We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great value for money but the food could be better”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 December 2013 via mobile

Stayed during the last weekend of November with a friend as part of a combined shopping and spa trip to Bath and Lucknam Park. Room cost £140 b&b (room 12) and it was lovely with twin beds, plenty of space, tea and coffee and a nice bathroom with White Company toiletries. I had stayed here before about 10 years ago and was pleased to see standards had been well maintained even though it has changed hands since.

The only negatives were that there was nowhere to put your things in the bathroom, despite it being very spacious and we had to ask for help to get the heat working in there.

Breakfast was excellent but dinner the previous night was overpriced and not particularly enjoyable. Maybe we ordered the wrong thing (we both had the lamb neck) but it was disappointing as the food used to be the reason to stay here. I would advise eating out in Bath or up at The Manor instead.

The village is beautiful if you have time to explore and it's only 20 mins from Bath and less than a 10 minute drive from Lucknam Park so the location works perfectly.

Don't get caught out with the parking. It's extremely limited in the village and whilst there are a few spaces on the hill on the way out of the village, it's not lit at all and you really need a torch to see where you're going.

Overall it does represent good value for money due to the location and the nice rooms but my advice is to eat elsewhere.

Stayed: November 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Mac7471
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (661)
There are newer reviews for The Castle Inn
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

396 - 402 of 661 reviews

Reviewed 7 December 2013

Room 4 has a wonderful 4 poster bed, chaise longue, writing desk and chest of drawers, all combining to create a feel of relaxed 'British Charm' which we greatly enjoyed. The en suite bath room has a steep-sided bath with fixed overhead shower which we found delightful, especially as the water was at a good pressure and heat; not recommended for anyone who has mobility difficulties, however.
The building is well designed for modern taste, although tall visitors will need to heed the low ceilings and the old floors could be a little bumpy for those with visual impairment. We were amused by some of the oddments placed in the reception areas and the books were distinctly eclectic.
We dined in the hotel in the evening and thought this was the weak point. The salmon roulade was passable but not special, the gruyere and asparagus tart was very short on gruyere. The aubergine bake was insipid and the addition of a ragout topping was a mistake - no seasoning at all. The pheasant, again, was adequate rather than excellent. My husband perked up at the chocolate and chestnut dessert and I enjoyed the poached pear. The service was very good and of course, some people will enjoy the menu more than we did.
We thoroughly recommend the breakfast, cooked well and promptly. Again, nothing exceptional here in terms of content, but very pleasant overall.
The village is very beautiful and apart from the racing there are walks, horse riding and other activities to lure you here.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Roisin B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 December 2013

Beautiful inn in a quaint southern Cotswold village. Elegantly done retrofit of sleek lodging in an old building. Our room was tucked up under the eaves—stylishly done, but pretty tight quarters, with low ceilings (especially the tiny, en suite bathroom), and a squishy bed. Nice breakfast room.

Room Tip: Sequential room numbers are not always near each other.
  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mco2dca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2013

We stayed for one night over this last weekend. Fantastic rooms, food, and staff. It is run beautifully and you are looked after very well. Luxurious and as it's a small place very friendly and intimate. We loved it. The village is stunning and famous in it's own right due to part of War Horse being filmed there. Relaxing and peaceful. I went with my partner and mother who had been before. We will be going back for sure.

  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank loulou1136
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 November 2013

always a pleasure to Visit this village, good welcome and service from the European staff ,, pink lamb and Good Generous Portions of everything, including. Wine by the glass, comfortable separate Dining room
Standards Have Improved since Our last Visit , Very Hard to beat In this area, will return,,,

Room Tip: Parking a problem
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OrphyBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2013

Spent one night here and really didn't want to leave. The hotel is nestled in the most beautiful village I have ever been to. It was like stepping back in time and I feel like I have been away for weeks and not just one night. We stayed in room 9 which occupies the roof space and was quite divine. Beautiful beams, exquisite furnishings, comfortable and cosy bed and a super en-suite. Fluffy bathrobes and White Company toiletries-what more could a girl ask for. The staff were friendly and efficient. There when you needed them but not fussing over us. We ate in the restaurant and I enjoyed my 'blue rib eye steak'-mouth watering. We then popped over the road for a glass of hot mulled cider-delicious nightcap! This morning we enjoyed a stroll around the village in glorious sunshine. We will definitely be coming back here.

Room Tip: We enjoyed room 9 up in the roof space. The furnishings, beams and cosiness of this room perfect for...
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Emma C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2013

Nestled inside the magnificent Castle Combe medieval village at the south end of the Cotswolds, the Castle Inn is a rare gem, with location, service, room quality and food to rave about. With a four poster bed, claw foot bathtub and fabulous restaurant, it was a fitting location for a wintery anniversary night - plus poached eggs and Wiltshire sausage for breakfast! The owners, Bill & Anne, were there and they have managed to perfectly integrate history and modernity. The combination of Castle Combe, the White Hart pub, the surrounding countryside and the Castle Inn made this a weekend to remember.

Room Tip: Ask for room # 4, with the fancy bathroom and big bed.
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Christopher B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
812 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
672 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
383 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,037 reviews
4.4 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
608 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range: £91 - £195 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing