We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A great get away from it all!”
other travellers have booked this property
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
View of Nut Tree Cottage as you enter the drive way.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
35 reviews
Nut Tree Cottage Holiday Let is a self contained cottage retaining all its 17th century charm.
View of Nut Tree Cottage as you enter the drive way.
Nut Tree Cottage is a grade II listed 17th century cottage set in the idyllic By Brook Valley.
View from the double bedroom of the extensive garden with meadow beyond.
Patio and smoking area set at the top of the sloping garden giving views across the meadow.
View from the orchard gate across the garden.
View from the parking area across the length of the garden.
View from the bedrooms across the garden and meadow to the river at the bottom of the meadow.
Christmas at Nut Tree Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Castle Combe, Cotswolds, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 35 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Steve W
Lichfield, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“A great get away from it all!”
Reviewed 7 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

Ideal location for a peaceful break. Cottage was clean and tidy upon arrival with fresh flowers a lovely touch. Everything we required was provided in the well equipped kitchen and the "log burner" in the sitting room ensured cosy evenings. Enjoyed the local walks and the White Hart offered a warm welcome to our dog and provided some tasty food.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being almost in the middle of nowhere
Liked least: Was cold until we got the fire on!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
Thank you for your kind comments, I am so pleased you had an enjoyable stay and took advantage of the lovely walks and pubs!
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
mrandmrsc...
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Mr & Mrs”
Reviewed 13 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent the most wonderful relaxing Christmas at Nut tree cottage. We arrived on Christmas eve tired and weary from our demanding jobs to be greeted by Sally and this beautiful cottage. The fire was blazing and a perfect Christmas tree was awaiting us. Everything about the cottage and surrounding areas were more then we could of expected. The pictures do not do it justice. We will be back

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jan 2016
Thank you so much for your wonderful comments. I am so pleased you enjoyed your Christmas at the cottage. For me it is very special to be able to let other people enjoy part of my family home and it will be a pleasure to see you back again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
steveo197...
Greater London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect base for mini-break”
Reviewed 16 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We'd been looking for a break in the Cotswolds with our 2 young children. Every time I searched for a self-catering property for a short break "Nut Tree Cottage" kept coming back in the search results and everyone had given it 5 out of 5. I definitely agree with the scoring as the cottage, the location and Sally, the owner, were all more than we could have hoped for. The place was situated in a small hamlet of Long Dean with lovely woods and green areas to walk our dog. The cottage itself was perfect for a small family - it was cosy without feeling cramped. Sally was a perfect host on arrival and did a thorough but short overview of the facilities - she'd already put the fire on and left us a bottle of wine which was very kind - she even helped us find a fireworks exhibition in Chippenham which went down well with the kids.

Long Dean is perfectly situated with about 30 mins to Chippenham, Bath, Longleat etc.

I would definitely recommend this place to anyone looking for a comfy, secure base to explore the Cotswolds

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: weather
Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Nov 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it was a pleasure to meet you and so glad you enjoyed your stay and hope you felt relaxed when you went home.
Sally
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helen B
Stockport, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Fabulous County Retreat”
Reviewed 26 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We had an amazing week in the South Cotswolds and the cottage proved to be a little hideaway from the hustle and bustle of every day life. Sally was lovely and met us when we arrived. The cottage has everything you could need

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Being in the countryside, but not far from shops,
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2015
So pleased you enjoyed your holiday and it was lovely to meet you and the dogs.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alex D
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely cottage, beautiful location, friendly people.”
Reviewed 21 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The location of Nut Tree Cottage was excellent - it looked like it was in the middle of nowhere but it was actually really easy to get to - and it was a lovely cottage, very picturesque, clean well equipped, and with amazing views. The cottage was in easy striking distance of Castle Combe and Lacock as well as Bath, and there were lovely walks around the cottage. The cows, rabbit and squirrels just outside the front door kept us entertained! And the landlady was lovely and really friendly and helpful.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything.
Liked least: Can't think of anything we didn't like!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Sep 2015
I am so pleased you enjoyed your time at Nut Tree Cottage and all it had to offer. It was lovely to meet you all.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julia_Bro...
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nut tree cottage really is as beautiful as in the pictures!”
Reviewed 17 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Inside it is clean, tidy and comfortable with everything you need to feel at home and outside is truly picture postcard beautiful.
The cottage is surrounded by woods with a beautiful garden which Henry (my dog) loved. In fact the hamlet felt so safe that I was perfectly confident just to open the door and let him wander to say hello to the friendly neighbours.
Sally, Dave and Ken were wonderful hosts, always smiling and available if needed to answer questions about the local area, recommend walks etc. They made this single lady (with her dog) feel completely safe staying in a tiny, relatively remote hamlet on her own.
Given the beauty of the location and its proximity of so many interesting places, I will be back again on my own and with my extended family.
I would certainly recommend Nut Tree to anyone; singletons, friends, couples, families with or without dogs.
If you like what you see in the photographs you will have a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Sep 2015
Thank you so much for your lovely comments, it is very special having other people appreciate our family home. We look forward to seeing you and Henry the dog again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kirstin M
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“It was like staying in a postcard image”
Reviewed 17 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I stayed here for almost 2 weeks. The cottage was extremely comfortable - it had everything you would need from linens to a well stocked kitchen. The cottage is very close to countless walking trails, and a handful of small, quaint villages, and the town of Chippenham. It is a perfect mix of rural living and city conveniences. Sally was extremely helpful and flexible and ensured that our stay was as comfortable as possible. We would definitely book this cottage again.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Aug 2015
Thank you for your lovely comments, it was lovely to meet you and hope to see you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;