We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Avoid”
Reviewed 3 May 2013 via mobile

Place is very run down had to ring several times once we arrived to get some one to come and let us in the place he was a builder who was working on the place. No staff in the place at all rooms cramped shower broken and leaking bet sheets too small for the beds, toilet wouldn't! flush loose taps on basin, tv not connected to an aerial. So we rang the phone number again and said we wasn't happy with the place and the service and wanted a refund " will be there in 15 mins to sort your problem" 45 mins later so called manager turns up told him our issues he said he knew about some and had told the owner but he couldn't give refund as groupon pay them after we stay so will be chasing them now

Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Adam T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    67
    50
    17
    13
    28
See reviews for
28
83
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Stratford-upon-avon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 April 2013

This was a slightly strange experience, we were booked in Sunday and Monday nights, and on Sunday afternoon the owner rang me to check what time we were due to arrive and explained the restuarant wouldn't be open which we were slightly disappointed at, but fair enough many pub restaurants aren't open on a Sunday night, however what we didn't realise was that the whole pub was going to be shut so the owner could have an evening off. He was very apologetic and gave us keys to get back in and out, and whilst we initally feared we were going to be on our own with 2 other guests, at least the the owner lived on the premises so we ate out and bought a bottle of wine to drink later in the room. They have only recently taken over the hotel and pub and whilst I don't want to be too harsh as they are obvioulsy still getting to grips with running it, it does seem a bit odd to close completely and certainly if you are trying to build a reputation you don't close up entirely. The bedroom itself wasn't too badly decorated, however, they had stuck an extra single bed in which made the room very cramped and with no chairs we had to use the spare bed to put clothes on, there was also only a small open hanging area for clothes with no proper wardrobe, but it did have an old chest of drawersalthough it didn't really match anything else. The bathroom was the worst , it was obvioulsy a room cut in half from a previous refit but had not been done that well and was certainly in need of a refit, the shower basin was yellowed through age and the shower itself was lying in the base as it leaked. The taps on the sink moved when you turned them off and the towel radiator was half way up the wall and was red hot which made the whole bedroom uncomfortably hot,( especially during the night) and overall had been poorly decorated. The sink plughole hadn't been properly cleaned and had what looked like hairs trapped in it and the bed sheets didn't ft the mattress properly so we had the mattress protector sticking out of one side, small things that just add up to not enough care and attention being shown, and as as there were only 2 lots of guests staying I would have thought they might have put us in one of the better rooms if they exist, as this certainly didn't show off the hotel well and was nowhere near anywhere matching the pictures of their bridal suite room with spa bath shown on the web site. I think it is living off the refurb of 2003 too much and is quite obvioulsy in need of another in some places as the best I can describe the place is as being shabby. The bar area looked spartan with big open spaces and mismatched furniture and the dining area needed to be spruced up. The breakfasts we had weren't too bad, but could do better quality sausages. I hope they can make the improvements as it could be a really nice place and obviously has been in the past.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank johnnywilk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calne hotels

5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2013

it is what it is, cheap and cheerfull, couldnt have asked for more, fair price for clean and well launderd room, decent breakfast, good evening food with pleasent staff will recomend and shall return when working in area. over all very good, worth the drive past lansdowne strand hotel, car park here more accesible and rates a lot cheaper with far better standards. well done

Room Tip: all rooms value for money when you work away from home, showers and baths
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wessels s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sandhurst
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 April 2013

We stayed 2 nights and got a good deal. First impressions is good, the building has lots of character and its very pretty but does need a little more TLC in some areas but not in a bad way. We had room 1 which is the bridal suite, very good indeed and all very clean and tidy, the only issue you get is that its next to the main door to the building and the stairs are creaky but that is the only down side.
We had dinner there which mine was good, fish and chips, my girlfriend had the lasagne which didn’t have enough sauce or and too much pasta (not every good). They didn’t have pie on the menu also half the puddings were not on the menu but the sticky toffee pudding was fantastic.
A down side: We were told that breakfast on the Saturday morning was between 8 and 9am which we were not too impressed so we missed out on that. Sunday breakfast was fine just not hot enough.
Over all the hotel was nice and our stay was good with nice staff.

Room Tip: room 1 pay a little extra and get much more
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SpanishToro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 7 March 2013

I thought the stay was very enjoyable the food is amazing, I highly recommend the lasagne and the chicken and mushroom pie !!! Truely beautiful food. The rooms are very satisfactory to everybody's need you have tea a coffee facilities really comfy beds flat screen TVs! The staff are wicked and will do anything for anyone and are there for your assistance:). Very recommended for any age !

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Perrin24183
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 January 2013

Arrived New Years Eve late afternoon to find hotel closed, with other guests waiting in car park to get in. Finally shown to our room which was a disappointment. Carpet stained, washbasin cracked, window frames dirty and no chair in the room. Enquired about the availability of food, but was told none available and directed to local chinese takeaway. Evening entertainment excellent, but function room freezing with many guests keeping their coats on all night.
Although paid for bed and breakfast, no breakfast was available in the morning with no explanation given.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joyce684
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PennyGeetravel, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 8 February 2013
We are very sorry to hear that you had problems when you stayed with us. I am the owner of the White Hart and was there on New Year's Eve. We explained to everyone who booked direct and called everyone who booked via the net to ok the fact that there was no breakfast. As compensation for that we offered not only a free ticket to the band (I'm glad you enjoyed them) but a free buffet too. Also, we offered ordinary room rates (not the normal increase for NYE).
As for the cold function room, our two security staff continually closed the fire exit doors, but those who were dancing were hot and the smokers are relentless in their continual forays to our smoking area. The rest of the guests, many locals and regulars, loved the band and the food and have asked to book next year. We can't however please everyone all the time. With 4 bar staff, two security staff, our marketing manager and myself around and conspicuous, if you'd raised any problems, we'd have tried our best to resolve them, that is our ingrained policy. Before now, someone needing a change of room gets it and if we are full, I personally drive guests to an overflow hotel we have. As a general rule, if you are ever unhappy in a hotel just talk to the staff and they'll be bound to sort it. That's why we all do what we do. Hearing a week later means we can't help you and that's a real frustration for a business like ours that is inundated with thank you cards and great reviews. I wishI'd had the chance to help on the night. I hope NYE 2013is better for you. Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 December 2012

As we live in the gorgeous town that is Calne and had heard that new owners had taken over the place we thought we'd try it out for sunday lunch. So after a nice walk along the river we popped in to see what was on offer.

We were greeted by a lovely lady and offered a roast or food off the menu. The dining room has been decorated and nice pictures have been put up, as well as the fireplaces, which were blazing away, candles on tables ... it was actually really lovely.

The food was delicious i had Hunters chicken (chicken, bacon, chees) which is always my comparison meal ,as a i love it .... it was really good with homemade chips and mushrooms. The others had roasts which were generous in size and cooked really well .. the staff were attentive .. it was just really nice.

It was quiet though ..... it' was always very average before the new owners but, needs a chance to get going again and they are certainly putting effort into making it a lovely place again.

And just to say .... i have no affiliation with the hotel .... i just think it really deserves a chance as the owners really are making a great effort to make it work !

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
3.0 of 5 bubbles 254 reviews
9.4 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
4.0 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
2.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
8.0 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
4.5 of 5 bubbles 43 reviews
11.2 mi away
De Vere Alexandra House
De Vere Alexandra House
#1 of 1 in Wroughton
4.0 of 5 bubbles 933 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 2 London Road, Calne SN11 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart dates back to 1659 and has been providing food, rest and drinks ever since. It is a free house and therefore completely independent of any brewery or corporate enterprise. There are 15 rooms of various size and all are en-suite on three floors. There are three functions rooms available so perfect for any wedding reception or other large functions. The main dining room can easily seat up to 50 in comfort. The upstairs function room has a private entrance, DJ booth with PA system and lighting effects hard-wired in with a private bar and M/F toilets. There is another private room at the rear of the bar with a separate entrance and perfect for meetings. private functions with dedicated Satellite TV which can double up as a large monitor for PowerPoint presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing