We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely, quiet hotel”
Review of The Castle Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Castle Inn
Ranked #1 of 5 Castle Combe B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 April 2014

Cosy rooms, but not small. VERY comfortable bed (but the bed in an executive room was a standard double which was VERY disappointing given the rate).

Lovely low beams (mind your head!), very friendly staff and prompt service.

Good food. Not spectacular, but good enough!

Room Tip: Room 5 has a very small bed - this is the only reason for downgrading the scores above. Make sure y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Justin S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (670)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

385 - 391 of 670 reviews

Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were bought a night here as a Christmas present.
We were not disappointed.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, room spotlessly clean, the food was excellent, the only problem was devouring a full English the morning after three courses the previous evening, but I managed!

We had a fabulous room, four poster bed! the bathroom was as big as some bedrooms I have stayed in, and the shower was probably the best I have ever used in a hotel room; it nearly blew me over when I first turned it on.

Found some lovely walking around the valley, and the village is pure chocolate box.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DateandMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Anyone thinking of booking this hotel do it now it is simply wonderful. My mum and dad had booked through a groupon offer, they had booked the same offer before Christmas and had a wonderful time. The location stunning, staff cannot be faulted and very attentive, food is wonderful, and the room...wow just amazing. Breakfast was cooked beautifully and very relaxed. We had a lovely relaxing break and will definitely be booking again very soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank butterflymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent a Thursday night here and fell in love with all things Castle Combe! The hotel is idyllic, lots of quirky features, exposed stone and beams, creaky floor boards and "mind your head" signs everywhere! Very friendly staff, attentive and efficient. Had a meal in the evening, food was excellent as was the setting. One small tip, not a criticism, if you order the 'homemade bread and oils' starter, you might want to share it, as you literally get three small loaves of fantastic warm bread that just have to be eaten....! Didn't leave a lot of room for main and had to surrender desert! Very quiet location, barely any traffic, almost seems uninhabited. Didn't want to leave, sulked all day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked this quite some time ago as have been planning the trip with Mum for her 82nd Birthday. After calling up several times to check the accessibility of the rooms, arrived to find we had booked into the top floor!, Staff were very accommodating in switching things around. Still a bit of a challenge but I guess it is to be inspected in a 15- 16th century building! Beautiful old beams exposed in the bedroom, up to date spacious bathroom. We had a meal downstairs, the soup and salad starters were excellent but the steak was tough and full of gristle. The Duck tough and quite gamey. We were disappointed in our meal. Accommodation options are limited in this tiny villIage and was nice to stay in this spectacular setting. While you are here, make sure to take in some of the walking on local footpaths - lots to explore.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shaktiom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Simple but well prepared lunch and reasonably priced. The ambience was delightful and the service friendly and efficient. The lunch was well cooked and "homemade" rather that the commercial offerings so often laid before you to "enjoy".

Room Tip: Did not stay in this hotel. We only ate lunch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2014

The Castle Hotel in Castle Combe is an excellent place to stay.Since we have retired we have
stayed in lots of wonderful places but this beats the lot. We were welcomed by a lady called
Gemma who was so helpful and kind.We went with friends and our rooms were upgraded. The
rooms were very impressive and everywhere in the hotel was clean.We ate at the hotel and the
meals were very good.In charge of the restaurant was Daniel who was very attentive.We all enjoyed it and we will return.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnandAlex402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Castle Combe
0.1 mi away
The Manor House Hotel and Golf Club
7.1 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
832 reviews
2.9 mi away
Lucknam Park
Lucknam Park
#1 of 1 in Colerne
684 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Stanton Manor Hotel
Stanton Manor Hotel
#3 of 8 in Chippenham
390 reviews
4.4 mi away
Rudloe Arms
Rudloe Arms
#3 of 4 in Corsham
1,046 reviews
4.4 mi away
Guyers House Hotel
Guyers House Hotel
#1 of 4 in Corsham
612 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Inn

Address: Market Cross, Castle Combe SN14 7HN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Castle Combe
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 B&Bs / Inns in Castle Combe
Price Range: £94 - £223 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Castle Inn 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Castle Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Castle Combe
The Castle Inn Castle Combe, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing