We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Decadant Luxury!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 18 November 2013

This trip was a surprise for my partners 30th Birthday. From the very start of booking the stay, the reservations co-ordinator was exceedingly knowledgeable and helpful, answering all of my questions quickly and helping me to choose an amazing suite. I ended up booking the Longlands Suite Lovely Bubbly package with Breakfast and Dinner I upgraded from the Al a Carte menu to the Prestige 7 Course Tasting Menu.

Arriving at the Hotel is like being transported to a magical, hidden world, just the drive up to the hotel is amazing. Upon arrival we were greeted by the Valet and shown to the reception desk, walking past a roaring open fire being greeted by staff as we past them. The suite I had booked is in the Mews cottages off of the main hotel building the valet walked ahead to show us the way as we drove the car up. He helped us with our luggage and showed us to our room, explaining various things along the way about the cottages and the grounds. We were shown up to our suite where the valet explained how to work the various things in the room including the Infinity Spa Bath.

What was also very nice was the fact my partner had found a cake box in the room with a note on saying that a little bird had told them that it was her birthday and wished her a happy birthday! A lovely touch that I did not even ask for!

After we had unpacked and settled in we did find that the main radiator in our room was not working so we went for a walk in the grounds and meandered up to the main house to relax by the log fire and report the issue and also ask for some more ice for our champagne, it was the same valet who had shown us to our room, he mentioned that we could have the champagne put behind the bar so we could enjoy it as our pre-dinner drink with some appetisers. The valet popped off to check the issue whilst we relaxed, enjoying the lovely open fire, within minutes he returned with the champagne and informed us that the radiator needed to be bled and that would be done for us. We enjoyed the fire and returned to our suite to enjoy the Spa Bath before dinner.

When we arrived for dinner we were shown to the bar where we were presented with our champagne and appetisers, which were amazing. We were asked which menu we would like and were shown the wine list. We stuck with the original choice of the prestige menu and as the first 4 courses of the meal were paired with white wine we would stick with our champagne. When we had finished the appetisers and were informed that our table was ready at which point the champagne was taken ahead of us to be set up but the table and a waiter carried our glasses to the table for us.

The Bybrook restaurant is lovely, spacious and discreetly decorated with a jazz pianist playing perfect music which was never intrusive or annoying. We were shown to our seats by our waiter for the evening, who introduced himself (Marco), seated us and explained his role in our meal for the evening. Marco was lovely, genuinely friendly and very helpful he explained the forthcoming menu to us and made sure that we knew if we had any questions about anything including the recipes or how something was cooked he would tell us all. The Sommelier looked after our drinks, our champagne glasses never got empty and nor did our water glasses, he was not intrusive but always appeared as if from nowhere to top us up when our glasses were low like some kind of drinks ninja!

As each course was brought out by a waitress, Marco placed the food in front of us and explained what we had and why the various ingredients had been put together. The amuse bouche was divine and awakened our palates for the many courses to come! The timing between the courses was perfect, we never felt like we had to wait for the next course but also never felt like we were being rushed, having the next course pushed on us when we were not ready. When we had finished the champagne the sommelier was very helpful and knowledgeable in helping us choose another bottle, as we were now moving onto the Belly of Pork and then the dessert courses I chose a Beaujolais which went perfectly with the pork, I also enjoyed having a chat about the various wines I’ve had in the past with the sommelier who had similar tastes. Our final desert had “Happy 30th Birthday” piped round the bowl in chocolate which was another lovely surprise and completely un solicited! As we finished the rest of the courses and also the wine we had not even noticed that we had been eating for 3 hours! The time seemed to fly by. Truly the best meal we have ever had! After we had say good evening and thanked the staff we had a short (If a little bit wobbly) walk back to our suite, enjoying the wonderfully lit grounds and the crisp evening air.

We had a very comfortable night’s sleep in our four poster bed and were looking forward to breakfast!

Breakfast was also amazing. We were shown to our table where we were asked which drinks we would like before the waitress took our hot food orders and were told to help ourselves to the continental breakfast whilst our food was prepared. The food seemed to be infinite in choice, we tried to have a bit of everything. The full English breakfast was superb! Presented in the same stylish way as our amazing dinner and was divine! The staff again were lovely, helpful and faultless! And we were happy to have Marco looking after our needs again!

After breakfast we checked out, thanking the staff for their amazing hospitality and service (begrudgingly as we really did not want to leave!) and went off to explore some more of the grounds before leaving.

I cannot give the Manor House a high enough rating or say enough kind things about the staff there. This place is absolutely superb and I would not hesitate to return there given the opportunity! I would recommend The Manor House to everyone. A truly amazing and unforgettable experience which will be almost impossible to beat!

Room Tip: The suites in the Mews Cottages are quite and off ofthe main building
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jon B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,119)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

709 - 715 of 1,119 reviews

Reviewed 10 November 2013 via mobile

We have just returned from visiting here this weekend.
What a beautiful peaceful location. This starts from the moment you walk through the front door to be greeted by a large log fire and that lovely smell that transports you back, in our case, years to your childhood. Staff seem to appear from nowhere to greet you and the balance is just right. Our room was one of the converted cottages which had very interesting decor a juxtaposition between the old and the new but it worked and well. The food was very good and I can thoroughly recommend the mango, lime and ginger smoothie at breakfast along with many other yummy delights.
The surrounding grounds and area beyond the hotel is well worth a wonder round, steeped in history which you can see at every turn.
I would highly recommend visiting this hotel and I hope to do that again myself soon.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
2  Thank Sal c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2013

We stayed in November 2013, weekend just gone as part of a deal through Voyage Prive. It was a lovely hotel. They left us wine and cupcakes in our room as part of our deal and we had cream tea too. Best scones we have ever had, so fresh!
Breakfast was absolutely lovely and dinner at Bybrook was very good, apart from them taking their time to fill our water glasses which shouldnt happen at Michelin star restuarants! Food was very good and the place was very busy for a Sunday night! Generally staff are very helpful and hospitable and havent got any complaints on that side.
The big huge downside was the flys.
So on the day we checked in we had a Junior Suite called Runaway which was at the top of the main house hotel. It was a lovely big studio room with shower and bath. One sink only without a mixer tap which is annoying but generally lovely. we noticed about 3-4 flys in our room but didnt think anything of it and managed to kill a couple. but the flys were reappearing.

the next day we got ready and asked for our room to be made. when we came back there were at least 8 DEAD fly's on the floor everywhere. We picked up a couple on our bedside cabinets but started seeing them everywhere. we rang reception who said a few others had complained about them too and apparently at this time of the year they come inside as its so cold outside and our room was especially warm.
he suggested if we hadnt had the heating up so much, they may not have come into the room (are we really going to turn the heating off when its cold outside?!) and we questionned this as we didnt even open the window so the flys were coming through a hole somewhere?
if this is the case, why hasnt someone been called to seal the holes??? someone visited us and picked up the flys with his hands (he had gloves on) and took them away. He seemed to think it was normal but I really dont think flys dead everywhere is normal, clearly a pest control issue??

i refused to sleep in a room that apparently had been sprayed hence the dead flys incase a dead fly dropped on me at night. they upgraded us for that night (was our last night) to a junior exclusive suite. this room was even better, the bathroom was huge (tv in the bathroom and rain shower with shower heads on the walls) plus huge bathtub and 2 his and her sinks with mixer taps. also it was on a lower floor so we only saw one dead fly in the room and didnt hear any other flys around so it was cleaner!
if you stay here, i would reccommend paying a bit more and getting a better room because the hotel is clearly not doing much about the fly problem in the junior suites and you really dont want to stay in a hotel with dead flys.
also there is not much else to do apart from walk around the grounds, play golf and walk around the village. so if you are looking for more activities, id say choose elsewhere.
for a couple, it is romantic and relaxed.

Room Tip: Choose Junior Exclusive Suites or above- not the Junior Suite Runaway as this has fly's in it du...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank MC1527
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear MCP86,

Thank you for kind comments and I am pleased that you enjoyed your stay.

The fly issue was obviously frustrating and I am so sorry that we had got a fly issue. The weather had been exceptionally warm and had caused a lot of the winter dormant flies which have come in from the countryside to wake up, this happened in a number of our bedrooms and we were able to spray and deal with it, but it did seem to be a constant problem in just a couple of our main house bedrooms.
Slightly unfair to say this was a cleaning issue as this was definitely a weather issue, not how clean the room was.

Anyway once again thank you for your positive feedback and I do hope we will get chance to see you again next year, hopefully without the flies!

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

I recently stayed for a night in this hotel....The rooms were lovely but I did not think that they were as great as suggested on the website and think that it was on the pricey side... The bill given to me at the end of the stay was just a total not broken down and I felt uncomfortable to ask for a breakdown but thought that it seemed expensive for the drinks we had. However on the positive side, the hotel is in beautiful grounds and castle combe is a gorgeous little village..... the staff were very helpful and friendly and the dinner was just amazing. Breakfast was another positive there was so much choice and again was beautifully presented and tasted fabulous.......

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacqueline_power
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 11 November 2013

Dear jacqueline_power,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

I am very disappointed that you did not appear to be that enamoured with your bedroom as you had seen on the website. Every room is different and individual, and we are constantly updating and decorating to keep our rooms as up to scratch as we possibly can. We tend to fully refurbish some two or three bedrooms per year and that has certainly been the case this year with three rooms already fully refurbished and another one due in January.

As far as your bill was concerned there are two opportunities to see a breakdown of your bill, once after dinner when signing to agree what you have eaten or drunk and then again upon departure when we can provide an itemised breakdown of all costs on your presented bill. If you would still like an itemised breakdown then please do feel free to let us know and we will send it on to you.

I am delighted that you otherwise enjoyed your stay.

Hope to see you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

My brother in law gave us a gift to stay here for a long weekend.
We had a cottage which was a fabulous experience... the room wasn't spacy but the enormous bathroom made up for it! We had a lovely walk in shower and a tub with bubbles! The tele at the end of the bath tub was a nice touch.
The grounds are stunning, extremely well maintained and you can take an easy stroll into the village. Where there are 2 lovely pubs (good food) and a couple of local shops.
We had dinner in the restaurant on the Friday night. Absolutely amazing. What Michellin star is supposed to be! Would definitely recommend the taster menu. Breakfast too was a fab treat!
Cannot wait to go back.....! :)

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank leena_lakhani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2013

This is a very atmospheric and unspoiled country hotel. Rooms are nice and cosy in a medievalish style. We had an issue with flies in our room - very high ceiling presumably meant that hotel staff couldn't reach but ten minutes of jumping fom the bed with a rolled-up newspaper sorted them out. Bit more dust than I'd have ideally liked, too. That dropped a 5-star review to a 4-star. Overall was very satisfied, the staff are very accommodating and the place is very well-kept.

Room Tip: We stayed in a row of cottages rather than the main house. These were fine but if you have a prefer...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Banker147
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 November 2013

We went to the manor house for our anniversary, this is the third time we have stayed and this was the best stay we gave had. We had a room in the main house having previously stayed in the lovely cottages, the room was fabulous, comfortable beds, fabulous bathroom and great relaxation. We ate in the restaurant which was lovely - quite pricy but beautifully cooked, presented and served. We had a great weekend and cannot find any complaint - recommended for relaxation, comfy sofas, open fires and a treat!!!

Stayed: October 2013
Thank UkEm_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
7.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
870 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
9.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
697 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
437 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range: £145 - £265 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelsClick, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing