We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (756)
Filter reviews
756 results
Traveller rating
427
204
73
29
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
427
204
73
29
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbeautiful villagefour poster bedpieenglish villagepretty villagethe pubcentury buildingcream teasunday lunchlovely lunchsconespoached eggsold buildingduckan evening mealcharming hotelwaiting staff
Filter
Updating list...
469 - 474 of 756 reviews
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent a Thursday night here and fell in love with all things Castle Combe! The hotel is idyllic, lots of quirky features, exposed stone and beams, creaky floor boards and "mind your head" signs everywhere! Very friendly staff, attentive and efficient. Had a meal in the evening, food was excellent as was the setting. One small tip, not a criticism, if you order the 'homemade bread and oils' starter, you might want to share it, as you literally get three small loaves of fantastic warm bread that just have to be eaten....! Didn't leave a lot of room for main and had to surrender desert! Very quiet location, barely any traffic, almost seems uninhabited. Didn't want to leave, sulked all day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked this quite some time ago as have been planning the trip with Mum for her 82nd Birthday. After calling up several times to check the accessibility of the rooms, arrived to find we had booked into the top floor!, Staff were very accommodating in switching things around. Still a bit of a challenge but I guess it is to be inspected in a 15- 16th century building! Beautiful old beams exposed in the bedroom, up to date spacious bathroom. We had a meal downstairs, the soup and salad starters were excellent but the steak was tough and full of gristle. The Duck tough and quite gamey. We were disappointed in our meal. Accommodation options are limited in this tiny villIage and was nice to stay in this spectacular setting. While you are here, make sure to take in some of the walking on local footpaths - lots to explore.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shaktiom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Simple but well prepared lunch and reasonably priced. The ambience was delightful and the service friendly and efficient. The lunch was well cooked and "homemade" rather that the commercial offerings so often laid before you to "enjoy".

Room Tip: Did not stay in this hotel. We only ate lunch.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Castle Hotel in Castle Combe is an excellent place to stay.Since we have retired we have
stayed in lots of wonderful places but this beats the lot. We were welcomed by a lady called
Gemma who was so helpful and kind.We went with friends and our rooms were upgraded. The
rooms were very impressive and everywhere in the hotel was clean.We ate at the hotel and the
meals were very good.In charge of the restaurant was Daniel who was very attentive.We all enjoyed it and we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnandAlex402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2014

What a lovely hotel.Special break with my sister and her husband. Hotel.food ,staff and food excellent. Very quiet in evening but very relaxing. Pub across road very friendly .We all enjoyed and would certainly go back. Village very pretty and very central

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ahtho289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews