We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My regular”
Review of The Well

The Well
Ranked #11 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Romantic, Bar Scene, Kids, Special Occasion Dining, Child-friendly, Business meetings, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, After-hours, Dinner, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Melksham
Level Contributor
69 reviews
55 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“My regular”
Reviewed 30 August 2013

We have been going to the Well for a few years now and we all ways enjoy it.
Tim and Sam + staff do a great job of making you feel very welcome to their country village pub.
Every meal we have had at the Well has always been very good as it is freshly prepared to order with mainly sourced local ingredients.
The Well Burger is a firm favourite of mine though as it really hits the spot!
I have just returned from a trip to the states and could not get one to match the quality and taste of the Well's.
The specials are normally very tempting and change regularly and they do curry nights etc
Good selection of beers on tap and the Landlord even has one named after him, how cool is that!
I look forward to my next visit to the Well....Tonight maybe!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Johnnie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    53
    18
    9
    12
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Truro, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“disappointing”
Reviewed 22 August 2013

The friends we went with had been before, for lunch, and been impressed, but all four of us were unimpressed by our experience in the evening; the mezze starter was good, the two rib-eye steaks were flavourless, though well-cooked (?maybe change the supplier?). The steak pie was very large, but uninteresting, not attractively served, and on a dauntingly large plate. The risotto was full of nice veg - but could have done with more parmesan.
Three pints of beer were ordered, and all were "tired" - my husband left some of his second pint which is unheard-of!!
When the table was cleared after our main course, no comments were made/ questions asked about the amount of food left unconsumed - was no-one interested or concerned?

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Rita W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Always brilliant”
Reviewed 15 August 2013

One of my regular eating haunts. Wonderful friendly service. Lovely menu. Whatever you decide to choose from the menu will be fantastically presented and just a joy to eat.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DoggyDebs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
23 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Lovely food but noisy environment”
Reviewed 7 August 2013

We dined with friends very recently on a Saturday evening and we started with the Ciabattas which were very tasty and very good value for money. The main courses consisted of roast pork belly, beef steak, chicken supreme (from the specials board) and the pan fried cod fillet (again from the specials board). The first three meals were delicious and our guests were suitably impressed. My cod fillet was very reasonable but perhaps not to the same standard in terms of portion size and flavour. The desserts (Creme Brulee and Banoffi Pie) were excellent.

The service was excellent in all respects.

The downside was the noisy environment, exacerbated by noisy children and babies; a quieter ambiance after 8.30pm on a Saturday night would not be unreasonable to expect but these problems persisted well beyond 9.00pm. It would appear that the management were aware of the noise and disturbed by it, but they were unable to remedy the situation.

Overall we would recommend this restaurant for food quality and service but the noise levels militated against a restful and enjoyable evening. It may well be that this was a one off situation although several of the guests were a little raucous themselves. We would go back to this restaurant based upon the quality of the food and just hope that the noise disturbance was one of those isolated things.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Blu32_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha T, Owner at The Well, responded to this review, 8 August 2013
Firstly I would like to say thank you for your kind comments. And for choosing the well , . I have to apologise for the noise unfortunately there was nothing we could do about the noise as there was a party of twenty with children and yes they were making a lot of noise . And normally after 730 there are no children allowed as it is adult time and you don't want to hear children when you are out in the evenings Having a nice meal . So this was a one off . So hopefully see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Very Disappointing !”
Reviewed 4 August 2013

My father inlaw booked The 'Well' for a large birthday party meal. After being pointed to our tables, we assumed we would recieve full table service, however most of us had to go to the bar for our drinks. An option to pre-order our food was only given a day before, this was not enough time to get everyone's choice in so after sitting down for 15mins our main food orders were taken. After nearly an hours wait our food arrived. We wondered why other tables that was sat down after us were given there starters,mains,desserts and had even left before ours was served. Our party included children that got restless as a result of such a long time it taking. Desserts took another 45mins to arrive. The food on average was good, however the next day two of our party fell ill. Overall experience was very disappointing for such a lovely place.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank staceylouisexx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Samantha T, Owner at The Well, responded to this review, 6 August 2013
First of all I would like to say I am glad you enjoyed your food. But I have to disagree with your comments. Upon arrival I was asked if it was possible for everyone to have separate bar tabs , and separate bills for their meals. Which was not a problem, as all of the men were at the bar and they did not seem as though it was a problem at the time they all seemed happy . If it was an issue you could have asked and I would have came over to the table. As for the comment on the wait for your meal you all came in at different times, but once you were all sat down your order was taken . As you should appreciate not one of you table had any starters so therefore you would have to wait 35 minutes as its not microwaved food it's cooked to order, so when other customers arrived and had starters, they are going to be served before you as your party only had mains, so that comment was very unfair. If you had a problem with how long will it take you should have asked for the children's food to come out first, but nothing was mentioned, and to add the comment about two of the party being ill , that could not have been the food as everything is fresh to order. Also I spoke to a member of your family and he said every thing was lovely and had no idea that a comment was being written. Mrs Taylor owner of the Well
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Well also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Well? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing