We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good but expensive!”

The George and Dragon
Ranked #10 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$16 - US$42
Cuisines: Seafood, Contemporary, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Our restaurant specialises in seafood delivered daily from St Mawes, in Cornwall. A full- la- carte menu offering meat and game dishes using locally sourced produce is also available in the restaurant and bar. The George & Dragon offers award winning food and is complimented in many food guides. It has been awarded 2 AA rosettes & an Egon Ronay Star.
Wiltshire UK
Level 6 Contributor
135 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Good but expensive!”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

The food at this pub restaurant is better than most BUT is it worth the money? I guess the question is how much you like better than average food and how much money you have. There are plenty of mains in excess of £20 but the annoying thing is that you then have to pay extra for the vegetables. As this annoys most people why do kitchens do this - its for the money. The service was attentive but not overly with very pleasant staff. As I said the food quality is high and would I go back, well yes probably.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eisak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    89
    65
    26
    10
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Abergavenny, Wales
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great food & service”
Reviewed 15 July 2014

Initial impressions on drawing up outside were not good, the building looked very tired & in desperate need of some TLC but once inside all my fears were washed away.
Fantastic greeting & pleasant, efficient service from the minute we entered
Great food with some interesting choices & excellent value for money
Thank you for a lovely evening!

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Allison J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
“Pleasant meal”
Reviewed 1 July 2014

We were lucky with a quiet Saturday night!. Food and service was good, if food a little on the expensive side. The outside of the building could do with a coat of paint.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank acterhaar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
93 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Pricey but great food.”
Reviewed 15 June 2014

I took my wife to the George and Dragon for a rare child free evening and had a very nice meal. The food is a little on the expensive side for a Wiltshire restaurant and the portions a tad on the small side. However the food is of exceptional quality, the fish platter I had as a starter was quite superb.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Titanic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Frocester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Meeting point for Sunday lunch”
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We chose the George and Dragon to meet friends, it fitted the requirement of being dog friendly and quite near water (Kennet and Avon canal). We were made welcome with an offer of water for us and the dogs! The lunch was excellent, the staff were very attentive. The Moules marinière were excellent, my husband had Sunday lunch which was very good. Beef cooked beautifully tender! Definitely visit again.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The George and Dragon also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The George and Dragon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing