We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“UNFRIENDLY AND RUDE”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Three Magpies

Three Magpies
Ranked #20 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Cheap Eats, Child-friendly, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Drinks, Brunch, After-hours, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Westbury,wiltshire
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“UNFRIENDLY AND RUDE”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 June 2014

Visited the three Magpies last Thursday with my partner on way home from Calne, see the pub quite frequently so decided to give it a try, never again!!!, walked up to the Bar and was met by a groan and ' I hope you don't want a meal! ordered a pint and coffee and was told we could have a pint but, would have to wait a very long time for a coffee! everyone was running around and they were far to busy to get me a coffee.( I don't drink alcohol) As the pint had already arrived I had to sit and watch my partner drink it!

Wouldn't have minded so much if the barman hadn't then gone to chat with one of the locals, actually, I am pretty local as I live in Westbury but, wanted to check out the food and drink

Won't be bothering again! will stick to the three daggers!! was made to feel unwelcome and guilty for trying to give the pub my business, disgraceful attitude, will find somewhere else to spend my money and, take my family friends and work colleagues!!

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank janet m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

261 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    82
    106
    29
    25
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Thursday Night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Whilst driving past the Three Magpies last Thursday evening about 8pm we called in to see what it was like after hearing some good remarks. The pub was very busy with people eating meals but there was only one person behind the bar and he wasn't that pushed. So we decided to have a pint and a coffee. The beer was no problem but asking for a coffee was like asking him for the earth. He informed us that it because the waiting staff 'were run off their feet' we would have a long, long wait.

Our suggestion to the publican is that he train his barman in the art of making coffee. The coffee machine being at the end of the bar! Apart from pleasing customers who just want a drink it would help the waitresses somewhat by lightening their load.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank David W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Busy for good reason”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Stayed at the neighbouring C&CC campsite - came down for an evening meal. They were very busy, but they put our names down to wait for a table whilst we enjoyed a very nice pint & merlot. We ordered steaks, which came with excellent sauces. Steaks were cooked beautifully and had really great flavour. The staff, though obviously busy, were all friendly and helpful - a really excellent meal.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jgrange90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great beer”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 May 2014 via mobile

Wadworth pub great beer 1/4 from the canal bridge 150 24 hour moorings available by bridge there is also a campsite nearby

Helpful?
Thank Portdan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
34 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Friendly local pub”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Good pub grub, clearly marked where homemade. We had lasagne and scampi and shared a dessert, all the food was very nice and good portion sizes. Very friendly and helpful staff.
We ate inside but the pub has a good sized garden.
Pub is close to the caravan park and a couple of minutes walk from the canal at Sells Green.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mutley3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Three Magpies also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to Three Magpies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing