We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Monday pie and pint night” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fox and Hounds

Fox and Hounds
Ranked #19 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, Romantic, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Marlborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Monday pie and pint night”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 July 2014 via mobile

Only £10, fantastic chicken and bacon pie, homemade chunky chips and a salad with a pint. Great value lovely pub great staff never been disappointed there. Will probably go again next Monday smashing.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

97 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    52
    29
    8
    6
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
wiltshire
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“meal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014

We went to the Fox and Hounds for an evening meal, the staff were friendly and the food was delicious the only one problem and it was a big problem for us they had no wheelchair access for the toilets. My Mum who is in a wheelchair and is ill found this an awful experience. As much as we enjoyed our visit we won't be going again.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank rainbow024
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Fab food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 July 2014

We came here a few years back and weren't impressed but a few months ago we were running late for a bite to eat so we called in to the Fox and Hounds not expecting much. How things have changed. The decor & service was much improved but it was the quality of the food that impressed. So much better than your average pub grub. My steak was divine and my wife's fish pie was real melt in the mouth material.

We had a repeat visit a few weeks later and have subsequently taken friends there for a meal. Each time the food and the service couldn't be faulted.

Looking forward to our next visit....

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank MrAux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krabi Town, Thailand
Level Contributor
14 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Great home style pub grub”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 July 2014 via mobile

First visit, and won't be the last. The menu has all the usual favorites, including steaks, pies etc., but I have to say that the 5 star review comes from the real home cooked touch (e.g. Steak and Stilton pie, to the crispy chunky chips!)
Wasn't busy when we arrived, and was almost too quiet (no background music at all), but all clean and well kept dining area.
Well done chef, keep up the good work and ensure you fight to keep your quality / consistency.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Frosty999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
345 reviews
155 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 191 helpful votes
“Good location - Nice Sunday Lunch”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

The menu was limited for a Sunday but that's to be expected - so only go on a Sunday if you fancy a nice roast lunch! The location was convenient as we met folks from Bristol so didn't want the parking issues in Devizes. Cosy pub (we thought it would be very nice in Winter) with attentive staff and a hearty lunch - fresh vegetables and extra gravy. Puddings were good old-fashioned types with extra custard so the inner man was fulfilled...

The garden at the front can be noisy (road) but the courtyard at the back looked quieter.

Definitely great for a rendezvous - we stayed there over 3 hours.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank IanandGilly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Fox and Hounds also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to Fox and Hounds? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing