We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Make a little diversion to this hotel/restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Castle Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Castle Hotel
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Make a little diversion to this hotel/restaurant”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 January 2014 via mobile

The Castle Hotel is on New Park Street, Devizes, which is not at the heart of the Market Place driven town. However in less than 5 minutes you are in a traditional coaching inn with a good sized bar with a comfy seating area. There is also a seperate restaurant with 50 plus covers. The staff are all very friendly and the kitchen serves up a good range of traditional lunches and dinners, sometimes with a twist! A great place for a business meeting or a family get together. The room I stayed in wash very clean and comfortable, the one drawback being it overlooked the first floor patio area - could be a bit of a shock for the unsuspecting. With 3 or 4 of the staff playing for the Devizes Rugby team there is a good atmosphere guaranteed whilst being smart enough for your aged granny's birthday bash.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Crocodile123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 25 January 2014
Dear Crocodile

Thanks for visiting the Castle Hotel and for taking time to leave such a positive review. I'm delighted that you enjoyed your stay and had a nice meal.

I'll pass your kind words onto the staff. We certainly hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards

Gary Morse
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

226 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    72
    35
    14
    5
See reviews for
44
72
7
51
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2014

Overall very good, usual bar food- but big portions, perfect ! better than measley overpriced nouveau cuisine places. Great breakfast- plenty of choice.
Good rooms, well appointed.
Recommended as character and comfy.

Room Tip: recommended for location to town, space for eating and knowledge from staff. Good price to !
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 749mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mark

Thanks for staying with us at the castle hotel and thanks for your lovely review.

I'm really pleased that you had a great stay with us.

We look forward to seeing you again.

Kind Regards

Gary Morse
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 January 2014 via mobile

We were here for work 'do' on 20th December 2013 and stayed the night so we could both enjoy a drink. On arrival at reception there was a very friendly welcome, despite the fact it was busy. We found our room to be very comfortable, with all the quirkiness you would expect from such an old building. All was clean and we had no complaints at all.
The buffet provided for the evening was more than ample with a mixture of hot and cold food which was replenished at regular intervals. I have been a food hygiene trainer and can be very picky about food being left out for too long but I had no cause for concern here as they were really good at food safety.
There was a very good disco and the room had been beautifully decorated for us.
Breakfast was perfect. The general manager was the perfect host, greeted us with a smile and made us feel that nothing was too much trouble. I want to know how to get my poached eggs to come out so well!
Overall - 10/10

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Sue R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Sue,

Thank you very much for your fantastic review. I'm delighted that you had such a great time at your Christmas party and we helped make your special occasion such fun.

Thank you also for the very kind words about John our General Manager, we're very proud of the great work that he does in making every customer so welcome. I'll pass on your great feedback.
Thanks again.

We hope to see you again soon.

Cheers!

Gary
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rothbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

My wife and I were staying at the Castle Hotel while attending the opening of the new Prehistoric Wiltshire Galleries at the Devizes Museum. The staff were welcoming and helpful and the room very comfortable and pleasant. The off road parking was a bonus as I had the car full of replica pots for the new Stonehenge Visitor Centre. The food in the bar was excellent as were the breakfasts. Helpful touches like readily available ironing boards and WI-FI that actually worked made the stay even more pleasant. Wholeheartedly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Graham T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Graham

Thank you so much for your resounding recommendation of the hotel.

I'm so pleased that you had such a great stay and enjoyed the warm welcome.

We certainly hope to see you again.

Best Regards

Gary Morse
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Redditch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 December 2013 via mobile

We stayed at this hotel whilst visiting friends and relations. Friendly staff, good service, excellent location. Real value for money with a hearty English breakfast to start the day. This is our second visit and we will definetly be returning.

Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Mikeyworcs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Mikey

Thanks for returning to the Castle hotel and thanks for such a fantastic review.

I'm delighted that you have been so impressed with our hotel and look forward to seeing you again so.

Kind Regards

GaryMorse
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
210 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 December 2013 via mobile

It is good to meet a landlord who is passionate about customer service. He was very attentive and catered for our every need.

This is a lovely 15th century hotel with quirky uneven floors in the rooms. The rooms have matching furniture and well laid out bathrooms with plenty of space.

Ear plugs are supplied because of the church bells, but not a problem.

We stayed the night after our work Christmas party which the hotel hosted really well, I recommend using this venue again.

Downside? Only one, no dance floor, just carpet, but hey I took my shoes off.

Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank Kaz B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 24 December 2013
Dear Kaz

Thanks for staying at the Castle, I'm glad you had such a great time at your Christmas party. Thanks so much for leaving such a lovely review, I've passed your kind words onto John our General Manager.

Have a lovely Christmas and we hope to see you again in the new year.

Cheers!
Gary Morse
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
92 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 December 2013

We stopped in at the The Castle Hotel last year and promised ourselves a return visit. The staff, without exception, were still brilliant. They're were so friendly and told us of lots of place to visit and they were even happy to recommend a local indian restaurant when we decided to eat out. Our room was clean and spacious with a comfy bed but the bathroom was a little small, but perhaps I'm being picky. Devizes is a lovely town to wander around and we even found a couple of hidden gems. Although we were told by a rather angry postman that there is no public access to Devizes Castle itself!! After a cold day out exploring it was lovely to have a Baileys in front of the log fire to thaw out. What a treat and a little bit romantic!! Would definitely recommend the Castle Hotel for a relaxing stay if you ever get down that way.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BeeTeeIQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CathedralHotel, Owner at The Castle Hotel, responded to this review, 20 December 2013
Dear BeeTeeIQ

Thanks so much for such a lovely review. It's great to receive such positive feedback and such a boost for the staff to read your kind words.

I'm delighted that you chose to visit us again and had such a good time in Devizes.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind Regards
Gary Morse
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Devizes
0.1 mi away
The Black Swan
The Black Swan
#5 of 5 in Devizes
3.5 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Bear Hotel Market Place
0.1 mi away
The Peppermill Hotel
The Peppermill Hotel
#2 of 5 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Beechfield House
Beechfield House
#1 of 1 in Beanacre
4.5 of 5 bubbles 676 reviews
4.6 mi away
The Green Dragon
The Green Dragon
#1 of 1 in Market Lavington
4.5 of 5 bubbles 94 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Pelican Inn
The Pelican Inn
#11 of 22 in Devizes
5.0 of 5 bubbles 6 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Castle Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Castle Hotel

Property: The Castle Hotel
Address: New Park Street, Devizes SN10 1DS, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Wiltshire > Devizes
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 5 Hotels in Devizes
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Castle Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Castle Hotel, in the picturesque Wiltshire town of Devizes, is a privately run 18th Century Hotel, situated near the banks of the Kennet and Avon Canal, famous for the flight of 29 locks over the 230 foot Caen Hill. Visitors from all over the world flock to the Kennet and Avon Canal to watch or participate in the famous Devizes to Westminster Canoes Race. The Hotel is, also, a perfect location for cyclists to stop off on their journey to London or Bristol. Other areas of natural beauty and historical interest nearby include: Avebury, Stonehenge and Silbury Hill. The Castle Hotel is just metres away from the historic Wadworth's Brewery offering a number of traditional brewed ales delivered to us by dray horse and cart. (*On Thursday's you will find the dray horse and cart at The Castle Hotel where you are welcome to offer the shire horses a small treat). Devizes is close to many major towns and cities including Bristol, Swindon, Salisbury and Bath, making it an ideal base from which you can explore the surrounding area. The M4 is the nearest motorway, accessible from Hungerford at Junction 18, Chippenham at Junction 17, Swindon at Junction's 15 and 16 or Bath at Junction 14. Major roads include the A4, A303, A342 and the A361. We pride ourselves on offering great service in a relaxed friendly environment, through-out our bar, hotel and restaurant. All our facilities have recently undergone a refurbishment, which has made our bar and restaurant very popular with the locals. The 19 bedroom Hotel which has always been popular with tourist and business guests alike has had lots of additions to update this traditional Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Castle Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Castle Hotel Devizes
The Castle Hotel Devizes, Wiltshire

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing