We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely cottage in a quiet lane”
other travellers have booked this property
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Large Dining Room
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
52 reviews
Large Garden with patio furniture and BBQ
Large Dining Room
Well equipped, spacious kitchen.
Beautiful countryside walks
Living Room: comfortable 3 piece suite with plenty of room for the sofa bed.
Children's books, toys and DVDs
Substantial brick built home
Ample off street parking
The famous Caen Hill flight of locks on the Kennet and Avon canal - only 5 minutes away.
Bedroom 1
Bedroom 2 with large walk-in wardrobe
Bedroom 3
Bathroom 1
Bathroom 2 with full sized steel bath.
Relax with a glass of your favourite drink on the sunny patio
Fully equipped with everything you might need.
Halogen induction hob.
The impressive Tudor Porch House on Potterne High Street  (1 minute away)
Potterne Saxon Church
Traditional, thatched George and Dragon - Old English pub, 2 mins from cottage, serving great food
Wonderful ...
... Wiltshire ...
.... Walks
The Kennet and Avon Canal
The Old Market town of Devizes (home of the great Wadworth real ale brewery). Only 5 minutes away.
Devizes town centre
Devizes Market Square
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 52 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Spanish first
Any
English first
Almaach
London
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in a quiet lane”
Reviewed 4 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

Cheyne Cottage is a lovely cottage and a great base for exploring Wiltshire and getting to Stonehenge and Avebury. Had a great weekend staying there with friends; has a lovely patio in the well kept garden, with table for sitting out in the sunshine and also loads of space inside.
The owner Bruce was very welcoming and even brought us a yummy homemade cake.
Will be booking for next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
13 Feb 2018
Thank you for your lovely review.
You were perfect guests too.
It would be a pleasure to welcome you again next time you're in the UK.
Best wishes, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Juliet S
1 review
“Lovely cottage in beautiful part of England”
Reviewed 1 January 2018 for a stay in December 2017

Six of us stayed in Cheyne Cottage while visiting family in Potterne -- it was the perfect accommodation in a lovely location. Bruce (owner) was very responsive, cheerful, always available if we needed him, and even left some wine and home-baked cake for us to enjoy. The house was comfortable, warm, well equipped, and nicely furnished. We were able to cook a big meal and host a good-size crowd for dinner. It was winter so we didn't use the outdoor area, but it looked like it would be great in warm weather. The cottage is a 3 minute walk from a pub that serves yummy food, and just a few minutes drive from Devizes, a lovely market town with everything you might need or want. If the six of us are in the area again and we need a place to stay, we would definitely go back to Cheyne Cottage!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Jan 2018
Tracy, you and your team were lovely guests and you looked after Cheyne Cottage beautifully :-)
We do hope you will come back and stay again soon.
Best wishes and Happy New Year, Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
31 Dec 2017
Thank you for your lovely review. You were a pleasure to host and very easy to communicate with. Thank you for looking after Cheyne Cottage so well. Hope you come again :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
melsHOL
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great time”
Reviewed 3 July 2017 for a stay in July 2017

We stayed at Cheyne cottage in June for my mum and dads ruby wedding anniversary. It was a lovely cottage and we were welcomed by Bruce the owner. A lovely welcome received with a home made cake and bottle of wine. Bruve was also on hand when we managed to lock ourselves out and he came to the rescue. Perfect base for Longleat safari park only about half hour drive away. Will defo book again! Plenty of space for 6 adults and my 2 year old Nephew who kept saying 'i love your holiday home aunti Mel'.
The weather was lovely si we enjoyed spending time in the garden.
We also visited the pub which is literally 2 mins walk away where we had a lovely meal and the owners were really friendly. Great time had by all. Thanks Bruce. Memories made.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Nov 2017
Mel, Michelle and family,
Thank you for your lovely review. You were a pleasure to host and it was great how much you enjoyed Cheyne Cottage and the wonders of Wiltshire. You would be very welcome if you were to come and stay again.
Best wishes,
Bruce
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
randmwelf...
Bracknell, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Perfect village location.”
Reviewed 6 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We were met at the cottage by Bruce with a welcome pack of a bottle of wine,homemade Victoria Sponge and flowers on the table and information of local attractions.Which included the local walks around the village,The canal boat ride in Devizes which was great fun.A must thing to see are the Caine Locks are amazing,and Lacock Village and Abbey which is National Trust and used in one of the Harry Potter films.Potterne is a lovely place,the locals are very nice and stop to chat when they passing by.The village pub The George and the Dragon serve excellent home cooked food and nothing is to much trouble,the staff were wonderfull,puddings are so good and large portions and a bonus 2minutes walk from the cottage.will visit again.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Jun 2017
Dear Maureen, you were a delightful family to host. We were pleased you enjoyed Cheyne Cottage so much and you made very good use of your time - visiting some of the nearby wonderful attractions. We look forward to welcoming you again.
Best wishes, Bruce and Sheila x
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DeeT280
1 review
“Cheyne Cottage”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

Thank you Bruce for allowing me and my family to stay at your cottage. It was warm, comfortable and spacious. It is ideally situated right next to Devizes, Trowbridge and Melksham. Very picturesque scenery near by. I would recommend this cottage to anybody.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Feb 2017
Dee, you and your family were GREAT.
Thank you for leaving everything spotless in Cheyne Cottage.
When you return to Wiltshire you would be very welcome to stay again :-))
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing