We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful, as usual, but the room disappointed us”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A wonderful meal, lovely friendly attentive staff. Having been here several times, it is our special treat place. However this time the room we had, on the first floor at the front of the old building, was a disappointment, and if we had stayed a second night we would have asked to be moved. The noise from the room above, bellow and to the side made it difficult to sleep; voices from guests were clearly audible, and furniture moving from bellow by staff at 7.30am on a Saturday was not appreciated. A small turret in the corner of the room had a window with no curtain, and from early dawn the sun came through at just the right angle over our faces in bed, which again made sleeping difficult. The room was very pleasant, but a small double bed, when there was room for a king size, made for an uncomfortable nights sleep, as everytime one of us moved the whole bed rocked! We are not particularly large, and I know it sounds petty, but a good nights sleep is a fundimental right of a guest, whether the hotel is no stars or 5 stars, and we didn't feel rested at all when we woke up. We will book again, as the restaurant is wonderful, but will take more time in choosing the room to hopefully ensure this doesn't happen again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a high room previously, and this seemed to help with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Claire C,

Thank you for your recent feedback and I am so sorry you did not have a good night's sleep.

It was great to see you again and I am so pleased that you seem to have enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and I hope we see you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,104)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

623 - 629 of 1,104 reviews

Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We've now been to the Manor House 4 times for various teas, weekend getaways and just relaxation breaks. They have NEVER failed to provide exceptional service and luxury! They consistently accommodate our every need and go the extra mile to ensure a perfect stay. The rooms are individual, unique and very romantic. The food is outstanding. The grounds, breathtaking (even in the pouring rain).

My one constructive point of criticism this time: the house is so well built (with very thick stone masonry) that the wifi signal has a hard time penetrating throughout. So, if you need to do some work over your stay, perhaps request a room that has strong wifi signal. Perhaps the Manor House could look into installing extra signal boosters throughout the house? Small point, especially considering the wifi is complimentary, but if thought I'd mention it nonetheless.

All-in-all an outstanding hotel that will keep us returning again and again. We've also noted that they've received a fifth star so Congratulations to the Manor House hotel staff, it's well deserved! I just hope you don't become too popular so we can always have a room!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ahorstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had an overnight stay, en route to elsewhere. We were delighted with our stay, and will definitely plan to make The Manor House a destination stop another time.
The setting of the hotel is delightful, being an integral part of the extraordinary Castle Combe village, and set amongst parkland with a river running through. The rooms and public lounges etc, are definitely 'period pieces', but that adds to the charm of the place. Our Junior Suite was very comfortable and well set up. The bed was comfortable and the linen impeccable.Every member of the staff that we came accross could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the Tasting Menu. In our opinion the Michelin star is very well deserved.
This hotel and restaurant comes highly recommended by a very well-travelled couple in their 70/80s who will definitely be return visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

My fifth trip to this hotel,the setting,superb,service ,superb,rooms,superb there's not much more to say.The village of Castle Coombe is so picturesque it's well worth walking around,also the grounds and gardens of the hotel,footpaths cross the golf course but be aware of golf balls.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chazzer124
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 April 2014

Hotel very nice, rooms interesting, with a four poster bed and interesting bath/shower come pool.
Clean, but could do with a dust in my bathroom.

Golf course very hilly, make sure you take a buggy.....we all did for the second round.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 1811jonathan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

We stayed here for a significant birthday. The hotel is set in beautiful grounds and has a lovely homely feel as you walk in. All the staff that we encountered were efficient, polite and helpful.
We stayed in a junior suite which I have to say was one of the biggest rooms that I have stayed in! As the staff knew it was for a birthday there were cupcakes and a complimentary bottle of fizz in the room, a nice touch. The bathroom was also huge with a walk in shower and roll top bath big enough for two.
We had dinner at the Bybrook restaurant. We were asked to come down 30min before our reservation so there was time for a drink in the bar and also an amuse bouche. Dinner was exquisite. We had the al a carte menu and I cannot fault the meal at all, it was beautifully presented and tasted amazing. The homemade bread was offered several times during the meal and was just lovely. Service in the restaurant was attentive but not intrusive.
Breakfast the next morning was also in the Bybrook restaurant and again I really cannot fault anything.
We both loved our stay here, cannot wait until the next time!

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank daisydaisy10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

The Manor House is a very warm place for any occasion. The Bybrook restraunt is very delicious! The food is very nice especially for Sunday Lunch. The staff could do better. On the bill, the extra price for the staff is considerably high. The gardens are a delight, full of beautiful flowers and trees. The rooms are very nice, always tidied. I love this place and I hope others do too!

Room Tip: The cottages are the best, very quaint and cosy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Alessia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
7.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
856 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
430 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
693 reviews
4.5 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range: £190 - £269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Expedia, LateRooms, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing