We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best food for miles”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 27 June 2014

The hotel is on a noisy main road but go there for the food! This is not a purpose built modern place. It is old and curious but all the better for it. Not too far from the motorway if you are in the middle of a trip.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Robert P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (647)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

326 - 332 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 26 June 2014

After the initial confusion over rooms on checking in our experience here was quite positive. Lovely setting some road noise but very quiet otherwise. We had upgraded to a superior room as it had a super king bed (very comfortable) The room was fine as was the bathroom although the shower was over the bath and the water pressure was very feeble which we did inform reception about and the hot water from the sink was so hot as to be dangerous!

We were with a large group and some of the rooms had size issues especially if you are tall! and other problems with showers.

Dinner was ok and there was a different vegetarian option each night.
Breakfast was a fairly good spread and the veggie breakfast was unusually tasty. It would be good to have home made jams etc rather than the small standard catering jars especially being close to the Farmers Market!

The garden area was lovely with chairs and tables although our room did overlook this area so could be a bit noisy in the evening.

Good wifi connection.

Room Tip: upgrade if you can
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hawkeye9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank mikeyBirmingham
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 19 June 2014

A great place. Clean, welcoming, value, lovely gardens. A definite safe bet. We only booked one night but decided to stay another night as it was just what we were looking for in a hotel. A nice relaxed feel and the rooms very modern and clean.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Holiday5555
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel on June 2nd 2014.
We only stayed the 1 night and loved our large room No.30 the staff in general and the setting of the hotel and garden. We were very fortunate as the weather was glorious and we were able to relax in the well maintained gardens.
The food was excellant and our son and daughter in law joined us for a meal on the Sunday evening.
I would not hesitate to reccommend this hotel, and would certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank avveros
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

Recently stayed here on a Dinner, Bed and Breakfast arrangement for three nights. Have stayed before about two years before. The service here is excellent from time of arrival to the time you leave with a very friendly admosphere. Frank the owner and his staff go out of their way to make you feel welcome. The menu is designed for all tastes and is of a high quality. My wife and I enjoyed every meal. We had a superior room which was very spacious and very clean and tidy. Our cuddly lion Henry enjoyed being moved around the room each day by the cleaner.
It is in an area worth exploring with Tetbury, Malmesbury and Westonbirt Arboretum all close by. We will be returning to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Spent two nights here - great location for visiting Cotswold market towns, glorious countryside and some out of the ordinary shopping.
Very helpful staff, wonderful breakfasts and exceptional restaurant for evening meals with all food locally sourced and excellent value.
Rooms are varied and some a bit unusual in design but good value, clean and well appointed - after all, what can you expect from a building this old.
I will certainly return.

Room Tip: Choose rooms overlooking the garden
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
7.9 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,582 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
512 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
403 reviews
4.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
811 reviews
16.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mayfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mayfield House Hotel

Address: 17 M4, Exit | The Street, Crudwell SN16 9EW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Price Range: £72 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mayfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small family run Cotswold hotel set amidst beautiful countryside in the South Cotswolds, just 10 minutes from the M4 and so easily accessible. It’s the perfect spot to relax, unwind and explore... we're in the Tetbury, Malmesbury, Cirencester triangle! We offer 28 3 star en-suite rooms including Family, Disabled and Dog Friendly accommodation. Our AA Rosette restaurant serves beautifully cooked, locally sourced fare - a comfortable lounge & bar serves wines from Tetbury and Bath and real ale from Uley complimenting the offer in a warm, friendly and service-orientated environment. Assessed by Visit Britain gaining Walkers, Cyclists, Pets and Families Welcome, Breakfast Award and Disability level 1 and 2 for Disabled friendly rooms. Our hotel has been awarded a Green Tourism SILVER award reflecting our commitment to these Glorious Cotswolds!! A great location for exploring the delights of the ancient towns of Malmesbury and Royal Tetbury and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt and the glorious South Cotswold's area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mayfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmesbury
Best Western Mayfield Hotel
Best Western Crudwell
Crudwell Best Western
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing