We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A gem of a Bed and Breakfast!”
Review of Rockley House

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Devizes
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Rockley House
Ranked #7 of 19 Devizes B&B and Inns
Reviewed 22 July 2013

Rockley House is a top-notch 'Bed and Breakfast', in an excellent position, within a short stroll of the historic town of Devizes and within easy reach of several lovely places, including Shaftesbury, Salisbury, Amesbury, Stonehenge etc.
The bedrooms are large, with good-sized, modern 'en suite' facilities and big, comfortable beds.
The breakfast, in the lovely, big, beautifully proportioned and tastefully furnished dining room was superb,
There were big bowls full of fresh fruit, including melon and strawberries, a wide choice of cereals and an excellent cooked meal with all the variations of scrambled, fried and poached eggs, plus lovely fresh mushrooms, sausages, bacon etc.
Rockley House fronts onto the Avon and Kennet Canal, and it was relaxing to watch the various craft; narrow boats, cabin cruisers and kayaks going quietly past, from the seating area in the back garden of the house.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WILLIAM556
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (131)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 76 of 131 reviews

Reviewed 9 July 2013

Stayed with 4 friends on a cycling trip for the second time. This B&B gives you everything you want from a warm welcome to good rooms and great breakfast. If we are down that way again would definitely go back. Peter. Kent.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 June 2013

We arrived in the late afternoon after beginning our walk along the Wessex Ridgeway and from the moment we drew up we were made to feel very welcome indeed.Jane and later Graeme genuinely seem to enjoy having guests to stay .The breakfasts were wonderful with fresh fruit to have with your cereal and any permutation of the "full English" that you liked.The rooms were comfortable and Jane sent us off to the Bistro in Devizes for our evening meal which was a gastronomic experience in itself.A great trip was made by the superb quality of this B & B.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keith T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2013 via mobile

I stayed here as part of a cycling group. From the moment we arrived the service was superb we were met by Graham and his wife who were very friendly. The b and b is situated right on the riverbank. I shared with a friend we had 2 single beds along with an en suite shower and a small tv. The doors didnt seem to lock from the outside which seemed strange. We took over the whole house so it wasn't much of a problem but if I was staying alone it would be different. The breakfast was superb all freshly cooked and didnt taste like it was cheap food. We were also offered a choice of fresh fruit and cereals. I was even given a lift back by Graham when I injured my knee all the way to Chippenham so I could get my train! That's what I call service. I will be back!!

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wellsy09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2013

Rockley House was just perfect for us - a large group (10) of cyclists touring the Wiltshire countryside. It was extremely homely, and we felt sincerely welcomed. The beds were amazingly comfortable and the breakfasts were to die for, and set us up for a long day's cycling. It was like being part of a family. When one of the cyclists injured his knee, Graham even drove him to the train station in Chippenham. Amazing!

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul_B186220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 May 2013

Our second 2 night stay at Rockley House while walking the K and A canal. As before, we were made very welcome - including our Cocker Spaniel, Ruby, who had a lovely time. The rooms were spacious, the beds comfortable and the scrumptious breakfast set us up for the day. Well located overlooking the canal just outside the town centre and convenient for restaurants. We would highly recommend this B & B!

Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
Thank Anji B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2013

Four of us stayed at Rockley House for one evening before setting off along the K and A canal the following morning. The welcome we received was wonderfully warm and friendly, which is always reassuring when entering unknown territory. Jane showed us around her lovely family home and offered a choice of rooms. Without exception, each room was spotlessly clean and well equipped. The beds were of excellent quality and superbly comfortable. The en-suite facilities were more than adequate and efficient and the bed linen and towels had been freshly laundered. In the morning, after each of us had rejoiced at how well we had slept, we indulged ourselves by devouring a most sumptuous breakfast. The perfect start to any day! Add to all that the fact that Devizes with its quirky pubs and restaurants is only a short walk away makes Rockley House the ideal place to stay. In short ,the whole place smacks of quality and we would not hesitate in recommending it to anyone.

  • Stayed: May 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank len g
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devizes hotels
4.7 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
139 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
1.5 mi away
Avalon Lodge Bed and Breakfast
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#1 of 5 in Devizes
94 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vine Cottage B&B
Vine Cottage B&B
#2 of 2 in Rowde
140 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rockley House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rockley House

Address: Rockley House London Road, Devizes SN10 2DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 19 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range: £40 - £70 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 5
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rockley House is a family run B&B that offers modern comforts in a period setting. A 10 minute easy level walk to town. Perfect central base for exploring Stonehenge, Bath, Avebury, Salisbury and the canal. Family & pet friendly. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rockley House Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing