We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Southdown B & B”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays
Ranked #7 of 22 Devizes B&B and Inns
GreenLeadersSilver level
hobart, australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Southdown B & B”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2012

Sue and Martin are the perfect b & b hosts, a lovely couple. I wanted to do a tour of the Savernake Forest, they arranged this for me and even took me there in their car and came along too, it was a wonderful experience and a lot of fun, Martin gave me an informative narrative on the drive pointing out white horses, barrows, etc etc, thanks Martin. I slept like a top in a wonderfully clean, comfortable bed and woke refreshed with the song of the birds coming through the window. I really couldn't recommend Southdown highly enough and I will return one day. Am now back in Tassie Sue and Martin. Happy Christmas :0)

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank susan f
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseWalker, Owner at Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays, responded to this review, 12 December 2012
Hi Sue, thank you for your review and good to know you're home safely after all your travels.
You might like to know you feature in one of our little slideshows, photos I took when on the Savernake walk. You can see it here: http://www.whitehorsewalking.co.uk/wiltshirewalks.htm
Merry Christmas to you too.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    80
    4
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
9
29
16
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 November 2012

Arriving at south down b&b we were given a warm welcome and shown to our rooms that were spotless and comfortable. The break fast was brilliant with local honey and eggs and a huge selection of cereals and preserves. A very comfortable stay and really enjoyed the "poultry" jokes.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseWalker, Owner at Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thanks for taking the time to review us, especially considering it was such a short stay. I'd love to reply in poultry/egg speak but it just wouldn't be as good as you're remembering!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2012

Wiltshire is one those gems that most people would not first think of as a holiday or week end break. Devizes for us was a good centre from which we could visit Bath, Laycock Avebury and a little gem belonging to the National Trust.
Our trip was made perfect by our choice of B&b. It was one of the best we have stayed at. The service was supurb and the advice where to eat out and where to park in Bath was priceless. The food and cleanlines was faultless.
Will we stay there again? you bet!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Alan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseWalker, Owner at Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely review, glad we could help with our recommendations. I think the 'little gem' may have been Courts Garden?
We look forward to welcoming you again sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2012

I enjoyed my stay very much. The hosts are very sincere in their welcoming you in the house. The Room cannot be faulted and the food is superb. I truly recommend it for your vacation. The animals who visit the garden can be fun to watch, when I was there a deer visited.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mytropicalheaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseWalker, Owner at Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays, responded to this review, 8 December 2012
Thank you for your lovely review. We're glad you had such a good time and it's always good to hear that a guest appreciates the efforts of the local wildlife too, even if they do eat what they shouldn't!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 August 2012

Had a lovely one night stay at this excellent B&B which we found purely by chance when we got to Devizes. Sue and Martyn were very welcoming, offering us a pot of tea as soon as we arrrived which we sat and enjoyed in their lovely garden. The room and facilites were spotless and the breakfast menu was a treat, Sue does a special dish each morning. This B&B is an ideal place to stay as a base for the many walks in the area.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jentt_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseWalker, Owner at Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays, responded to this review, 15 August 2012
Thank you for taking the time to review us. We're delighted you enjoyed your visit to this area, and to Southdown. Hopefully you will be able to spend longer there next time. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bakewell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 August 2012

Sue and Martyn were very welcoming. I enjoyed an excellent room and visitors lounge with great range of walking guides and other books. Excellent breakfast. Offered a range of special breakfasts but chose the full English which was also great.

Stayed July 2012, travelled solo
Helpful?
1 Thank Joseph W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WhiteHorseWalker, Owner at Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays, responded to this review, 3 August 2012
Thank you for your kind words, Joseph. Good to hear you set off on the next leg of your walk with a good breakfast inside you. :-) We hope you enjoyed the rest of the walk and hope to see you again sometime for another walk in the area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 July 2012

Had a lovely two night stop at this delightful B&B. We were visiting due to a pre- organised walk in the area and arrived quite late but Sue and Martyn were most hospitable. The room and facilities were lovely and we couldn't make the first mornings breakfast due to an early start for our walk but Sue kindly put us up packed lunches as an alternative which were delicious. On the Sunday morning we enjoyed a tasty breakfast and enjoyed a chat with our hosts about the area and look forward to visiting again. We can really recommend this B&B and will certainly be visiting again if we are down that way.

Joy and Colin.

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank coljoylane l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
, Owner at Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays, responded to this review, 10 July 2012
Glad you enjoyed your visit and we were really impressed with how cheerful you were, despite traipsing through thick mud and driving rain for 20 miles! You've almost tempted me to have a go at Avebury Rocks charity walk if they do it again next year. :-)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
1.1 mi away
The Castle Hotel
The Castle Hotel
#3 of 5 in Devizes
4.0 of 5 bubbles 226 reviews
7.1 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
2.3 mi away
Vine Cottage B&B
Vine Cottage B&B
#2 of 3 in Rowde
5.0 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
2.2 mi away
George and Dragon
George and Dragon
#6 of 22 in Devizes
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays

Property: Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays
Address: Folly Road | Roundway Village, Devizes SN10 2HT, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 22 B&Bs / Inns in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Southdown is a 4 star Silver rated B&B in a rural location on the edge of the North Wessex Downs AONB. A short walk from the Devizes Millennium White Horse and a mile from Devizes and Kennet & Avon Canal by footpath or road. Guest lounge, large garden. Walking holidays a speciality - maps and walking books to borrow. On the White Horse Trail, Wessex Ridgeway & Mid-Wilts Way. Packed lunches by prior arrangement.Trip Advisor Green Leaders Silver Award, Breakfast awards from Visit Britain/Enjoy England and Visit Wiltshire, Walkers & Cyclists Welcome awards. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Southdown B&B / White Horse Walking Holidays Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing