We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (772)
Filter reviews
772 results
Traveller rating
435
210
73
31
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
435
210
73
31
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews beautiful village four poster bed the pub pie english village pretty village cream tea sunday lunch scones poached eggs old building duck an evening meal charming hotel waiting staff cooked to perfection car park
Filter
Updating list...
482 - 487 of 772 reviews
Reviewed 3 April 2014

We were bought a night here as a Christmas present.
We were not disappointed.
The staff were all very helpful and friendly, room spotlessly clean, the food was excellent, the only problem was devouring a full English the morning after three courses the previous evening, but I managed!

We had a fabulous room, four poster bed! the bathroom was as big as some bedrooms I have stayed in, and the shower was probably the best I have ever used in a hotel room; it nearly blew me over when I first turned it on.

Found some lovely walking around the valley, and the village is pure chocolate box.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DateandMash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2014

Anyone thinking of booking this hotel do it now it is simply wonderful. My mum and dad had booked through a groupon offer, they had booked the same offer before Christmas and had a wonderful time. The location stunning, staff cannot be faulted and very attentive, food is wonderful, and the room...wow just amazing. Breakfast was cooked beautifully and very relaxed. We had a lovely relaxing break and will definitely be booking again very soon.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank butterflymama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Spent a Thursday night here and fell in love with all things Castle Combe! The hotel is idyllic, lots of quirky features, exposed stone and beams, creaky floor boards and "mind your head" signs everywhere! Very friendly staff, attentive and efficient. Had a meal in the evening, food was excellent as was the setting. One small tip, not a criticism, if you order the 'homemade bread and oils' starter, you might want to share it, as you literally get three small loaves of fantastic warm bread that just have to be eaten....! Didn't leave a lot of room for main and had to surrender desert! Very quiet location, barely any traffic, almost seems uninhabited. Didn't want to leave, sulked all day.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jason N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Booked this quite some time ago as have been planning the trip with Mum for her 82nd Birthday. After calling up several times to check the accessibility of the rooms, arrived to find we had booked into the top floor!, Staff were very accommodating in switching things around. Still a bit of a challenge but I guess it is to be inspected in a 15- 16th century building! Beautiful old beams exposed in the bedroom, up to date spacious bathroom. We had a meal downstairs, the soup and salad starters were excellent but the steak was tough and full of gristle. The Duck tough and quite gamey. We were disappointed in our meal. Accommodation options are limited in this tiny villIage and was nice to stay in this spectacular setting. While you are here, make sure to take in some of the walking on local footpaths - lots to explore.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
Thank Shaktiom61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Simple but well prepared lunch and reasonably priced. The ambience was delightful and the service friendly and efficient. The lunch was well cooked and "homemade" rather that the commercial offerings so often laid before you to "enjoy".

Room Tip: Did not stay in this hotel. We only ate lunch.
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Morgan712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews