We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Warm Welcome” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The White Bear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Bear
Ranked #9 of 22 Devizes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm Welcome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 June 2013

After a long morning of driving, we chose this quaint little pub to have lunch.
We were welcomed by a friendly woman, who we later found out was the recent owner.
Travelling from Australia, my husband was not familiar with the different beers. He was most generously offered a few samples before deciding on one to purchase.
The food was delicious and arrived quickly. The kitchen was also able to cater for the fussy tastes of some of my family.
The owners knowledge of the local area was much appreciated. She gave us directions to some of the local sights which we may have missed, except for her information.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    52
    26
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
16
44
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (16)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Devizes
Level Contributor
381 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 438 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 March 2013

Often call in here on my way around Devizes. Great little pub, lovely staff and great beer. Very central to town centre, opposite the Castle Hotel. Highly recommended. I will certainly visit again and again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shrewsbury, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2013

A traditional pub steeped in history and ghostly tales,the warmth and welcome enhanced by Fiona and Geoff's hospitality. Traditional 16th century interior warmed by wood burning fires and a welcome from locals willing to share their tales.
Bedrooms were large and spaces with modern en suite shower and toilet facilities with every requirement. Freshly cooked home made delicious range of dishes to choose from , the ' Full English Breakfast' is a a must have and highly recommended to set you up for a day of exploring or work.
Our 3 nights came and went so quickly, hope we will be visiting again soon when we know there will be a warm welcome from Fiona and Geoff.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Judy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
South West England
Level Contributor
22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 February 2013

We had a night at The White Bear in January. Warm welcome from Fiona and cosy room with a snuggly duvet and brand new shower room too. All immaculatly clean.
We'd had an icy walk down by the locks in the morning and were keen to have a wander around town.
Back down in the wood panelled bar Fiona's husband (sorry can't remember your name!) was happy to tell us other pubs to go to; which were freehouses and what types of beer they would have on. We had a a pint with him and then went to explore the town.
We arrived back several hours later and had a chat to our hosts over a couple more beers and then headed up to bed - I did try and access the stairs via the food cupboard, easy mistake to make! - We slept well with the thick curtains keeping out all light and then made our way down for breakfast. We'd arranged times the night before and Fiona was happy to cook for us at ten which was great. Full fry-up for my other half and veggie option for me. Served with fresh coffee and toast with Fiona's delicious homemade marmalade.
Lovely spot to spend the night, thank you.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Indigo16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 February 2013

We had an excellent meal here on a Saturday lunchtime. The food was wonderful hearty, wholesome, homemade fare. I had the dish of the day, very tasty beef and vegetable stew with crusty bread that was delicious and incredibly good value. Well kept beer. Lovely welcome made of our young son by the landlord and atmosphere in general homely and warm. Strongly recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minster, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 September 2012

The White Bear in Devizes is well worth the visit. The new owners only took over 6 months ago and have brought this hotel/pub up to a good standard already from what it was before. There was a big refurbishment taking place when we stayed but didn't interfere with us really. The rooms on the first floor will be en suite but the rooms (2) on the top floor will still have to share a bathroom. Normally we wouldn't want to share but it was fine.

It is the oldest pub in Devizes so consequently has a lot of history behind it, which the landlord was more than happy to talk about, adding his own experiences into it. It is reported to be haunted so if you like that sort of thing.............but I must admit the whole feeling of the place was friendly and we didn't experience anything.

We were looked after admirably, they catered for all our needs and the breakfast was superb. At the moment they only do breakfast (for guests) and lunch, but will on request cook an evening meal for you. It won't be too long though before dinner will be served to all clientele of the pub!

Well worth a visit, and the location is superb too, right in the town and handy for any adventures like Avebury stones etc.

Room Tip: If you want a slightly more economical room ask for one of them in the top of the hotel, with a shar...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2012

My friends and I stayed there for a night in June and were really impressed by the new landlady. Whilst the accommodation is by her own admission a bit tired, her warmth and welcome more than made up for it, as did the very reasonable price! And breakfast too - we couldn't have wanted for more and were delighted with it.

The atmosphere is of a calm and comfy inn and the rooms are perfectly comfortable. There are plans for them to be updated and once this is done, I guarantee this will be one of Devizes' most popular places to stay. I for one, will definitely be going back.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CA115
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devizes hotels
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 276 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 83 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pelican Inn
The Pelican Inn
#11 of 22 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bear

Property: The White Bear
Address: Monday Market Street, Devizes SN10 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The White Bear Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing