We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Food”
Review of Upstairs at Jacks

Upstairs at Jacks
Ranked #15 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$10
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Located in the the Market Place, Upstairs at Jacks offers a unique dining experience in Devizes, with views over the Market place, sit and relax over a coffee and breakfast of a morning or visit for a light lunch. Upstairs also transforms into a Tapas bar, Tuesdays through to Saturday.
Sunbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Food”
Reviewed 31 October 2013

Tapas dinner at Jack Spratts was very good. Good choice of dishes especially for vegetarians. Service was excellent.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank SVS20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

134 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    33
    5
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely Evening!”
Reviewed 29 October 2013

Five of us set up camp on Saturday evening, was lovely to find a Tapas bar in Devizes, the food was great and all had a lovely evening. We sat by the window and would recommend this as it is nice to look out over the market place, Devizes looks so different at night with all the lights on. Will be going back and would recommend a vist here.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Bunnie30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Cosy with good food and excellent service”
Reviewed 8 October 2013

My husband and I have eaten here for both lunchtime and evening meal. I would definitely recommend both!

I would advise booking for the evening and seeing if you can request a window table:-)

The service has always been exceptional. Only one time they let us down, we complained, we had free coffee, they recognised us the next time we went in and they have made an extra effort for us since.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank DevLss
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Lovely lunch!!”
Reviewed 14 September 2013

Lovely lunch today at Jack Spratt's Devizes. Have visited several times and the food and service always excellent - certainly worth a visit!!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Gwenda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“And it has a great view!”
Reviewed 5 July 2013

Jack's Upstairs has become a favourite haunt of ours. The staff are lovely, the coffee(Illy's) is great, the daytime food straight-forward and yummy - try the croissants and the cakes! - and the view across the Market Place is a delight, especially on Market Days.

I've only tried their Tapas Evenings once.(Thurs, Fri and Sat only) It was great fun and delicious food. Haven't made it back yet, but I will soon. Have to say it is a group thing: you would have a job getting through all the wonderful tapas on your own, or even with a companion; several people can order the lot and try them all!

But it really is worth the effort of climbing the rather steep stairs for the view alone! They present a slight drawback for less able customers, and sadly, put it out of bounds for wheelchair users, but the building is the constraint there.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank garlandWiltshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Upstairs at Jacks also viewed

 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to Upstairs at Jacks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing