We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good, old-fashioned luxury”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Certificate of Excellence
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
272 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 227 helpful votes
“Good, old-fashioned luxury”
Reviewed 4 August 2014

Obviously the manor house and its grounds and the little Cotswold village we heard one American tourist describe as "just charming" are going to put you in the right frame of mind, and nothing has been spared in the rooms in order to maintain the building's heritage, although it was a bit of a pain having a separate loo which was on a different floor level from the rest. The staff were, for the most part, expertly helpful and made a major contribution to an impressive stay.

Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank acko_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,060 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    776
    182
    61
    24
    17
See reviews for
148
641
12
57
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (279)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
hampshire
Level 6 Contributor
154 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 August 2014

My lovely husband treated me to a surprise weekend away at this stunningly beautiful hotel. It is quite breathtaking as you travel up the drive - a beautiful quintessentially british manor house in glorious grounds.

Really I don't need to say much, just imagine a beautiful home built in 15th century and remaining very much the same (of course with the addition of some sumptuous sofas and sophisticated dining furniture) and that is pretty much it.

We stayed in a room in one of the nearby cottages which all belong to the hotel and have been converted in to further accommodation. Our room was beautiful - exposed stone walls, posted bed, very comfortable lounge chairs and a terrace. It is well appointed with slippers, robes, a Nespresso coffee machine and lovely toiletries. Best bit in our room was the en suite which aside from a fabulous bath and mood enhancing lighting, also had an enormous shower area with two of the best showers we have ever encountered.

It was clear that everything had been thought about carefully to ensure your stay was comfortable and luxurious - even down to the pillow menu should the ones on the bed not be to your liking.

The food in the Bybrook restaurant is beautiful - see my separate review. The breakfast was super, as was the afternoon tea.

The only very slight issue (so slight it does not detract from 5 stars) was the service. It just seemed a little disjointed. The fizz and chocolates which were part of the deal were not in the room and we had to ask for them. Initially we could not get a booking for afternoon tea until we mentioned we were staying at the hotel and then a space was found. As it turned out we were in a room of about 7 tables and only one other was in use - although this may be because the tables on the grounds were also being used.

If you like golf I am told the course is super - all I saw was the small part we walked through which did look good but challenging.

The local walks are just what the brilliant British countryside is all about - lovely lush beautiful countryside, a slow amble followed by light refreshment in a local inn!!

If you don't like walking the hotel has the beautiful Italian Gardens and its own cottage garden. Neither are finely manicured but lovely and comfortable and with lots of well positioned seating to take in the lovely surroundings.

The village is stunning in itself - all old cottages beautifully preserved which feel like you have stepped back in time. A trestle table full of amazing cakes with an honesty box, and a bus stop that you have to request some journeys by ringing the local bus company in advance.

If you just want somewhere to park up, leave the car, and spend a couple of nights at peace with the world then this is it.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mojitomates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnborough, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

This is a beautiful hotel in an amazing location. The Bybrook restaurant is excellent with special thanks to the head chef for producing an imaginative vegetarian menu and such fabulous food.
A stay and meal at The Manor House will set you back a few pennies but is so worth it. Go and treat yourselves. We hope to return in the future.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ottothehound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 August 2014

Stayed here for 1 night to attend a wedding in the village and celebrate our Sapphire (45 years)wedding anniversary.

Complete luxury but at a price. Prices slightly OTT.

Everything was so comfortable, staff very professional but discreet. First time I have eaten a Michelin star meal - amazing. As I am a cook, the waiter was so helpful and informed about the processes involved in the meal preparation.

Stayed in Junior Suite - faultless except no fridge for cold drinks.

Nothing was too much trouble and the weather and grounds were perfect.

Thank you so much

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grannee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scunthorpe, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 July 2014

Attended a wedding at this hotel and a fantastic day for all concerned the staff could not do enough for all the wedding party, the food was of a high standerd and a good time had by all, we stayed at the hotel overnight in one of the cottages this was very nice the fixtures and fittings to a high standard and the bathroom a great size with an excellent shower/bath Checkout was good, the only downside for us was the breakfast as not enough staff on and kept running out of cooked items and plates all seamed quite rushed and not organised.with no one in overseeing this.Have stopped at other hotels that are not 5 starr and had a lot better.

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stephen-Manager, General Manager at The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club, responded to this review, 19 August 2014
Dear David R,

Thank you for your feedback and I am glad that overall you enjoyed your time with us, and I am glad the Wedding went well.

I am sorry to hear that the service at Breakfast was not as it should be, especially as a buffet breakfast for a wedding group should have made life easier for all concerned, which is why we do it.

Thank you anyway and I do hope we might see you another time.

Best regards,

Stephen Browning
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burlingame, California
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 July 2014

!n 1670 it was determined that Castle Combe was as large as it should be and no new homes have been added since. In 1962 it was voted the most beautiful town in England so it is worth a visit. Since there are not a lot of options, the Manor House Hotel would not have to be the super elegant oasis that it is, nevertheless it took our breath away. We stayed for two nights on a Wayfarers walking tour of the area, visiting many of the sites used in the production of the hit television series Downton Abbey, and were very pleased with the elegant accommodations and the proximity to this beautiful village. You simply walk through a gate and you are at one of the two pubs that provide lovely places to drink and eat. The Manor House however is not to be missed, with elegant, well furnished, warm rooms. Showers have five heads and the pillows, linens and turn down services are equal to the worlds most expensive hotels. The expansive green lawns, and croquet courts are available to every one, and although I didn't play golf, it is available too.We had wonderful meals and very attentive service from all members of the staff.

Room Tip: We had a lovely second story cottage room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank travelingpulmdoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
124 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 July 2014

After having such a great time last year and being regulars we decided to enjoy the festival and stay over for the night to also enjoy the wonderful Bybrook Restaurant (See other review).

From the very second I drive through the gates to this Oasis I feel the world lifting off my shoulders and it has this effect no matter how many times we have visited and I pray it continues!

The day itself was blessed with good weather and there were plenty of stands to keep us occupied although we were a little disappointed that the birds of prey were absent this year it did not detract from a great day. The highlight of our day was to attend the first of the garden tours led by John the head gardener who treated us to a wonderful tour of both the gardens and the resident animals that are kept on the estate. John and his team are a credit to the Manor House and it was nice to hear of the many plans he has for the gardens but also a treat to see where a lot of the produce used by the kitchen is cultivated.

Upon checking in we were delighted to be informed that we would be staying in the Dolittle suite (Thanks Stephen!) which had been recommended to me by a friend. We were shown to the room by a very helpful and friendly member of staff who showed us the finer points of the room including its very own personal terrace area!

The entire stay was a joy and just what the doctor ordered for any stress levels I may have been experiencing. We cannot wait for our next visit and if you have not been here yet I suggest you get it on your bucket list ASAP!

Room Tip: DoLittle Suite is an amazing room with its own terraced area outside and a real treat to sit with a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chiprafp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
7.2 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
797 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
668 reviews
10.4 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
393 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.3 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
9.2 mi away
The Roseate Villa Bath
9.4 mi away
The Royal Crescent Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club

Property: The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
Address: Near Bath, Castle Combe SN14 7HX, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Castle Combe
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:5 star — The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club 5*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It’s decadent, it’s cosseting, it doesn’t get much grander than The Manor House in Wiltshire, a country house with a difference. Dine in the Michelin star Bybrook restaurant or take a stroll around the picture box village of Castle Combe. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Manor Hotel
Manor House Castle Combe
Manor Hotel Castle Combe
The Manor House Hotel And Golf Club Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing