We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
£126
Breakfast included
Hotels.com
£142
Fully refundable before Fri, 3 May
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect nightly room rates, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
M C
Short break for me and the wife
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 19 Feb 2024
Lovely little hotel in the heart of the Cotswolds. The hotel was very easy to find and once checked in our room was very spacious, downstairs bar and dining area had a nice feel. Staff were attentive as well as the food tasty, would happily book a return visit!
Date of stay: February 2024
Room Tip: For the price not much to complain at!
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Expedia.com
  • Booking.com
    £126
  • Hotels.com
    £142
  • Priceline
0.0 miles from Pettifers Freehouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£146
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    £159
  • Hotels.com
    £162
  • Priceline
2.6 miles from Pettifers Freehouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£225
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    £225
  • Agoda.com
    £163
  • Hotels.com
    £225
3.7 miles from Pettifers Freehouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Hotels.com
£115
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Expedia.com
    £115
  • Tripadvisor
    £115
  • Priceline
3.8 miles from Pettifers Freehouse Hotel
Free parking
Restaurant
The Snooty Fox Hotel
Booking.com
£165
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £165
  • Expedia.com
    £164
  • Tripadvisor
    £164
3.8 miles from Pettifers Freehouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
£156
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £156
  • Agoda.com
    £150
  • Expedia.com
    £158
3.9 miles from Pettifers Freehouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
Booking.com
£132
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    £143
  • Agoda.com
    £128
  • Expedia.com
    £143
3.9 miles from Pettifers Freehouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
B&B アイビーで覆われた 外観 綺麗な内装の部屋 すっごく美味しかった朝食
Contact accommodation for availability.
7.2 miles from Pettifers Freehouse Hotel
Free Wifi
Free parking
View more hotels in Crudwell
Reviews (991)
Filter reviews
991 results
Traveller rating
526
298
98
42
27
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
526
298
98
42
27
Show reviews that mention
All reviews westonbirt arboretum dog friendly hotel evening meal short break sunday lunch full english night stay potting shed stayed for one night bayfield cotswolds bath starters village pub
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
4 - 9 of 991 reviews
Reviewed 28 January 2024

Had a lovely well deserved break away with my husband and friends. We had a fab stay, I was very excited about having a bath in our ensuite but didn’t have any bubble bath the owner very kindly sourced a bath bomb for me, how lovely was that! We ate in the hotel on the first night, all our meals were lovely and service was great. On the first morning we all had a full cooked breakfast with all the trimmings. The second morning i had eggs benedict which was delicious. We loved the location and there are 2 pubs/restaurants within walking distance.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Caroline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 January 2024

A birthday treat for my wife. The hell it was!
Telephoned direct and enquired about a Saturday night stay, explaining as a well needed break and birthday surprise for my wife. Paid by card there and then asking price £126.00 for the one night in a larger double room.
Given room 14.
Lady at reception explained there was a noisy dehumidier in the room next door to us as it was damp and she would come up and switch it off. Still going...
The room was very cold, radiater was off, we sat on the bed for a bit and looked at one another thinking the same thing. It was really poor and for the amount of money, it was called "taking the piss".
Several screws and nails sticking out the wall.
Carpet not fitting, thread sticking up all round the edges.
Dirt smears on the walls.
I paced the actual room size (excl the hall to the entrance door) and roughly 8ft by 12ft. LOL as they say
The ensuite was another disappointment, public hair on the mirror, dirt round the shower knob, sink tap not cleaned 100 percent, door with bleach splashed all over it, filth round edges and skirting... £126.00 a night remember!
At no stage did anyone say "oh by the way, happy birthday".
Nice food and service in dining room. After food I ordered two coffees and two brandies. Coffee arrived but no brandy - "sorry i forgot about it and I'm not sure if was added to the hill or not" she said?! After this was told can't add the dinner bill to hotel bill to pay all extras in one go, had to pay straight away as it was explained a separate business.
We left at checkout time in the morning and no one in reception area, left the key on the counter, no one spoke. I drove home thinking of all the places we could have stayed for that money.
Wow!

Room tip: Watch out for dog poo in the garden area.
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank V3576SYrobm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 January 2024

This is our second visit. The room was clean and had everything you wanted (except no glasses - maybe an oversite ?? Most people need a glass of water during the night). A bonus was our favourite biscuits (Ringtons) !! We have them sent down from North East which is where our daughter in law comes from. Good for us, but a local choice might be nice? Everyone was friendly and very helpful, our TV control didnt work, battery was leaking, but replaced immediately. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast was really good and as a Veggie well catered for. Dog accepting, rather than dog friendly as no facilities in room for dog. Didn't pay for dog as compensation for poor restaurant experience. I have a cockapoo, small non malting, used to hotel stays, so certainly does not need an extra cleaning charge, but appreciate some do.

Restaurant was run by a different enterprise, leased out. I would give them one star, highly disappointing. No Veggie option at all, waiter said he would see what they could do and was really friendly, maybe some veg etc, chef was stood at bar having a beer and said nothing available, they only had red cabbage as not had delivery (aldi 2 mins away) husband had poor burger and chips £18!!!!! A real shame! They were friendly though, and as no veggie option I only paid for one glass of wine of the two I had.... One glass was £9??

Great location, nice clean rooms. Would return, but not eat I restaurant.

CHANGE YOUR RESTAURANT LEASE!!

Room tip: Plan to eat else where in the evening
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 77kitp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 10 December 2023 via mobile

Really friendly and welcoming staff on site. Our first stay in a dog friendly hotel and we loved it! Our dog is nervous, so can bark a bit, so we were a bit nervous, but everyone was really nice and relaxed. Clean, nice decor in main hotel building. Room had huge, comfy bed, hot shower, etc. Nice breakfast included. All the staff were super lovely.
The only disappointment was that the pub in the hotel - run as a separate business - didn't sell the drinks we like. We would have really loved to have sat in that cosy snug area with the dog and a pint of cider, but there wasn't any, so we had to venture out in the cold!
Not much in Crudwell itself, but Tetbury half hour away and the Westonbirt Arboretum was a great morning out with the dog. We would love to come back in the summer x

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kestafr06
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 December 2023 via mobile

We stayed at The Pettifer Hotel for two night using their exclusive Flight Before Christmas rates (they allow you to stay for one night if desired) myself, husband and 6 year old son had a wonderful stay. The bar and restaurant area were beautiful, comfortable, welcoming and festive. Our son enjoyed playing their board games next to the Christmas tree. On both evenings we ate in their restaurant, the food was great along with the service. Our family room was comfortable and had everything we needed. Breakfast was great quality and table service. The husband and wife (owners) went above and beyond and were lovely to chat with. Highly Recommend.

Date of stay: December 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Seaside59565385507
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews