We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a Weatherspoon!”
Review of The Silk Mercer

The Silk Mercer
Ranked #30 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: 01380 736760
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“It's a Weatherspoon!”
Reviewed 11 April 2014

Standard fare and cheap food and drinks. Impressed with the knowledge of the manager on how to serve Kendrick Gin.
The place serves a purpose and with its mixed clientele and cheap drinks can be boisterous but you should, by now, what you are going to get.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Russ W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

219 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    82
    43
    22
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bath, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Friendly staff”
Reviewed 28 March 2014

It's a nice pub with friendly staff, but even with loads of extra seating. It's very busy even on a weekday. The food is average wetherspoons food, but it ranges of whether your get this 10 mins after you order, or have to wait an hour, without an apology when I complained.

The locals are friendly too.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Stonehengetom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Stroud, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
172 reviews
84 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
“Great value”
Reviewed 20 March 2014

Nice large restaurant, being a Weatherspoons the drinks are very good and very reasonably priced. The food selection was the standard fare, but it was hot and tasty.
The only drawback to our enjoyable light lunch was ordering it: when oh when are places like this going to put more staff on the bar? When we called in at about 1pm, there was one girl doing all the ordering at the bar i.e. she was taking meal orders, pulling and pouring the drinks, taking payments and everything else. She was great, a fantastic asset to the place, but two members of staff taking orders and pulling drinks would make a lot of sense and stop crusty old gits like me moaning about having to stand around in a queue for ages.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sovmix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pub M, Manager at The Silk Mercer, responded to this review, 22 March 2014
Thankyou for your feedback! It is always greatly appreciated!

Over the last few months I have been looking at getting more staff behind the bar, as having to wait always frustrates me personally!!

I have definitely taken your comments on board, and hopefully by your next visit you should see an improvement!

Thank you again!

Sam
Pub Manager
Silk Mercer, Devizes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good breakfast”
Reviewed 14 March 2014 via mobile

Had breakfast this morning and left happy and satisfied. It was busy and the food was good value for money. Congratulations to the cook

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 6 Contributor
416 reviews
271 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 446 helpful votes
“Ok place - good service”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

We stopped here after our walk along the Caen Hill locks for a drink. Good fast service, friendly staff and altogether nice place

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Mohawk1946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Silk Mercer also viewed

 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Melksham, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Silk Mercer? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing