We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“gruel glorious gruel, ! and no oliver wouldnt want any more !!!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
The Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“gruel glorious gruel, ! and no oliver wouldnt want any more !!!!!!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2013

food very poor, not of a good standard at all, service just as bad, whats going on in such a lovely looking hotel. more like hammer house of horrors ! would i go back ? only at haloween !!! went to meet a freind for lunch, and the overall experience was poor, lunch its self was disapointing, presentation dull, and food looked as if it had been tossed on the plate. service un intresting very basic communication skills. the place lacked personality and warmth, needs someone to give it a shake up on service and standards, although to its credit toilets very clean i must say.,

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank wessels s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 3 April 2013
Your review was on the 31st March, which was a Sunday and we do a carvery which customers help themselves to, we are shocked about a complaint as on that day everyone said they loved the food and really enjoyed the fact that children ate free and was given a Easter egg. This would be the first complaint that we have had about the carvery everyone on Sunday that had booked complimented the food, if you had of spoke to one of the four waiting staff on Sunday or the manager who was on reception she would of investigated any problems. Again I am really surprised as our waiting staff are normally complimented on their service.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

248 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    43
    65
    45
    35
    60
See reviews for
57
74
18
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 March 2013

The hotel staff very extremely helpful however, the hotel is in need of urgent attention. Out of a large booking, the following occurred, one room hadn't been made up from a previous guest and one friend was greeted with an unmade bed. Another had wall paper hanging down. My room had a thick layer of dust on the wardrobe and a previous guests sock also covered in dust, a leaking bathroom ceiling and a blocked extractor fan (with dust).

Breakfast was very good thought and staff in the restaurant were also very pleasant.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMBC81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 13 March 2013
Thank your for your comments. The housekeeping staff have been spoken to about the room not made up we apolofised abou this and moved the gentleman immediatley we knew about this. We kept the prices low for you as we know some rooms are in need of refurbishment which is in process, we had a leak aove the room the lady was staying in, we couldn't do anything about and were full with your group, but as some of them did not show up on the night we moved the lady within half an hour. I was not told about a room with an unmade bed in it. It is a real shame about the problems as we had tried to make it enjoyable even getting the staff to start an early breakfast for you I hope that maybe when all rooms are refurbished you may visit, some of the group were lucky enough to get these again thank you for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2013

Going to be quick with this. Stayed here in Feb. We arrived and they couldn't find our booking, then went up to the room which to be fair was warm and as it was cold outside I couldn't complain. The rooms wall paper was falling off and there was damp damage on the ceiling. The TV had a bizarre mix of freeview channels , I managed to rescan the tv channels but the same handful of channels appeared.

Bathroom was small and had an 'electric toilet'. Shower didn't work but bath was hot. Taps kept leaking.

On way out to get something to eat, the customers in bar looked at us as if we were a bad smell.

Apart from the above the staff were very friendly the breakfast was great and the room was clean and warm.

Overall cheap but not cheerful but you get what pay for.

To turn this round the hotel will need to refurbish the rooms and shrink the menu in the restaurant as the place has bags of potential.

Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank Danny P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 27 February 2013
Thank you for the comments about the hotel, we do take into consideration what people have to say we are at the moment in the process of refurbishing the rooms.
We dont quite understand how there is to much on the menu as the majority of our guests ask if there is a chance of us extending the menu.
but again thank you and we'll be looking to change the menu in the next month.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calne hotels

Rainham
Level Contributor
105 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 February 2013

Firstly, let's get this into perspective.
I have read many reviews of this hotel, some not very complementary, but it should be stated at the start, a night in this hotel ONLY cost my company £40. per person.
There is a car park, bit tight, but we got in with no problem and the courtyard leading to the hotel reception was really very picturesque and I can imagine by April / May time this will be an excellent place to sit and spend a few hours relaxing after a busy day at work.
On arriving, my work colleague and I were checked in very efficiently, by a very pleasant young lady who also was running the bar.
She explained we did not have one of he refurbished rooms, as they had all gone, but again remember £40 / night.
True, the rooms are tired, (I was in 214) some wall paper was peeling off the walls and the paintwork had seen better days, BUT it was clean, beds very comfortable, sheets very clean, plenty of hot water, and shower worked well. The room was on two levels and very large.
After a freshen up, down to the bar, same young lady serving, very friendly and efficient, into restaurant for an excellent meal, at a good price, with a different, but again very pleasant young lady waiting on tables. Menu quite varied and a very good "specials board".
The restaurant also is full of "olde world charm", like the rest of the hotel.
After diner, back to bar for a pleasant couple of pints with friendly atmosphere.
Good nights sleep, but was awoken by annoying pigeons that seem to have nested in the chimney and their cooing echoing down I think.
Breakfast again excellent, young guy waiting very helpful and got all that we asked for, buffet style with plenty eggs (cooked as requried), bacon, sausage, beans mushrooms, tomatoes, toaast etc. etc.
True, not the best hotel I have ever stayed in, but for the food, friendliness and of course cost, as good as some of the best. I will certainly stay again.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rob W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 February 2013

Downstairs of hotel a little tired. However bedrooms clean and tidy and staff very friendly. This is a budget hotel with basic but clean facilities. Breakfast was good too.

Downside was we had a room over the function room and the floor was bouncing with the music until midnight. There after no noise at all so if you visit Saturday night enjoy the music before retiring!

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liphook, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 January 2013

I am not usually one to write reviews, thought i'd start sharing some of the good and bad experiences on services.
GOOD POINTS: Friendly bloke on check in, building has character, mirrors, location.
On arrival the exterior looks lovely. When you get in it is striking how old it is (not a problem) and there seems to be plenty of character. Walking to your room you notice it hasn't been hovered for a while, wallpaper needs re-doing but you run with it because you convince yourself it adds character. Unfortunately thats where your understanding / sympathy stops.
BATHROOM: It has a poor excuse for a bathroom in what is definately a botch job. The walls to the shower are very flexible and I would be shocked if the grout wasn't cracked as a result and leaking all over the place. It was impossible to control the temp of the shower, after 15 mins of scolding water and iced water I gave up. The light which is held to the ceiling by 3 screws is dangling down held in just by one remaining screw.... (thought it might fall on my head). Bath didn't look appealing enough to use.
BED: The bed had a mattress protector on it (not a problem) but it felt like you where sleeping on a bag of crisps or foil. Noisy & uncomfortable and the bottom sheet didnt appear big enough to fit the bed.....?
BREAKFAST: Was a bit below expectations & bit below average. I think if they spent a little more on the produce costs rather than an 8p own brand sausage it would have made all the difference.

It is an old building, however to keep up with the modern standards this place needs a shed load spending on it....... buy professional builders who do a good job. Attention to minor details would have made my stay more enjoyable and I would return if so.

Would I pay £80 for a double room in the current state, I'd rather chew my own arm off.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Moxey7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this review, 9 January 2013
Dear Guest, i am sorry you felt that the hotel wasn't up to your standard, we are at the moment in the process of refurbishment, I can assure you we do not charge £80.00 for a double room although the refurbished ones are more expensive then the other rooms, but if you read other reviews you will note that they are of a high standard and wonderfully done. The hallways are in the process of being done and are hoovered on a regular basis. We tend to get our meats from a good butcher and do not usually have any problems we usually have very good comments about breakfast as it is well liked and plentiful off the servery., It is a shame as you do not usually write reviews that you could not have spoken to us before leaving the hotel and we could have showed you some of the work to improve our hotel. I can only apologise you had a problem with it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2012

Hi I recently stayed in this hotel in one of the refurbished rooms, at present they only have four done but they are working on the rest and they intend to refurbish the whole hotel. The room I had was beautiful I would say four star and I have been to many hotels. The hotel has a nice laid back feeling more like being at home than a hotel. A real log fire to sit at when having a drink or snack. They have also refurbished the dining room which is lovely only one gripe here they need to put more cups out and also hot water for the earl grey tea. I had something to eat in the evening from the main menu and it was superb and the creme brulee was to die for.
The furniture in the room was spot on although it would have been nice to have some place mats on the bedside tables for cups. One comment for the hotel please dont let the window cleaner into your lovely refurbished rooms with his muddy shoes and dont let him stand on your lovely painted window seats or they wont last long.

Room Tip: ask for refurbished room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank francesmarkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#2 of 4 in Calne
3.5 of 5 bubbles 168 reviews
9.2 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Premier Inn Chippenham Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 283 reviews
5.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Property: The Lansdowne Hotel
Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing