We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not sure if we were just unlucky”
Review of Bug & Spider

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bug & Spider
Ranked #10 of 13 Calne B&B and Inns
Reviewed 16 May 2013

Booked in for two nights B&B. First night there was no hot food, nor on the second night. As we were leaving early both mornings, no breakfast either. No hot water on the first morning either, although back on the second morning. Rooms comfortable and beds especially so. A good nights sleep on both nights. Needed a bit of attention. No rod to alter angle of venetian blinds. No knob on bathroom cupboard. Room clock not working.
Other reviews seemed good, which made it all the more disappointing. Just unlucky, or on a gradual decline?

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Andrew O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (67)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

52 - 58 of 67 reviews

Reviewed 19 September 2012

great price and very clean and fully equipt rooms. friendly staff. great bar and function room, friendly locals, breakfast was exceptional and fast service...would definatley stay there again. planning my next stay already.

Room Tip: huge room available for a family with 4 children.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Katy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2012

we have stayed here for 2 family occasions in the area, and both times have been very happy with everything we got for our money. the rooms were clean and tidy with everything you would expect to find in a hotel room. our food was lovely, our complements to the chef! the children were happy too (which makes a change lol ) as there was plenty to keep them occupied. the family running the pub/B+B could not have been more polite and helpful even though they were obviously really busy at the time, . we would not hesitate in using this establishment again, we were made to feel so welcome. Thank you again, if we are in the area again we will be back. loraine & andy

  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Loraine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 September 2012

I stayed in the Bug and Spider recently, what a lovely place. The rooms have everything you need in them and the showers were really good. There were some toys and an outside play area for my children to play in so that kept them occupied! The breakfast was delicious too!! Thank you for the stay!!

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LGrace1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2012

I stayed at the bug and spider for a wedding in the area. I was very pleased with the pub/b&b! Staff were very friendly and couldn't help us enough, taxi booked for us, went out of there way to make us feel at home!
Yes the decor could do with some improving, but run by a lovely family who certainly put in a great deal of hours even with a young child, who I must say was just as polite!
All in all a lovely place to stay for only £55 a night
Sarah

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Princess H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

Yes it was cheap but it was also nasty. Maybe I was unlucky but I found the Bug & Spider very disappointing.
Room was a good size but dated and scruffy. The floor had obviously not been vacuumed - hair, fluff & general debris all over the carpet. En-suite (a triangular cupboard in the corner) was also scruffy, mould inbetween the tiles, no soap or shower gel provided, shaver light not working, shower hose and head leaking everywhere, small triangular shower cubicle that drained so slowly that I stood in 3" of water when using it.
Evening meal was a bit of a joke - 2 of the 3 starters were 'off'. My lamb shank was the size of a sparrow (an undernourished sparrow at that), the baked potato was microwaved and the accompanying vegetables turned out to be a small portion of frozen diced mix veg.
I have had much bigger and far better starters than this so-called main course.
Breakfast was better but a limited choice of ingredients for the full English served in the pub lounge.
The whole place needs a refurb and a good clean up and redecoration. General rubbish all over with cigarette butts, weeds and general rubbish all round the outside. Fixtures & fittings, tables, chairs, etc are basically all worn out.
The owners childrens toys were scattered around the pool room along with a pair of flip flops just sitting in the middle of the floor !
Got the impression that the owners put very little effort into making the place somewhere nice to visit so no, I wont be going again.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronny48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2012

I stayed for one night with my mother and as we arrived very late the kitchen had closed but they were so kind to still make us a nice meal. Everyone was very welcoming and the twin room was excellent - quiet, clean and comfortable beds. Very good value, and we were even given a birthday drink on the house! The breakfast was over generous and we could not manage lunch much later! I would stay again if we were in the area!

Room Tip: Probably the rooms at the back, furthest from the road would be the best, although we had no problem...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RebelK008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.7 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#3 of 3 in Calne
291 reviews
2.9 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
8.7 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#2 of 3 in Calne
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.6 mi away
Alexandra House
Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
1,040 reviews
2.1 mi away
The White Horse Inn
The White Horse Inn
#2 of 2 in Compton Bassett
370 reviews
0.6 mi away
Calne Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bug & Spider? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bug & Spider

Address: 221 Oxford Road, Calne SN11 8AW, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 13 B&Bs / Inns in Calne
Price Range: £56 - £66 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bug & Spider 3*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Bug & Spider reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bug And Spider
Bug & Spider Hotel Calne
Bug & Spider Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing