We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worth it for the food”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Reviewed 25 August 2014

We have stayed here many times over the last 10 years, usually for a short break (3 nights), and the food keeps getting better! Excellent value for dinner, especially after a long walk to give you a good appetite. Friendly and helpful staff. Some of the rooms were a little tired, but many bathrooms have been upgraded. On our last visit, many business people staying as well as some older couples, so a good mix. Not 5-star luxury, but welcoming and excellent value.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
Thank Jim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (645)
There are newer reviews for Best Western Mayfield House Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

307 - 313 of 646 reviews

Reviewed 25 August 2014

I booked 5 rooms for a family reunion for the Bank Holiday weekend, to accommodate 7 guests in 5 bedrooms. Ages ranged from 63 to 93 with one member needing a disabled facilities room.
The staff were extremely helpful in sorting out the various requirements and we all enjoyed a wonderful weekend visiting relations in nearby Luckington.
regarding food, we all agreed the the standard was excellent for the Friday dinner and breakfasts.
Afternoon cups of tea in the spacious garden were also a treat.
Overall, a great weekend and I have no hesitation in recommending this hotel.
Yes there was some road noise in some rooms but generally speaking the hotel is excellent with friendly staff, first class food and in a great location to visit attractive towns and villages.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the road.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ormskirk1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2014

We booked a 4 night B&B break. The staff were helpful and friendly without being overbearing. Breakfast was excellent each morning. We ate in the bar one evening and in the restaurant on our final evening. The food quality again was excellent on both occasions with choice to suit most. There is a relaxing garden area to enjoy a quiet drink. Bear in mind this is a country hotel which is designed to fit in with its surroundings. It is situated in a lovely quiet village. There is an excellent pub next door which also does good food. But the big selling point is its central location in the Costwolds. It lies between Cirencester and Malmesbury, only minutes from both but you can get to any part of the Cotswolds in under an hour. We visited Bourton on the Water (30mins) and Bath (45mins). Would most definitely visit here again

Room Tip: No lift so if mobility not good ask for ground floor. Also caters for dogs with specific rooms alloc...
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ken L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2014

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank Peter B
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Stayed here for a few days in early August. Better than any other best western I've stayed in. Rooms in the annexe are very good and staff very friendly and helpful. Relaxing gardens and god cream teas. Happy to stay here again.

Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
Thank Mac M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

Good rooms. Very poor breakfast. I swear the coffee was instant! Not what you would expect for the price .Also tried the kippers - shouldn't have, bright orange, boil in the bag variety ughh! So we didn't eat dinner in the restaurant! Went into Malmsbury and had a good pub meal. For the price you pay at this hotel one would expect a much higher standard when it comes to eating. They have a captive market but don't seem to realise that some of their clientele have actually got taste buds!

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western GB
1  Thank 47mrcd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 August 2014

Good food and a comfortable room if a little airless during a very hot spell; the hotel was conveniently situated for a family celebration. Friendly and helpful staff and a lovely garden complete with croquet-a pleasure to sit out in on a beautiful summer evening. The beer was good too

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank oskar77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Crudwell
7.9 mi away
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
De Vere Cotswold Water Park
#1 of 1 in South Cerney
2,581 reviews
5.6 mi away
The Hare and Hounds Hotel
3.8 mi away
The Ormond at Tetbury
The Ormond at Tetbury
#6 of 6 in Tetbury
511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Close Hotel
The Close Hotel
#1 of 6 in Tetbury
403 reviews
4.7 mi away
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
Whatley Manor Hotel & Spa
#1 of 2 in Malmesbury
811 reviews
16.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
DoubleTree by Hilton Cheltenham
#1 of 1 in Charlton Kings
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Mayfield House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Mayfield House Hotel

Address: 17 M4, Exit | The Street, Crudwell SN16 9EW, England (Formerly BEST WESTERN Mayfield House Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Crudwell
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Crudwell
Price Range: £73 - £135 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Best Western Mayfield House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our small family run Cotswold hotel set amidst beautiful countryside in the South Cotswolds, just 10 minutes from the M4 and so easily accessible. It’s the perfect spot to relax, unwind and explore... we're in the Tetbury, Malmesbury, Cirencester triangle! We offer 28 3 star en-suite rooms including Family, Disabled and Dog Friendly accommodation. Our AA Rosette restaurant serves beautifully cooked, locally sourced fare - a comfortable lounge & bar serves wines from Tetbury and Bath and real ale from Uley complimenting the offer in a warm, friendly and service-orientated environment. Assessed by Visit Britain gaining Walkers, Cyclists, Pets and Families Welcome, Breakfast Award and Disability level 1 and 2 for Disabled friendly rooms. Our hotel has been awarded a Green Tourism SILVER award reflecting our commitment to these Glorious Cotswolds!! A great location for exploring the delights of the ancient towns of Malmesbury and Royal Tetbury and the National Arboretum at Westonbirt and the glorious South Cotswold's area. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LateRooms, Ebookers, Agoda, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, 5viajes2012 S.L. and Cancelon so you can book your Best Western Mayfield House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Malmesbury
Best Western Mayfield Hotel
Best Western Crudwell
Crudwell Best Western
Best Western Mayfield House Hotel Crudwell, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing