We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“3 star joke”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Lansdowne Hotel
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Calne
Reviewed 3 July 2014 via mobile

First impressions count on walking into the reception I could tell the place was shabby. The receptionist was nice enough told me all I needed to know.
My room was in the courtyard outside next to the smoking area. On entry to the room was greeted by a very dirty carpet with huge stains every where, the furniture was old and stained. The bathroom was no better was something from a horror movie see photos!, the bed was not very comfortable took awhile to get to sleep then woken up at 6am by creaking floorboards above,hearing them having a shower and then slammed doors. The shower was pitfall. Breakfast was poor not much on offer no youguts, fruit or decent cereal. Wifi was rubbish.
Did not fancy having an evening meal here as read the reviews and walking past the kitchen with the back doors open with no fly net and it was a hot day
Would avoid at all costs unless has had a major refurbishment!

Stayed: July 2014, travelled on business
6  Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2014

You did not complain to the hotel and actually went to reception and said could you leave your key as you were going for a walk no complaint was made to the assistant manager we could have on the second day moved you into the main hotel. As for reading reviews on the restaurant they are one opinion so maybe you will be missing good food. Then to write this review after walking out of the hotel as I said without one complaint to anyone you didn't even pay for your room so we disagree with you being able to comment. If people have the decency to come to us first we will make every effort to move rooms. Please check the review two down from you people staying in same room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (291)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

212 - 218 of 291 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2014

Met with swarm of flies in front lobby, accepting it was a hot day in June, they were still there next morning when we came down for breakfast. After which we decided to book out, having stayed one night, originally booked four.
No quality freshly prepared breakfast available, you would expect from a 3 star hotel. The breakfast staff (only 1 person) looked like he'd just come off a building site. No utensils to serve the cereal. No sugar on the table, told to get it out of a cupboard, as it couldn't be left out as it would be stolen. Then only sugar lumps, so had to crush one for cereal.
The poached egg on toast had no yolk.
Told that we were late coming to breakfast that's why nothing was ready. Breakfast was at 7-9 am we arrived at 8am!
Room (214) had mould on the windows and the bathroom was not very nice either (have photos)
Their dining room was no better, tired decor, with cracked and flaking ceiling from apparent water damage
No customer service was displayed at all, upon complaint and subsequent booking out early. No apology or attempt to remedy complaints, no manager apparent or available. Staff only stated that AA had recently inspected hotel and awarded 3 stars.
I feel that calling this hotel a three star is misleading, it's genuinely is the worst place I have ever stayed at! I still haven’t received refund from booking, hotel said it was the responsibility of the booking agent – booking agent say the hotel need to action it.
Have contacted the AA about its recent inspection, suggesting a full review and audit of ALL ROOMs.
The staff said there were about 6 refurbished rooms, and no immediate plans to do the remainder, as the Hotel is run by a brewery. I note the comments of the general manager on this site back in January and March 2014 about the progress of refurbishment.

Room Tip: The town council offices are opposite hotel, and they have a list of local hotels and B&B's...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Dazinski
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 June 2014

The gentleman doing breakfast was in a black shirts and trousers, and said to you he is just replenishing every thing as we had a full hotel and you are the last to be down, you spoke to the assistant manager and if had a chance would of tried to move you rooms but all you did was demand a refund, The hotel will carry on refurbishing when the brewery decides to do this, you stayed in room (241) which is in the attic where is it quite, as we mentioned we had not long had an AA inspection and all was fine, You never asked to speak to the manager whilst saying you complaint, You were very rude saying to customers in breakfast not to stay here, I believe if you had a problem you should not be telling others not to stay here, We have always had a problem in hot weather with flies and we spray fly killer in the morning when the first person comes in and also last thing at night, You ate all your breakfast and also stayed in the room over night, if you had come down regarding your room when checked in we would of tried to move you, we do have refurbished rooms and on booking sites can be booked as the executives.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2014

I stayed at the Lansdowne this weekend gone. My son was taking part in the Calne Town Cryer competition over the road by the river (the hotel couldn't be better placed!) My parents were also staying. We spent the day in a nearby National Trust village called Lacock (home of photography) beautiful place to mooch about, we looked around the abbey and walked our socks off so we were really pleased the hotel was nearby.

The building is very old and full of character and personality. The bedrooms were bright and clean. There was a lovely lounge area around the bar and a cool courtyard with tables chairs and lovely hanging baskets by the car park (in fact this was the only downside the car park was very small) and on a warm evening it was lovely sitting here cooling off. I stayed in the superior room, very spacious, beautifully presented and I really enjoyed the Jacuzzi in my rather grand hotel bathroom. Being at the front of the hotel I expected to hear lots of noise from the road but actually I heard very little. I imagine the function room downstairs when in full swing could cause some noise disturbance though. The wine, beer and food were very reasonably priced. We had a three course meal and wine beautifully presented and tasted lovely, very pleased with the bill under £65 for the three of us. We went back in after checking out on the Sunday for carvery lunch - wonderful. The staff were all friendly and helpful. My parents and I will be booking again very soon as this was a lovely place to stay and we would like to explore the area some more.

Room Tip: Its definitely worth paying that little extra for that added bit of luxury
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lucy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for leaving a review, it is nice to see some good ones, we notice that even though people say how they enjoyed there stay they hardly ever put on here. Again thank you for the wonderful comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

An inauspicious start to our 2-night stay -- hotel entrance from the car park was shabby, as were most of the public areas. The reception was unimpressive, and a smell of stale beer didn't help. Staff were friendly enough, but there were aspects of their service which needed better training. Our room, 213, was clean with a pleasant ensuite. It was warm during our stay, and the room was unbearably stuffy at night, with no inbuilt air conditioning. On day 1, our pre-booked full English breakfasts arrived cold and congealed, and there was no table and only one chair in the room. Having changed the breakfast order to toast and cereals for day 2, this arrived an hour early! Many other small but annoying details, e.g. advertised free wifi was not available. Lovely old building needing lots more TLC - owners and management need to go the extra mile for paying guests.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jacqueline O O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, General Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2014

We are trying to get our courtyard area into a big seating area and remove it as a car park.
your breakfast on the first day was cooked and taken up stairs straight away so I am not sure how it was cold.
the second day the lady brought it up early and apologised more than several times.
As agreed by emails you were meant to have breakfast at 9am but you changed this on check in.
The hotel dose not normally do a room service breakfast as it is such a busy time, but wer made an exception.
I apologies you did not enjoy your stay

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2014

As the title says really, room 211 is a single room which appears not to have been decorated since the 70's with wall paper falling off the walls. The carpet was dirty and had not been vacuumed for a while. The bar had no atmosphere and was playing music too loud. Breakfast was interesting, the glasses for fruit juice had run out and one of the guests took a glass from a shelf above the juices only to be told by staff that these had been there over a year and were for decoration only but that didn't stop the staff member from letting other guests do the same. The full English was just ok.

Room Tip: Avoid room 211
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marquisofraspberry
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2014

Thank you for leaving a review, the hotel is being refurbished at the moment and only have a few bedrooms left including 211. Although we have backtracked our records but can see you was in room 241, we again have not re decorated the attic rooms as of yet.If you had come and seen some one to make a complaint we would of moved you into a different room. I do apologies that you did not enjoy your stay. If you would like to stay again please ask for a newly decorated or refurbished room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Not enough staff but they did try so hard,overall a good experience
A good location within the old town of Calne
This précis says it all,why does this website want 200 characters when 100 should be enough?

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TedJ140
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 July 2014

Thank you for leaving a review, it is difficult to see how many staff is needed on a day to day - we have now got three on at a time and we will also call someone in if extra is needed! we hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 January 2014

Too many niggles to justify anything other than a poor rating. Incorrect booking details; light bulbs not working; my window unable to close; no temperature control on the shower meant it was freezing; a sealed biscuit packet already open; dirty carpets; shaving strip light inoperative. My room was warm, however, and the bed comfortable. The quality of the food in the restaurant was good, too. The room cost £45 for B&B - I'm glad I wasn't paying. The whole place needs to consider an image makeover.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Geoff425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lansdownehotelcalne, Manager at The Lansdowne Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 January 2014

Thank you for leaving a review. Regards to the booking i do apologies as we have changed over the way booking.com sends through the details and we had not received your booking.
If you had came and spoke to myself or a member of staff we would of been willing to move you. There are rooms that have been re decorated and refurbished but this dose take time and we are hoping for them to be completed this year. when the hotel is fully booked we have to stop all work.
Again i apologies that your stay was not to your satisfaction and i hope that you would come again and stay in a newer room.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
5.5 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
2.3 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa and Golf Resort
9.2 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#2 of 3 in Calne
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
5.9 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
264 reviews
11.8 mi away
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
Best Western Leigh Park Hotel
#3 of 7 in Bradford-on-Avon
543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lansdowne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lansdowne Hotel

Address: The Strand, Calne SN11 0EH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 3 Hotels in Calne
Price Range: £42 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Lansdowne Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Odigeo, Booking.com, Book Direct Rooms, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Lansdowne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Calne
Calne Best Western
The Lansdowne Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing