We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very friendly and super breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bug & Spider

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bug & Spider
Ranked #10 of 12 Calne B&B and Inns
Horsham
1 review
“Very friendly and super breakfast!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed for one night with my mother and as we arrived very late the kitchen had closed but they were so kind to still make us a nice meal. Everyone was very welcoming and the twin room was excellent - quiet, clean and comfortable beds. Very good value, and we were even given a birthday drink on the house! The breakfast was over generous and we could not manage lunch much later! I would stay again if we were in the area!

Room Tip: Probably the rooms at the back, furthest from the road would be the best, although we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RebelK008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    13
    10
    8
    15
    11
See reviews for
17
11
4
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
coventry
Level Contributor
48 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2011

Stayed one night for birthday party nearby. It's not 5 Star but what do you expect for £55-00 inc breakfast. Very pleasant staff,who ordered cabs, and and generally made us very welcome. Rooms nice and clean, and good size,unlike shower cubicle which a big person may struggle with. Would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ruthpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 August 2011

Stayed here to attend a wedding and it was fine.Room clean and comfortable, toilet and shower clean and it was good to be able to make a strong coffee the next morning!! Going by other guests experiences of places to stay in Calne, we chose well. Very good value for the £58.

Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank nigel w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 June 2011

Where do I begin............perhaps by saying that you will see the bug and the spider within two seconds of check in! I will also say I am not usually given to complaining and indeed this is the first negative review I have ever posted on TA........My mother booked the hotel due to its location as we were to attend my Aunts 90th Birthday party and had family travelling from Canada and Australia to attend.

We were told check in was at 12 Noon, and as the party was a lunchtime event we decided to check in and then go to the party venue, we arrived at around 12.15pm and first impressions were not great as we pulled in, the reception area was grubby and the carpet looked like it hadn’t bothered the Hoover for quite a while and the beer garden area was rather uncared for, and don’t even mention the strange smell, as a result hopes were not high as we were given the room keys, however when we got to the rooms they had not been made up or cleaned!!!!!!!! the lady who checked us in was very apologetic and said she would do them immediately once she had found someone to cover the bar so we changed and left her to it.

We arrived back around 11.00pm and had a drink in the bar and were then very surprised to see a group arrive in the bar with some kebabs from the local takeaway, which they preceded to eat in the bar and consequently stunk the place out! what pub would allow this?......When we got back to the room it had been made up and clean bedding put on the bed however, the poppers on the duvet cover were all broken, the blind was broken and would not pull up, there was no soap, and again the Hoover had not made it here as there were crumbs and hair on the floor and there was toilet paper in the toilet which would suggest it had been used and the coffee cups were dirty, this condition was generally the same across all the rooms in our party.

We went along for breakfast in the morning not expecting too much to be honest and we were not disappointed as the tables were filthy, sticky and had some old residue tomato sauce on from a bygone time, we used the polystyrene cups that were provided alongside the china ones as the china ones were grubby, however the coffee was disgusting and the orange juice sour and undrinkable. The cooked breakfast had possibly the vilest sausages I have ever tasted in my life and an egg, which somehow managed to have a runny white with a solid yoke! figure that!.......all this from a rural area where fresh local sausages and free range eggs are surely easy to come by, but it would seem buying the cheapest ingredients seems to be the philosophy here.

The price at the time we booked it was £48 which is cheap, however given the cleanliness and the shocking food we felt it was way over priced and then on check out we were asked to pay £55 which we declined to do so and to be fair the lady charged us what we had been previously quoted.

I wouldn’t stay here again if you paid me and I wouldn’t recommend it to anyone!

Room Tip: Dont go!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Traveljunkie2801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calne hotels

Southport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2011

Spent three nights here while down in Bristol for a friend's wedding. The bedroom was clean and accomodating with plenty of room for my 2yr old daughter to run around. She also loved exploring the beer garden and going on the swings.

The staff were really friendly (suggesting places to visit while we were down there) and we had a very tasty breakfast every morning. We will definitely be back in Calne again visiting our friends and will be sure to stay at the Bug and Spider as we were made to feel so welcome.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monkeydebris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 March 2011

We only needed a good value, clean room and breakfast option as we travelled to a family party in Calne. The location was convenient, easy enough to get to from the M4 and the rooms very clean and OK for one night - would not have wanted to spend more than one night.

Helpful enough in the afternoon when we had a problem with the heating but the TV wasn't tuned in and we couldn't face searching someone out to help with it. Breakfast times were on the blackboard, we went out at 6.30 and when we got back later on there had been a note under the door asking what time we wanted breakfast but we had no opportunity to answer it as we were at the family party.

Then when we got up at 10am we were told we'd missed breakfast and nothing could be done about it. Whilst I appreciate that it might not have been possible to provide a full on breakfast but it sort of staggered us that we had never had the chance to say when we wanted breakfast and then not even a piece of toast offered!

It didnt feel very busy at the Bug and Spider and I guess that they arent that fussed actually.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank veritynomiddlename
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derbys
Level Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 April 2010

We were recommended to stay here by the Company we were visiting...wasn't sure what to expect based on the one review....BUT, it was lovely!
The people at the Hotel were extremely friendly (as soon as I arrived the lady behind the bar offered to help me with my bags), the food in the bar in the evening was really, really tasty (very good choice, very good quality and very good value) and the service was excellent.
It's not a posh hotel, it's just simply very homely. The rooms are very well kitted out (tea/coffee making facilities, shower, tv, beds - what more do you want/need??), very clean and very well looked after (in fact, they looked like they had recently been refurbished??). If you like shower gel for your shower take some otherwise there are tablets of soap. The shower cubicles are small but they are very good showers.
Breakfast too was lovely....freshly cooked based on what you wanted (usual thing, cereal, full english, toast, tea. coffee, juice).
The final touch was the follow up email checking that our stay was ok - now, how many places do you know do that??
In a nutshell, highly recommended and I will definitely stay again if I am in the area.
Thanks to all at the Bug & Spider!

  • Stayed April 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JLW67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Calne hotels
0.7 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 248 reviews
0.8 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 167 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.7 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calne Bed and Breakfast
2.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Compton Bassett
4.5 of 5 bubbles 351 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bug & Spider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bug & Spider

Property: Bug & Spider
Address: 221 Oxford Road, Calne SN11 8AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 12 B&Bs / Inns in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Bug & Spider 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Bug & Spider reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bug And Spider
Bug & Spider Hotel Calne
Bug & Spider Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing