We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A perfect pick me up after a awful holiday abroad”
Review of White Hart Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
White Hart Hotel
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A perfect pick me up after a awful holiday abroad”
Reviewed 16 October 2013

My partner and I have only been living in Calne for two months and have had little time to get to know the area with work commitments and a holiday at the end of September .
We arrived back from our holiday on the 13 of October, we were desperate for a Sunday lunch but time was moving and we were pretty sure we would have missed any opportunity for lunch.

I phoned by random the White Hart and asked if they did food ,the person who I spoke to turned out to be the owner ,he explained that Sunday lunch had ended however he could do something for us , we said we would be there in ten minuets,it is walkable for us however as they had been so accommodating we drove .
We were not disappointed in any department ,the decor is tasteful and stylish, beautiful wood burning stove which we sat near , not that it was cold but just felt so good to sit in front of an open fire , an array of tasteful comfy chairs wooden floors .
The owners were very welcoming and friendly and we both felt very at ease even though we had never been into the establishment before .we were offered Sunday lunch which was wonderful beef and pork very tender and tasty Yorkshire pudding !sweet potatoes ,roast potatoes , beans it was all cooked beautifully , extra gravy, awesome . My partner had coffee and I had two very good pints of Guinness .
In conclusion wonderful place to eat and relax , and lends itself to atmospheric get togethers /parties ,or to call into after a brisk walk this winter and sit by an open fire
We will defiantly be returning that's for sure,what a great job the owners have done having only been in six weeks.
Thank you
Lynette and Chris

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank chris e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

181 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    69
    52
    18
    14
    28
See reviews for
28
87
4
17
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 October 2013

We recently chose The White Hart as the venue for a wake. When we first went there to have a look around, Becky the owner was so warm, friendly and welcoming, we felt this would be the perfect place! The dinining room was lovely and had lots of character and charm which you would want to find in a 17th Century building! The buffet food was really good and the home made cup cakes were divine! Tea, coffee, squash and music were all provided! I felt we received a really personal service! We were really pleased we chose The White Hart and we hope to be back soon! Highly recommended! Would love to stay! Thank you!

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Wanderbods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle-under-Lyme, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 September 2013

stayed here for 2 nights shortly after the very nice attentive new owners had taken over and was really impressed.
this place has old world charm and character and both the owners and staff were most friendly, pleasent and accommodating, the food was good with plentiful portions.
we would certainly like to stay here again, this is going to be a little gem of a place to stay.
only tiny little niggles were put immediately right with no problem by the owners who have done wonders to turn the white hart around after apparent previous negative issues.well done and good luck to them in the future and id certainly recommend trying the White Hart out to anyone

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank keith j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

New owners very attentive and pleasant. Nice pub area & dining room. Also a courtyard. Would stay again. Delicious fettuccine Alfredo for a "daily special" so we tried it and it was very good. Cold pints. Room was clean.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KLCLCD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 September 2013

We spend a beautiful two nights and was seriously impressed with the new owners and how they had transformed the hotel in such a short time in comparison to our previous stay last year.
A total revamp of original paintings, mirrors and artefacts have all added to the atmospheric character. We were more than impressed with their bubbling enthusiasm, sparkling conversation and energy.
Waking up to the sound of St.Mary's church bells (a 12th century medieval church) was a surreal beautiful experience. Simply wow! Wow! Wow! We loved it and didn't want to leave.
We wish the new owners every success in the future and look forward to seeing how all their amazing, brilliant ideas come to fruition. Good luck, we will be back to this charming bastion of chivalry and opulence!

Room Tip: Room 4 with the new super king size brass: its a playground!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hugh W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mijas
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 September 2013

Stayed here one night when we were bumped from the Landsdowne. Manager explained that they had only taken over two days prior and asked us to bear with some problems they were aware of. We were quite satisfied with the room. Another couple we were staying with rose before us and found themselves locked in, The breakfast was a little curious - no cereals, only full English that involved quite a wait and boring toast. But it was included in the very reasonable price. The new management were very pleasant and I wish them well in making the necessary changes.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank MijasEsteban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Calne hotels

Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 September 2013

Shown to first room which was dark, dingy with a wet carpet which smelt, was offered another room which we were told had a dripping shower, the room was ok so we said we would have it but found shower was blocked and had two inches of dirty water in it. went downstairs and told owner that we wanted it sorted. after a couple of hours we returned and it had been unblocked but not cleaned so we had to do it ourselves. Breakfast was a complete shambles - no tea offered only a coffee machine to help yourselves, no cereal or fruit just cooked breakfast. only cheap white toast, poor sausages and bacon. no sideplates for jam . very dusty sideboard in dining room. Breakfast only served between 9am and 10am so we decided to put luggage in our car before breakfast (about 8.50am) to find doors locked and couldnt get out.
We had a groupon voucher but stay was definately not worth what we had paid.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank phil_s306
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David_Leaning, Owner at White Hart Hotel, responded to this review, 19 September 2013
It is with sad regret that no matter how hard we tried to accommodate you and your wife, nothing could please you. If you were staying in a five-star hotel you still would not have been satisfied.
You arrived with an attitude and left with the same attitude having achieved nothing but upsetting my staff; you were clearly out on a mission of self-fulfilling prophecy.
This Grade II listed building was built in 1659 and plays a major significant role in the heritage and culture of the area being a cross roads between London and Bristol and the North to the South-West Coast. You expressed no interest or knowledge of anything of cultural nature which begs the question why did you come in the first place? Alas the answer lies in cheap GroupOn vouchers, one step up from free milk tokens which may be why both of carry such strong emotional baggage with you. Was it a distressed childhood you suffered?
You say you had to clean the shower. My response: I personally spent over 30 minutes scrubbing with limescale and bleach to satisfy your pettiness. Are you advocating you had access to my cleaning storeroom which is under lock and key as per my COSSH policy? I have checked the key log book and I do not see any keys signed out to anybody other than my cleaner that morning.
Dark and dingy? My response: you are referring to Room 2, a stone exposed room of great architectural interest to those who have a clue about culture and architectural heritage.
Breakfast a shambles? My response: to sit in stony silence and stare while failing to communicate your desire for a cup of tea,... well, I will invest heavily and send all my staff on a telepathic awareness course. How could they fail to read your mind? This is a serious disciplinary offence.
Cheap white bread? My response; I passed your comments onto my local baker, an agent of Hovis and he looks forward to meeting you. Ditto with the local family butchers who have been in business since 1959.
Found yourself locked in? My response; are you saying we are in breach of Fire Regulations? Believe it or not, doors have an abutment called 'handles'. Rotate, and mysteriously they open the door.
The only facet of your review I find of truth is being "locked in". Your state of mind is a sad reflection of how closed minded you and your wife expressed yourself while staying here.
Could I suggest you try somewhere else next time as you are not welcome in the area, We hoteliers and publicans share information and look after each other contrary to your closed mind perception, where you think we must be desperate for trade and compete against each other to give your breed the best deal. We only took over on 1st September and as honourable people accepted your booking at our loss.
Never again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Calne
0.2 mi away
The Lansdowne Hotel
The Lansdowne Hotel
#4 of 4 in Calne
264 reviews
9.4 mi away
Duke Hotel
Duke Hotel
#3 of 4 in Calne
78 reviews
5.3 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.1 mi away
Best Western Plus Angel Hotel
2.4 mi away
Bowood Hotel, Spa & Golf Resort
8.0 mi away
The Conigre
The Conigre
#3 of 4 in Melksham
45 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Hart Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Hart Hotel

Property: White Hart Hotel
Address: 2 London Road, Calne SN11 0AB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Calne
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Calne
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — White Hart Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Hart dates back to 1659 and has been providing food, rest and drinks ever since. It is a free house and therefore completely independent of any brewery or corporate enterprise. There are 15 rooms of various size and all are en-suite on three floors. There are three functions rooms available so perfect for any wedding reception or other large functions. The main dining room can easily seat up to 50 in comfort. The upstairs function room has a private entrance, DJ booth with PA system and lighting effects hard-wired in with a private bar and M/F toilets. There is another private room at the rear of the bar with a separate entrance and perfect for meetings. private functions with dedicated Satellite TV which can double up as a large monitor for PowerPoint presentations. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), LateRooms, Book Direct Rooms and Evoline ltd so you can book your White Hart Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Hart Hotel Calne, Wiltshire, UK

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing