We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Real English extravangance!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Real English extravangance!”
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night to attend a wedding in the village and celebrate our Sapphire (45 years)wedding anniversary.

Complete luxury but at a price. Prices slightly OTT.

Everything was so comfortable, staff very professional but discreet. First time I have eaten a Michelin star meal - amazing. As I am a cook, the waiter was so helpful and informed about the processes involved in the meal preparation.

Stayed in Junior Suite - faultless except no fridge for cold drinks.

Nothing was too much trouble and the weather and grounds were perfect.

Thank you so much

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,045 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    765
    180
    60
    23
    17
See reviews for
146
631
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (276)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Attended a wedding at this hotel and a fantastic day for all concerned the staff could not do enough for all the wedding party, the food was of a high standerd and a good time had by all, we stayed at the hotel overnight in one of the cottages this was very nice the fixtures and fittings to a high standard and the bathroom a great size with an excellent shower/bath Checkout was good, the only downside for us was the breakfast as not enough staff on and kept running out of cooked items and plates all seamed quite rushed and not organised.with no one in overseeing this.Have stopped at other hotels that are not 5 starr and had a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear David R,

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us, and I am glad the Wedding went well.

I am sorry to hear that the service at Breakfast was not as it should be, especially as a buffet breakfast for a wedding group should have made life easier for all concerned, which is why we do it.

Thank you anyway and I do hope we might see you another time.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

!n 1670 it was determined that Castle Combe was as large as it should be and no new homes have been added since. In 1962 it was voted the most beautiful town in England so it is worth a visit. Since there are not a lot of options, the Manor House Hotel would not have to be the super elegant oasis that it is, nevertheless it took our breath away. We stayed for two nights on a Wayfarers walking tour of the area, visiting many of the sites used in the production of the hit television series Downton Abbey, and were very pleased with the elegant accommodations and the proximity to this beautiful village. You simply walk through a gate and you are at one of the two pubs that provide lovely places to drink and eat. The Manor House however is not to be missed, with elegant, well furnished, warm rooms. Showers have five heads and the pillows, linens and turn down services are equal to the worlds most expensive hotels. The expansive green lawns, and croquet courts are available to every one, and although I didn't play golf, it is available too.We had wonderful meals and very attentive service from all members of the staff.

Room Tip: We had a lovely second story cottage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingpulmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
120 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After having such a great time last year and being regulars we decided to enjoy the festival and stay over for the night to also enjoy the wonderful Bybrook Restaurant (See other review).

From the very second I drive through the gates to this Oasis I feel the world lifting off my shoulders and it has this effect no matter how many times we have visited and I pray it continues!

The day itself was blessed with good weather and there were plenty of stands to keep us occupied although we were a little disappointed that the birds of prey were absent this year it did not detract from a great day. The highlight of our day was to attend the first of the garden tours led by John the head gardener who treated us to a wonderful tour of both the gardens and the resident animals that are kept on the estate. John and his team are a credit to the Manor House and it was nice to hear of the many plans he has for the gardens but also a treat to see where a lot of the produce used by the kitchen is cultivated.

Upon checking in we were delighted to be informed that we would be staying in the Dolittle suite (Thanks Stephen!) which had been recommended to me by a friend. We were shown to the room by a very helpful and friendly member of staff who showed us the finer points of the room including its very own personal terrace area!

The entire stay was a joy and just what the doctor ordered for any stress levels I may have been experiencing. We cannot wait for our next visit and if you have not been here yet I suggest you get it on your bucket list ASAP!

Room Tip: DoLittle Suite is an amazing room with its own terraced area outside and a real treat to sit with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiprafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 July 2014 via mobile

Fabulous setting;
Lovely cottage suites where pets (ie our mini Dachsie) are super welcomed;
But:
- general boiler broken in the morning
- breakfast overcrowded, poor buffet in quantity and quality
- definitely too pricey
- not worth going back
- VERY disappointing dining experience at the totally over-rated Bybrook Restaurant: AVOID the restaurant !

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank LucaMT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 21 July 2014
Dear LucaMT,

Thank you for your recent feedback.

I had already responded in person to your friend Mr Ying about your stay which seemed initially to focus on your dining experience, but now I see that there were other areas of your stay which were not mentioned by your friend.

I can only apologise for the issue with the boiler, luckily this was quickly resolved , but was nonetheless an inconvenience for which I am sorry.

In reference to your dining experience it does seem that being nearly 20 minutes late for your table on a busy Saturday evening did not help.

Once again many apologies and I am so sorry that my initial response to Mr Ying did not seem to be enough.

Regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horley, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
76 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 July 2014

Absolutely loved this place. Was kindly greeted by Jon. Room wasn’t ready as I arrived very early, got me a cup of coffee and allowed me to go into another room to freshen up.
When I got to my room it was fantastic, bed was big, bathroom was amazing, no complaints. It had everything you needed, from tea and coffee facilities to espresso machine, tv in the bath, ipod docking station etc.
Food was fantactic, cannot complain one bit. Staff were lovely and very helpful.

No complaints, apart from my £220 bar bill…..whoops, I think that’s my fault though.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank FURY_01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Essex
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 July 2014

My husband and I stayed here for one night during the week, on arrival we had a very warm welcoming from the man on reception, and our car was valet parked for us which was a nice touch. Our room was a junior suite and it was absolutely wonderful, so beautifully decorated; also waiting in our room was two delicious fresh chocolate muffins and a small box of chocolates. The suite had a massive bathroom with a giant stand-alone bath and a separate shower area with a rain-full shower and side jets.

The gardens/grounds were stunning and beautifully kept, the hotel has its own vegetable garden.

We decided to book the Bybrook Restaurant for the 7 course taster menu – the staff in the restaurant were a delight and very friendly.

As you can imagine the wine list is very extensive and very expensive, however, on the last page of the wine list they have a section called ‘economy wines’ which I thought was patronising wording.

This is hard for me to explain but although the food and service was outstanding, I do not think that the overall price tag of £225.00 (including wine) was worth the experience, we were glad we did it but I just keep thinking it was so much money just for one meal.

Overall, a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank EssexCheekyMonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
7.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
782 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
660 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#2 of 6 in Tetbury
383 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
22.7 mi away
Barnsley House
Barnsley House
#1 of 1 in Barnsley
566 reviews
11.1 mi away
Calcot Manor
Calcot Manor
#1 of 1 in Calcot
710 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HR, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Evoline ltd, Agoda and getaroom.com so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing