We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Two Words...” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Lansdowne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Ellesmere Port, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Two Words...”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 November 2012

"Loved it!"
Ok...let's get real, the place was established almost 450 years ago so it's pretty old but it was great, it has character. I'm not going to moan about the little bit of wallpaper that is peeling in the corner of a room or the creaky floors...the place is old!! I loved the place and would certainly stay again. I loved all the old photographs, I loved the history. The bed may have been a tad lumpy, TV channels are limited but I chose this place because of price and was not disappointed. If I had wanted everything to be perfect and lifeless then I would have gone "Premier" or "Lodge" or whoever!
If you're not a serial complainer or litigation freak then this is the place to stay, just enjoy its character.

Stayed March 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
Thank Puredodee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank You for your lovely comments about the hotel, it is nice that people see the good things about it, it would be nice for you to come down again as some of the rooms have now been re=furbished and there is on going work happening although retaining the character of the building. Once again thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    35
    59
    43
    34
    60
See reviews for
52
67
17
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (67)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Telford, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 October 2012

This was my 2nd stay here, the first was a bit of a disaster, with unclean rooms, poor decor etc, HOWEVER, having made contact to give feedback to management there has been a great improvement, my wife and I stayed last weekend, 27/ 28 October to celebrate my birthday and tour local area. The room 212 was brilliant, clean, tidy, warm and comfortable. The breakfast was so good too, and the staff and June ( manager ) and her husband made our stay even more special with their friendliness and hospitality. Will be visiting again very soon. Thanks to June, Craig and all at the Lansdowne / Arkells.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the REFURBISHED ROOMS as these have being newly decorated and refitted.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DavidParsons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 17 November 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are really glad you enjoyed your stay with us it was very nice to meet you both, we hope you will come back again and stay at the hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
England UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 October 2012

We stayed just one night as a stop over, but wish we'd stayed longer.
We arrived to friendly reception and checked into our newly refurbished room. The room was gorgeous and finished to a high standard. Huge comfy double bed, a seating area, large wardrobe, the bathroom had all the mod cons and everything was spotless. All for £45 a night!
Not all areas of the hotel were up to this standard - the corridors to the room were tired and in need of updating and part of the bar was very old fashioned- however it is clear they are trying and will get there eventually.
The restaurant menu had plenty of choice and was enjoyable, as was breakfast.
Staff were friendly and helpful. Carpark is small, but free!
Would recommend - just ask for a refurbished room when booking and you won't be disappointed.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunny2010EnglandUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 October 2012

Spent last night at the Landsdowne with a wedding party,. arrived after midnight. Was offered a choice of rooms, all different, very clean with good facilites.Enjoyed an excellent buffet style breakfast.Staff were pleasant and very helpful.Would stay there again and would recommend to friends. Excellent value for money.

Room Tip: Some rooms older but with character, others more modern if that is prefered.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeevesgil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Sussex
Level Contributor
63 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2012

Stayed here over a weekend as I was on a business trip in near by Lacock. Yes the building is shabby looking, yes the rooms are tired and in need of decoration, BUT for two nights stay I paid £85 which included a full English breakfast (which was excellent I might add), so extremley good value for money. Be aware the hotel says it has a free car park, but this is tiny and a nightmare to get in and out of. Luckily I found another spot to park in round the back of the hotel.

Room Tip: Try and get a room at the back as the rooms off the main road can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maverick300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leamington Spa, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 August 2012

OH MY GOD! Call Alex Polizzi or close the place! I have just returned from a stay at this hotel. It is, without doubt, the dirtiest, shabbiest and least friendly hotel that I have ever visited.On arrival I requested a light lunch, to be told that the restaurant was closed to resident guests and only open to 'function' guests. MY room was on the top floor overlooking the courtyard. It was very, very noisy till late owing to drinking revellers in the courtyard below. The constant ringing of clock bells ensured broken sleep all night. In the morning there was NO, repeat, NO cold running water in the awful bathroom. Think about that! My complaint was merely shrugged off and request for a tariff reduction was ignored. Breakfast was acceptable.

Room Tip: Don't go there!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 30 August 2012
Dear Sir, I am sorry that you did not like your stay here at the lansdowne, i was on duty that day and the chef said that all residents would be intiltled to any food, and you was given a menu to choose from. If there was a problem with your room and we was told that day we would of moved you straight away, i am sorry that you felt you did not like it here, as all the other guests said how much they liked it. We are currently doinf refurbishments on all the rooms. If you would consider staying again we would like to put you into one of the new rooms.
Again i am sorry that you did not enjoy your stay here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calne hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 August 2012

should really have read the reviews on here first. when we got to our room the first thing we saw on the floor was a used sanitary towel. teh manager removed it and offered new room but to be honest we didnt want to chance it. when we asked for our complimentary wine I think the manager treated it as an apology! the bathroom had hairs on the floor and when we tried the bottled water supplied one was half empty(obviously used). there was no matress protector. iIagree with previous coments about the hall wallpaper, still not done? during our one night stay we saw the manager several times and she did not acknowledge us, or ask how our stay was. At breakfast there was no staff in the dining room, we guessed we were in the right place as we saw the buffet, which incidently had 'scrambled egg' which had seen better days, better skin than a rice pudding!! we were obviously the last guests to eat as when asked if we had finished eating the staff and child started helping themselves to breakfast.
we are very surprised at the AA 3stars.
All in all our weekend away was not what we had expected, advertised as having a 4 poster bed, obviously went during the refurb? spa bath was good though.
The A4 main road outside is very noisy, not helped by the double glazing falling out when I tried to open it.
When we left I asked to pay for the 2 drinks we had the evening before, we were told 'on the house' WOW
This hotel is obviously trying to be something it was about 20 years ago.Premier Inn next time!!!

Room Tip: Dont bother
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Peter T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
9.2 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
4.9 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Angel Hotel
6.0 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Property: The Lansdowne Hotel
Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), SpeedyBooker.com and Priceline so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing