We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unbelievably bad - see photos.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
north yorkshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Unbelievably bad – see photos.”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

Don’t stay here. This is by far the worst, dirtiest, scruffiest hotel I have ever had the misfortune to stay at, how it gets a 3* AA rating I do not know.
We arrived to book in to be told by Keith (the manager’s husband), that they didn’t take dogs at the hotel, he was extremely rude and aggressive. I showed him the booking and confirmation and explained I had rung to make sure there was a dog friendly room available as advertised on Laterooms. His wife June then arrived to take over and confirmed that we did indeed have a room, but oh how I wish we had not.
We were taken to a separate outbuilding that smelt damp and looked grubby and handed the keys. The room was awful.
If you wonder why there is only an outside picture of the hotel shown please look at the photos I have added - this is room 233. The carpet was filthy with all sorts of stains, the window frames were rotting, the bathroom was dirty with pubic hairs still in the bath and mismatched, dirty sanitaryware. Even the coffee cups were dirty and mismatched – at least there was a theme of sorts.
We decided to sleep in our clothes rather than get into the beds and thought maybe this was just their dog friendly rooms.
We were wrong, we spoke to two other guests who had paper peeling off their bedroom walls, dirty stained carpets and unpleasant smells in the rooms, when they turned on the bathroom taps the water smelt of sewage.
The rest of the interior of the building was just as bad with wallpaper peeling off, stained walls and floors and very tired and dirty paintwork.
The dining room had wooden floors and there was enough food in the cracks to feed a football team, plus the cutlery was predictably dirty.
We will not be staying again, ever.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrnoluck
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

264 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    49
    70
    46
    38
    61
See reviews for
61
78
18
36
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 June 2012

I can honestly say I've never stopped in a dirtier, dated, smelly hotel.when I walked in it smelt really bad, but as I am not very fussy and only wanted the room as a base for the night, i gotthe keys to my room. The room was the worst I have ever been in, no facilities, dirty sheets, dirty bathroom and again smelt really bad. I requested a room change were I was then put n a room that was slightly better but still no were near an average standard. Kept having power cuts so couldn't even dry my hair so went to the wedding with wet hair. Fortunately I was able to ring the nearest travel lodge so managed to book into that. It was the worst hotel I have ever been to and I am currently demanding full refund from booking.com.

  • Stayed June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Colette1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 9 July 2012
Dear Guest, Sorry it has taken me some time to respond but we have only just managed to sign onto the site, please be assured we do read your comments. I would like to apologise that you were not happy with the first room you had, I thought when I moved you to one of the re-furbished rooms you seemed quite happy with it I gave you the bottle of wine as an apology as I don't want a guest to be unhappy I am sorry you were still disappointed but can assure you that the room I moved you to which had just been finished is above a 3* hotel standard. I can also assure you that we you had not paid in advance for the room as our agencies do not take pre-payment the card is given as a guarentee.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calne hotels

Martock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
67 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2012

I would have to agree with the other reviews on here that state that the hotel is past its best and in need of refurbishment. generally decor is in poor condition and finishes in the rooms to a low quality.
So given this why have I given the hotel an average rating? Well it is down to the excellent staff and good quality of food served in the restaurant. The rates are also reasonable with my room costing £55 pn with breakfast included.
The bed was also very comfortable which is something I rarely come across even in far more expensive hotels.
Would I stay again? I can't say that I would go out of my way to return but if I had to, I would not be too upset about it purely because of the staff and food.

Room Tip: Car parking can be an issue in the 'courtyard' as you have to drive through a small archway...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Andrew G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2012

I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times as it is convenient for visiting my sister. It is a shame that to enter the hotel from the car park you have to negotiate through the smoking area. Not a very nice welcome especially if you are a non-smoker. The room was shabby but it was clean and the bed was very comfortable. When we went to breakfast there was not much left but the staff were very happy to make us some fresh food and the quality of the breakfast was good. Couldn't believe how reasonably priced the food and drink was. Yes the hotel could do with a freshen up but then if was refurbished the prices would go up - I think I prefer it to be reasonably priced than swanky! So overall taking into account the cost I thought it was OK and would stay there again.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lesley K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, UK.
Level Contributor
52 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2012

My stay was added at the last minute to a break already planned as I was traveling to Oxford with my wife to meet family. I had not been to Calne before and I chose this location as it was near to Avebury. This main issue with this hotel in my experience is that the decor needs renewing. A costly exercise for a place of this size. The plus side for me is that the public areas where comfortable and I liked the feel of the place. My biggest dread with regard to furnishings is if someone renovated the place and made it sterile it would be a shame. I have stayed in updated inns and hotels before and if not done right it can empty a place. The room I had was on the courtyard side and it was large by the standard of many places at this price. Ok, so no flat screen TV but there was a TV and the room appeared to be clean with good bead linen. The view to the courtyard is not the prettiest view but I did find it interesting with old buildings and a blossoming tree. They couldn't prepare the meal I chose as they had run out of prawns but my second choice was good and with a bottle of Pino Grigio for £7 (yes thats £7 not £17!) I was more than happy. The next place I stayed at on this trip charged £15 for a bottle of nondescript lacklustre New World wine. Whats more they had a local pilsner beer by Arkells brewery at £2 and I have not had finer in Belgium or Austria. I paid £60 for B&B and I can say I have paid double for no better. The Landsdowne may be a little tired but the staff where polite, I found it good value for money and It was like stepping back to the places I stayed in in the sixties as a boy. This hotel has bags of original charm and character, if you want featureless then stay in one of those travel places with vending machines charging the price of a meal for a bag of crisps. I couldn't log onto the WiFi but my phone had full signal so I run my Mac through that. Altogether an enjoyable stay and I will return, hope they have some prawns next time!

Room Tip: The rooms at the back of the hotel are quiet and the one I had was large.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank catoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kings Lynn, Norfolk
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2012

Having paid £50 per night to stay at this hotel I was bitterly disappointed at the cleanliness of the room in general and condition of the bathroom. Parking is severely restricted in the court yard. Wi-fi connectivity was not very reliable.

On the positive side - the breakfast was very good.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vicky O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Battle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 January 2012

On arrival a dirty courtyard carpark welcomes you before you have to negotiate the swearing smokers by the entrance to reception. On safely making it to reception we found it unmanned, and had to search for a member of staff to check us in.

The room was very dated with shaby torn wall paper, a filthy carpet full of hair and skirting boards thick with dust. The dressing table had water damage and above this two holes in the ceiling.The drapes on the four poster were dirty, but the white bed linen was clean although no pillow protectors were used. The bathroom was disgusting the cracked bath full of a previous occupants hair so bad it was caked in the drain, hair also on the floor. The water flow was a trickle and the shower ran either boiling or freezing. The shower screen was dirty and the bath panel damaged due to water leaking from the shower. The shelf and complementary products had a layer of dust on as did the shelf behind the loo.

We didnt have the time to complain as we had less than an hour before needing to be at a party. We arrived back very late to a peaceful hotel letting ourselves in, but first thing in the morning very loud music started to play gone was the peaceful lie in!

Breakfast, when we eventually found someone, who communication skills we were shown to a table. We had to prompt them to take our order and were given no customer service although the food we received was hot and fresh unlike the tea and coffee.

We couldnt wait to check out we didnt see one member of staff who made us feel welcome, such a shame as this hotel could be really beautiful with some updating, friendly staff and good cleaning.

A lesson for us check the reviews before making a booking!

Room Tip: Dont waste your money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Effie811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
181 reviews
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
9.2 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
78 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
8.1 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Property: The Lansdowne Hotel
Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, Expedia, Odigeo, LateRooms, Ebookers, Priceline, Hotels.com and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing