We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lansdowne Strand
Nearby Hotels
US$114
US$109
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Duke Hotel(Hilmarton)
US$92
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bear Hotel(Chippenham)
US$70
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$205
US$155
Official Site
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Red Lion(Lacock)
US$128
US$123
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelodge Devizes Hotel(Devizes)(Great Value!)
US$56
Travelodge
View Deal
  • Free Parking
US$91
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Bell House Hotel(Sutton Benger)
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (325)
Filter reviews
325 results
Traveller rating
71
83
57
46
68
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
71
83
57
46
68
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsrecent refurbishmentcoaching innfantastic mealold buildinglovely atmospherelarge roomfish and chipsstayed one nightlansdownearkellscharacterfireswiltshire
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
279 - 284 of 325 reviews
Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed just one night as a stop over, but wish we'd stayed longer.
We arrived to friendly reception and checked into our newly refurbished room. The room was gorgeous and finished to a high standard. Huge comfy double bed, a seating area, large wardrobe, the bathroom had all the mod cons and everything was spotless. All for £45 a night!
Not all areas of the hotel were up to this standard - the corridors to the room were tired and in need of updating and part of the bar was very old fashioned- however it is clear they are trying and will get there eventually.
The restaurant menu had plenty of choice and was enjoyable, as was breakfast.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Carpark is small, but free!
Would recommend - just ask for a refurbished room when booking and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunny2010EnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 October 2012

Spent last night at the Landsdowne with a wedding party,. arrived after midnight. Was offered a choice of rooms, all different, very clean with good facilites.Enjoyed an excellent buffet style breakfast.Staff were pleasant and very helpful.Would stay there again and would recommend to friends. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms older but with character, others more modern if that is prefered.
  • Stayed: October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jeevesgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here over a weekend as I was on a business trip in near by Lacock. Yes the building is shabby looking, yes the rooms are tired and in need of decoration, BUT for two nights stay I paid £85 which included a full English breakfast (which was excellent I might add), so extremley good value for money. Be aware the hotel says it has a free car park, but this is tiny and a nightmare to get in and out of. Luckily I found another spot to park in round the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back as the rooms off the main road can be noisy.
  • Stayed: September 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Maverick300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2012

OH MY GOD! Call Alex Polizzi or close the place! I have just returned from a stay at this hotel. It is, without doubt, the dirtiest, shabbiest and least friendly hotel that I have ever visited.On arrival I requested a light lunch, to be told that the restaurant was closed to resident guests and only open to 'function' guests. MY room was on the top floor overlooking the courtyard. It was very, very noisy till late owing to drinking revellers in the courtyard below. The constant ringing of clock bells ensured broken sleep all night. In the morning there was NO, repeat, NO cold running water in the awful bathroom. Think about that! My complaint was merely shrugged off and request for a tariff reduction was ignored. Breakfast was acceptable.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at Lansdowne Strand, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2012

Dear Sir, I am sorry that you did not like your stay here at the lansdowne, i was on duty that day and the chef said that all residents would be intiltled to any food, and you was given a menu to choose from. If there was a problem with your room and we was told that day we would of moved you straight away, i am sorry that you felt you did not like it here, as all the other guests said how much they liked it. We are currently doinf refurbishments on all the rooms. If you would consider staying again we would like to put you into one of the new rooms.
Again i am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 August 2012

should really have read the reviews on here first. when we got to our room the first thing we saw on the floor was a used sanitary towel. teh manager removed it and offered new room but to be honest we didnt want to chance it. when we asked for our complimentary wine I think the manager treated it as an apology! the bathroom had hairs on the floor and when we tried the bottled water supplied one was half empty(obviously used). there was no matress protector. iIagree with previous coments about the hall wallpaper, still not done? during our one night stay we saw the manager several times and she did not acknowledge us, or ask how our stay was. At breakfast there was no staff in the dining room, we guessed we were in the right place as we saw the buffet, which incidently had 'scrambled egg' which had seen better days, better skin than a rice pudding!! we were obviously the last guests to eat as when asked if we had finished eating the staff and child started helping themselves to breakfast.
we are very surprised at the AA 3stars.
All in all our weekend away was not what we had expected, advertised as having a 4 poster bed, obviously went during the refurb? spa bath was good though.
The A4 main road outside is very noisy, not helped by the double glazing falling out when I tried to open it.
When we left I asked to pay for the 2 drinks we had the evening before, we were told 'on the house' WOW
This hotel is obviously trying to be something it was about 20 years ago.Premier Inn next time!!!

Room Tip: Dont bother
  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews