We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Enjoyable meals” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ivy Inn

The Ivy Inn
Ranked #3 of 32 Restaurants in Calne
Price range: US$9 - US$29
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Romantic, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A picturesque 17th century thatched pub serving high quality food from locally sourced ingredients. One of the few remaining pubs serving locally brewed ale directly from wooden barrels.
Harlow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
126 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
“Enjoyable meals”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2014

This is the “pub” that we sometimes use for an evening meal when staying at the nearby Bells Farm at Stockley, from which we have had excellent western horse rides on the nearby Downs.

We have enjoyed our dinners in the traditional bar area, and have yet to experience the restaurant (our visits have been mid week, when the Inn has not been busy).

  • Visited March 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank UKTerry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    28
    4
    6
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Dropped off”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 March 2014

We've been to the Ivy several times but our last visit was quite poor. The portion sizes for the starters were unacceptable (chicken wings for £5 - you get two, smallest portion of whitebait ever received). When the main course arrived the fries were burnt and the pie pastry had also seen better days. To be fair the waitress replaced the fries quickly when we complained.

We eat out a lot but it will be a while before we venture near this pub again.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TheIvyHeddington, Owner at The Ivy Inn, responded to this review, 5 March 2014
We are very sorry you had a bad experience. We have made major changes effective Monday 3rd and should you wish to try us again make yourself known to the staff and enjoy a meal on us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Discovered a little Gem”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

Visited the Ivy Inn for the first time today for Sunday lunch. To see barrels of ale on view behind the bar was a joy and sends a good message. The welcome was very friendly and the menu comprehensive. The quality of food was exceptional and, all 3 of us agreed, was one of the best 'pub meals' we've had. Delighted with our first visit and will certainly return.

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mike1051
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“New Resaurant opening night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 December 2013

The Ivey has refurbished their restaurant and we went for the opening night. The new décor is really great with a lovely theme and many tributes to people called Henry - in line with the Wadworth Brewery history.
The service was attentive without being intrusive with good explanation of the dishes on offer and flexibility to ensure we all had exactly what we wanted, even catering for a gluten free friend.
The food was well presented, top quality and was absolutely delicious. Between the 4 of us we all had something different and each of us were equally impressed with our choices, needless to say there were 4 clean plates when we finished.
Another good thing is that there is not just the usual selection of 'cheap' pub wine but some really good quality wine at reasonable prices too.
The bill was reasonable considering the quality of the food and wine and the ambience is relaxing and not over the top.
A great evening was had by all and we'll be back again soon.
Many thanks to all the team at the Ivy for making the effort to make this a super place to go whether just for a drink or for dinner with all the trimmings.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Howard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service & Food Excellent”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

A Saturday night supper, Warm and welcome, open fire and friendly staff. Food is top quality, be very happy to return again and sample the excellent menu.

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Robrobson73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Ivy Inn also viewed

 

Been to The Ivy Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing