We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wer'e Back 35 Years Later”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 3 May 2014

To celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary we returned to the Manor House Hotel on the 28th April 2014 for a slice of nostalgia, having stayed here on our honeymoon in 1979, and to start our mini-break.
We took advantage of a promotion in the Waitrose Kitchen magazine and stayed for one night including dinner (see separate entry).
Arriving in Castle Combe at the hotel entrance the memories came flooding back and we soon found ourselves checking in. From this moment on the staff were very helpful and attentive; everything flowed smoothly and without a hitch.
We stayed in the main building in a Junior Suite called Daniels Ground. Welcome cakes and a selection of tea and coffee in our room was most welcome after our journey. The room was clean and tidy with a spacious bathroom and walk-in shower. There was plenty of room to sit and relax whilst having our tea and cake.
The bed was very comfortable and there was a good selection of pillows on offer if the regular ones were not to your liking.
During our stay we could not hear any of the other guests in the surrounding rooms.
Heating was more than enough and was easily controlled by adjusting the thermostatic radiator valves as required. The bathroom had underfloor heating.
One slight issue in this room was the strength of the Wi-Fi signal; it was rather slow and my iPad mini would not connect at all. My wife's iPad and our phones connected but at a rather slow speed.
We brought an old brochure, post cards and bill from our previous stay 35 years ago and the staff were very interested in seeing how the place had changed along with the prices!
All in all a very pleasant if short stay and intend to not leave it another 35 years before returning.

Room Tip: As mentioned above if online connectivity is important ask for a room with a strong Wi-Fi signal.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank John L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,128)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

643 - 649 of 1,128 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

Beautiful surroundings and a stones throw from the village where there filmsed scenes from War Horse and Doctor Dolittle.
Beautiful building, beautiful rooms and beautiful food.
A perfect Sunday night.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights for a Christmas party and loved it. We were in a cottage and it was charming. The bed was massive and incredibly comfortable, and there was a wide choice of pillows to suit anyone. There was a TV in the bedroom and also in the bathroom, and the shower was huge.

The grounds are beautiful, perfect for an early morning wal.

Breakfast was a buffet with a great choice of food.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kezzie87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

Right from the start we were made to feel very welcome. The booking was very easy even when I had to change the date at the last minute. Upon arrival we had a warm welcome and were taken to our cottage - which was fantastic - the first time I have ever slept in a four poster bed. A few things went wrong with my main course during the evening meal - although the starter and dessert were fantastic. But these were put right and did not spoil the occasion at all. Breakfast the next day was fantastic. The only thing that was not wonderful was the weather. The Manor House is located in a beautiful village which had the weather been better we would have loved to explore. Cannot praise it enough - we will return

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank titusMiltonKeynes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

A wonderful meal, lovely friendly attentive staff. Having been here several times, it is our special treat place. However this time the room we had, on the first floor at the front of the old building, was a disappointment, and if we had stayed a second night we would have asked to be moved. The noise from the room above, bellow and to the side made it difficult to sleep; voices from guests were clearly audible, and furniture moving from bellow by staff at 7.30am on a Saturday was not appreciated. A small turret in the corner of the room had a window with no curtain, and from early dawn the sun came through at just the right angle over our faces in bed, which again made sleeping difficult. The room was very pleasant, but a small double bed, when there was room for a king size, made for an uncomfortable nights sleep, as everytime one of us moved the whole bed rocked! We are not particularly large, and I know it sounds petty, but a good nights sleep is a fundimental right of a guest, whether the hotel is no stars or 5 stars, and we didn't feel rested at all when we woke up. We will book again, as the restaurant is wonderful, but will take more time in choosing the room to hopefully ensure this doesn't happen again.

Room Tip: We stayed in a high room previously, and this seemed to help with noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Claire C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Claire C,

Thank you for your recent feedback and I am so sorry you did not have a good night's sleep.

It was great to see you again and I am so pleased that you seem to have enjoyed the rest of your stay.

Once again thank you for your constructive comments and I hope we see you again soon.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014 via mobile

We've now been to the Manor House 4 times for various teas, weekend getaways and just relaxation breaks. They have NEVER failed to provide exceptional service and luxury! They consistently accommodate our every need and go the extra mile to ensure a perfect stay. The rooms are individual, unique and very romantic. The food is outstanding. The grounds, breathtaking (even in the pouring rain).

My one constructive point of criticism this time: the house is so well built (with very thick stone masonry) that the wifi signal has a hard time penetrating throughout. So, if you need to do some work over your stay, perhaps request a room that has strong wifi signal. Perhaps the Manor House could look into installing extra signal boosters throughout the house? Small point, especially considering the wifi is complimentary, but if thought I'd mention it nonetheless.

All-in-all an outstanding hotel that will keep us returning again and again. We've also noted that they've received a fifth star so Congratulations to the Manor House hotel staff, it's well deserved! I just hope you don't become too popular so we can always have a room!

Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank ahorstm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2014

We had an overnight stay, en route to elsewhere. We were delighted with our stay, and will definitely plan to make The Manor House a destination stop another time.
The setting of the hotel is delightful, being an integral part of the extraordinary Castle Combe village, and set amongst parkland with a river running through. The rooms and public lounges etc, are definitely 'period pieces', but that adds to the charm of the place. Our Junior Suite was very comfortable and well set up. The bed was comfortable and the linen impeccable.Every member of the staff that we came accross could not have been more welcoming, friendly and helpful.
We ate in the restaurant and thoroughly enjoyed the Tasting Menu. In our opinion the Michelin star is very well deserved.
This hotel and restaurant comes highly recommended by a very well-travelled couple in their 70/80s who will definitely be return visitors.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ann R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
7.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
887 reviews
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
10.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 7 in Tetbury
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
708 reviews
9.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
22.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range: £195 - £278 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing