short of drawer space and lastly, I really do not think it is a good idea for staff to be taking their smoking breaks outside the main entrance to the hotel, as one person was when we arrived. I am sure that the impression this gives is probably not one that Bowood wants to convey. However - these are very minor moans and we will be back for an extended visit as soon as we can. Congratulations to all involved in this new venture!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pennyhj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 July 2009

I stayed at this hotel on business and was very impressed. Everything about this hotel from the rooms, food, service, spa and location was fantastic. Special mention to John, the golf pro who was so helpful and helped our golf event run smoothly. I would love to stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PickyParker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
4.5 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
712 reviews
9.0 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
667 reviews
13.5 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
999 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.4 mi away
Bishopstrow House
Bishopstrow House
#1 of 3 in Warminster
854 reviews
17.2 mi away
Blunsdon House Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort

Property: Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Address: Derry Hill, Calne SN11 9PQ, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4 star — Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort 4*
Number of rooms: 43
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated just off the A4 between Calne and Chippenham on the stunning Bowood Estate. All bedrooms and suites are decorated in a Contemporary English Country house style and incorporate plasma screen televisions, internet access and Wi-Fi. Dine in the stunning 82 seat restaurant and have a drink in the duel lounge bar featuring wood burning fires. The spa offers an infinity swimming pool, gym, rock sauna, crystal steam room and aromatherapy showers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, LateRooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bowood Hotel, Spa And Golf Resort
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Hotel Calne
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing