We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B, lovely room, friendly place!”
Review of The White Bear

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The White Bear
Ranked #9 of 20 Devizes B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great B&B, lovely room, friendly place!”
Reviewed 31 January 2014

We stayed here when in Devizes for dinner, and had room 5 (double en suite) - a lovely room, newly refurbished and brilliant for the money! The room had everything we needed, and my only complaint was it was baking hot in the morning (my fault, they did tell me how to turn the heat down :-). I'd definitely stay here again if needed. Oh, and no sign of any ghosts!

Room Tip: Room 5 was lovely! I could also peek out of the loo window to check my car was OK - free parking af...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dave M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    54
    28
    3
    2
    4
See reviews for
17
45
8
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (17)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Finger Lakes
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2013

We stayed two nights in the White Bear in July and had an absolutely lovely stay. Our room was cozy and comfortable (even during an unusual heat wave!), breakfasts were perfectly prepared and very generous, and the beer was great! Fiona and Geoff made us feel right at home. When we come back to Devizes—and we will—this is where we'll stay.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tracy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
swindon
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 November 2013

Both my husband and myself have visited this pub on several occasions including with friends and family, we have always been pleased with the food on the menu including the specials from the board, The drinks are quite reasonable too, very friendly staff including ghost!! Some very good stories about these from the publican! Will be going back again soon!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank carokay842
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 August 2013

We stayed at the White Bear for 2 nights on our way to London. The rooms in this pub have been redone and our room, which accommodated 2 adults and 2 kids was more than adequate, had plenty of light and a beautiful new bathroom. We were very comfortable and enjoyed a delicious breakfast cooked by Fiona every morning. This is the experience of a true English pub that we wanted our kids to experience and they really enjoyed themselves. Would highly recommend. Thanks Fiona and Geoff. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Stephaniej70
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2013

A lovely place to stay with delightfull home made traditional english food! Nice beer selection and cozy athmosphere, it made me feel like at home. And because I'm from Bulgaria, one of the evening we got a traditional dish from my country!

Thank you Fiona, thank you Geoff!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ssvett
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 10 June 2013

After a long morning of driving, we chose this quaint little pub to have lunch.
We were welcomed by a friendly woman, who we later found out was the recent owner.
Travelling from Australia, my husband was not familiar with the different beers. He was most generously offered a few samples before deciding on one to purchase.
The food was delicious and arrived quickly. The kitchen was also able to cater for the fussy tastes of some of my family.
The owners knowledge of the local area was much appreciated. She gave us directions to some of the local sights which we may have missed, except for her information.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kerrie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 March 2013

Often call in here on my way around Devizes. Great little pub, lovely staff and great beer. Very central to town centre, opposite the Castle Hotel. Highly recommended. I will certainly visit again and again!

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Devizes hotels
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
0.2 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
296 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
77 reviews
0.8 mi away
Travelodge Devizes Hotel
4.6 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
113 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The White Bear? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The White Bear

Property: The White Bear
Address: Monday Market Street, Devizes SN10 1DN, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 20 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
The White Bear Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing