We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Beautiful location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Swansea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Beautiful location”
Reviewed 13 March 2014

This is the perfect place to relax for a day or two! As other reviews mention, we too had an issue with flies in our room, which was on the top floor. However, I have not reduced the rating for this as it was dealt with well- once we had changed rooms, we had a fantastic stay. We had afternoon tea, dinner and breakfast at the hotel- all of which were wonderful. Every room appears to be different and has features of it's own- go for a junior suite or deluxe junior suite if you can for that extra touch of luxury. We stayed in the main house but the cottages looked lovely too. I was impressed by the service at this hotel and I would particularly like to thank Michael who did an outstanding job of looking after us during our stay. I don't often stay in the same hotel twice, but I would definitely consider returning to the Manor House because of this service.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miriam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,027 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    747
    178
    62
    23
    17
See reviews for
141
620
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (273)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 March 2014

We had stayed at the Manor before and decided that we would celebrate our anniversary there . On arrival we were shown to our suite Little Twizzlehead . We at first noted a number of dead flies by the window but then sat down and opened our chilled champagne in the lounge area . We looked up to the beams and saw a number of flies flying under the ceiling beams and immediately contacted reception who sent someone up to our room . He then sprayed and hoovered the room and left us the fly spray. However , within 15 minutes the fly spray had obviously worked since many more flies started falling from the eaves onto the floor and into the bath and shower . We phoned reception again and Simon the Manager came to our room to see the problem . He explained that these were cluster flies with which they had had problems with the previous year. He took charge of the situation and moved us to another suite Archway which was not in the Manor but in one of the outer buildings . He also arranged buggy transfer for my wife who is disabled. The Archway room was very nice but the part spiral staircase was difficult for my wife .
Our concern is that the hotel should have inspected the room before our arrival when they would have discovered the problem and been able to take the room out of service.
Simon compensated us for the inconvenience and ensured that the rest of our stay was up to the high standards we expect from the Manor .
The staff were all excellent and our meal in the Bybrook restaurant was up to the high standard that one expects from a Michelin starred restaurant.
I have previously given the Manor 5 star rating but feel unable to do this on this occasion as a long planned celebration was marred by the fly problem.
Would we come again - yes but not in the same rooms.

Room Tip: Avoid high rooms in Manor House -- fly problem
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 18 March 2014
Dear David C,

Thank you for your feedback and I am so pleased you enjoyed your time apart from the initial issue with the wildlife.

We can apologise about the fly problem and I am glad we were able to move you to one of our top suites. As far as checking rooms is concerned, they are checked prior to Guests arrival by the Head Housekeeper, however the flies can appear after that time, generally due to the sun shining onto the windows in certain rooms at this time of year.

Once again thank you for the comments, and I do hope we will see you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Surrey
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 March 2014

From the moment we arrived at this gorgeous Hotel it was wonderful. The sun was shining and the hotel looks amazing. The car was valet parked, the reception staff were helpful and friendly. The room was beautifully appointed and the dinner at the Bybrook restaurant was superb. Room service was fast and the grounds are stunning. Breakfast was also excellent and a walk through the village is a must.

We didn't want to leave and will definitely be returning. Thank you to all at The Manor House for making our stay a truly wonderful experience

Room Tip: There's a choice of cottages outside the hotel but we chose a room within the hotel itself and w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_WSurrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
221 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 March 2014

We had our honeymoon here a long time ago and it was good then, now it is even better. We did have a good deal on Bed, Breakfast and Dinner. Still not cheap but no complaints at all. The room was huge and all exquisitely appointed with a superbly equipped generous bathroom. There are a wealth of little luxury details. Great service throughout.The food was excellent too - what was advertised as a 3 course meal in fact was 5 and all superb. My wife's food allergy was totally catered for with great attention to detail. The hotel sits in arguably the most beautiful village in England. It won't disappoint.

Room Tip: Be careful if you are infirm it is a rambling building with many stairs and steps with real characte...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TJD744
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 March 2014 via mobile

Our third stay here and each time impressive and enjoyable. This time we were celebrating our wedding anniversary; usual warm welcome, what I have come to think of as our room, chilled champagne waiting for us. The pleasant chap who had carried our bags for us asked if we had any plans for our stay. 'Yes' I replied-'pure relaxation!' A walk through the park past the drifts of snowdrops under a February sun, a glass of wine in the local pub, back to sip champagne before our really excellent dinner, as ever served impeccably yet with genuine friendliness by people who cared that we have a good experience, and a deep sleep followed by a perfect breakfast... Relaxed? I should say so. Thank you for our lovely self-indulgent treat, and that other manor in Upper Slaughter might reconsider its lordly airs and learn a lesson from the real thing!

Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank DrFev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

We arrived after swimming on the thermal spa in Bath on a Sunday night. The hotel is beautifully located and the drive up to the main door wonderful. The valet service ensures that any intruding car is removed from the facade without much delay. A particular pleasure is the front room parlour with a big fire roaring fire and some beautiful sofas to choose from. As the room is a bit drafty the heat radiating from the fire is much needed. We were helped to the room and given enough time to change to get to dinner which we had pre-booked.

The restaurant is in a big room which lacks the atmosphere of the front parlour. Even though the walls match the natural stone of the main building it is an addition dating back to the 1970s and appears almost stern and in character. It is a rather open and in-your-face hall. The 7 course taster menu we had ordered was intricate and gave as some idea about the innovative cuisine. However surprisingly there was no written menu. Instead some of the waiters took some pride to inform us of the names of the dishes and its ingredients. Some other waiters however did not seem interested and almost threw the titles of the creatures at us which was not helped by a rather strong East European accent.

The hotel staff definitely were much friendlier and a kind receptionist took some time to show us around the reception rooms and some previously hidden rooms of the house. Afterwards we went out into the grounds to enjoy the owls and the rushing of the river in the garden for a moment.

Of course, given the lack of any noise we only resurfaced in the restaurant 4 minutes before the announced breakfast service was to end. But there were no waiters. Finally one appeared about 7 minutes later to informed us that no cooked breakfast was available anymore.

This did cause some irritation with us as we had been told by Hotel staff that there was no time limit set in stone. However when I contradicted and pointed out that we had arrived in time to expect proper cooked breakfast, we were able to place our order. The breakfast was very good. - Whereas the hotel staff were exceptionally friendly, the restaurant would benefit of training their staff as there clearly are some outliers. Some waiters seem to take their inspiration from those hardened and somewhat blasé colleagues who serve in the restaurants of Prague or Vienna.

It would have been nice to stay a second night as the room under the roof of the main house was exquisite.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nom c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear nom c,

Thank you for your feedback.

I am so sorry you were not better looked after by the Restaurant team and I know they will be disappointed. The team are from many nationalities, not just one region that you seem to have singled out. Breakfast is served from 7.30am until 10.30am on the weekend and if people do miss it we are more than happy to serve it in one of the lounges or via Room service.

I appreciate you being so forthright in your comments and that overall seemed to enjoy your visit.

I hope we may see you another time.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Buckingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
108 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 March 2014

Hubby and I spent 2 days and 2 nights here to celebrate our anniversary. From the moment we arrived, where the valet took our car for parking, we were treated to the utmost in luxury and service. Nothing was too much trouble. Truly, every member of staff was always friendly, polite, professional. There are a number of lounge areas which you can sit and enjoy your pre dinner drinks, or read the papers, or even work on the ongoing puzzle! The bar offers a really large selection of gins (I highly recommend the gin cocktails!) The Michelin start restaurant served beautifully presented and delicious food. The breakfast included, in my opinion, the best berry smoothie EVER! The Manor House Hotel does everything right. We hope to return one day.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ana H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 11 March 2014
Dear Ana H,

Thank you for your lovely comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed the smoothie!

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
7.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 760 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 643 reviews
11.1 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.1 mi away
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
#1 of 1 in Bibury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 882 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
22.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
4.5 of 5 bubbles 551 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 48
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing