We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Book Here with Confidence”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 February 2014

My wife and I stayed for 4 nights in February 2014 for a wedding anniversary. We were welcomed at the door and assisted with our luggage and our car was parked for us. The room which if up rather a lot of steps, was outstanding, not necessarily everyone's choice, having a very large and original 4 poster bed and other period furniture together with all mod cons.
We stayed DBB and dinner was what one would expect at a Michelin starred restaurant. Service was very attentive yet not intrusive and it was obvious that the staff had your comfort and satisfaction at heart. We would liked to have had some quiet background music as the dinning room was silent and other people were aware that conversations could be overheard. Again, some may not agree!
In an earlier review we read that someone criticized the size of the breakfast; we found it quite adequate and we are sure the staff would provide more without any difficulty but there was a fabulous array of food available to fill you up if you required it.
May not have been he best time of year to have visited but it was compensated for by roaring log fires in several of the public rooms, of which there were several. It would be great to have a drink outside on a summer evening and we might just do that!

Room Tip: We would say stay in the main building especially in poor weather.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank antonyjhollick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

660 - 666 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 10 February 2014

Just returned from a extraordinary gem hidden in the quaint village of Castle Combe in Cotswolds !!! Long walks on the 365 acres of lush green land /along the river that flows right through the property, scrumptious meals in a Michelin-star restaurant, drinks by the fireplace on a wintery night, warm and courteous staff, great cottage with a lavish bathroom. The only word that summarises our weekend experience at this beautiful place is - Outstanding !!!

Room Tip: Make sure you write to the hotel and ask for the kind of room you want. They can provide for all sor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rohit-Bhardwaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

We just recently returned from a trip to England and stayed at The Manor Hotel at the beginning of our trip for two nights, we loved the stay so much we booked for a two night stay at the end of our holiday.
The staff, the rooms. the food, everything was just perfect, I couldn't fault it in any way.
Apart from the Hotel you are staying in the most beautiful village a place that time forgot, it's just like stepping back in time. There isn't a lot to do in the village but it is a great place to unwind and take long walks, take you camera the scenery is lovely.
Please put this on your itinerary you certainly will not be disappointed.

Room Tip: The newly refurbished rooms are just lovely, if you are not happy with your room just ask and they w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank help1961
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 February 2014

Second visit to this picturesque hotel and just as good as previously. Even in terrible weather the hotel and grounds looked spectacular. Service was attentive from start to finish. Reception very friendly and efficient. Front staff very accommodating.
We had a junior suite in the main house, beautifully clean with a lovely bathroom. Last time we had a cottage whichever as equally impressive.
Breakfast was nice quality,well cooked,perhaps the only criticism was a slightly strange mix of fruit but that may well be down to personal preference.
Frequently second visits to hotels you previously loved turn out to be disappointing.....not on this occasion.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank jroberts425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2014

We returned on this occasion to celebrate my wife's birthday and from the moment we arrived we received the warm welcome that keeps bringing us back. It's not only the surroundings that make this place such a gem but the wonderful, welcoming staff!

The room we had been shown to was the Daniel Ground Suite and was by far the best room we have stayed in yet plus complimentary birthday cupcakes and glasses of champagne (many thanks Stephen Browning!)

We continue to return to this hotel as often as possible as it's one of the only places I truly manage to relax. One of the best parts is relaxing in the bar area with a roaring fire just taking in the atmosphere with a nice brandy :-)

Room Tip: Daniels Ground Suite was a very large room with wonderful beams and a great bathroom!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chiprafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2014

After the excitement of the mad rush of Christmas and the New Year, I took my wife for a chilling out day in the Cotswolds.

We had afternoon tea; dinner , bed and breakfast at this magnificent hotel. The service and care was absoluely outstanding. For this day we felt like real celebrities due to the way we were treated.There are many wonderful things to see and do in this lovely part of Britain.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Richard P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We booked the 'Lovely Bubbly' break which included a night's stay, champagne on arrival and a three course dinner for £360.
We were impressed with the appearance of the hotel and grounds and the staff were very welcoming as we arrived. We did not expect to be able to book into our room until three but as everything was ready we collected our key at eleven a.m.
The room was not in the main building but in a 'cottage' in a terrace of others in the grounds. This was fine as it was a very short walk to the main building and umberellas were provided. The room was luxurious and the bathroom stunning. We were disapointed to find that the tv in the bathroom was not working and forgot to inform staff as we left. I expected the bed to be more comfortable than it was and my husband had a sore neck in the morning.
We ordered room service which arrived promptly but was not great value for money. The portions were very small and some components were forgotten but arrived later.
Our evening meal consisted of canapes (I think these were complimentary), starters, main course and dessert. The food looked impressive as you would expect from a Michelin starred restaurant but unfortunately each course involved a detailed explanation from the waiting staff which disrupted conversation slightly. I enjoyed the food and surroundings but I prefer a heartier menu with slighlty less pretention. Maybe it was wasted on me.
The breakfast the next morning was again on the small side. I overheard the table next to us ordering and asking for more sausage and bacon to be added to their meal but unfortunately I do not have enough cheek to try this!
The surrounding area is beautiful and we spent an hour exploring the village but an hour is all that you need given it's size.
I would definately return but more for the accomodation than for the food.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
7.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
856 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
430 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
693 reviews
9.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range: £191 - £270 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing