We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Carvery” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Cross Keys

The Cross Keys
Ranked #27 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups, Child-friendly, Bar Scene, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2014

My first visit to the Cross Keys at Rowde since Steve took over in order to sample their carvery. Value was excellent with a wide choice on the menu. If I had to criticize there were no starters but the carvery was well cooked with a good variety on offer. Meats included Beef, Turkey or Pork with roast and new potatoes plus plenty of vegetables, including colliflower cheese, peas, carrots and too many more to mention. Shannon carved with separate knives which I like and was generous in her portions. The carvery was reasonably priced at £7.95 plus 3.95 for apple pie with ice cream . The waitresses were pleasant and efficient. I enjoyed the meal and will be back in a couple of weeks.
Donald Keighly
Calne

  • Visited April 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

56 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    33
    12
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“All new”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

New Landlord, New Chef.

Just spent a cracking afternoon/evening in the pub watching the rugby.
Finished with a steak and chips done to my liking.
Refurbished restaurant and menu, give it a go!
We were very happy.Great day in a real pub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Excellent all round!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 February 2014

I heard that the pub was recently taken over, so I thought I would give it a try, I had visited the pub a few months ago, and it was not a good experience, the pub was cold, the drinks had run out, it wasn't good. On arrival. I could see instantly of the improvements made. We booked a table for the evening. The service was very good. The atmosphere was very homely and Comfortable. The food was of a high standard in taste and presentation. The Deserts were yummy. Would go again for sure

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Pilot1999
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Poor food even worse service.. Don't use”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2013

Walked to the pub from the bottom of the locks after a few hard hours. The landlord offered some burgers after first saying no food was available. My sons and wife's burgers were either off or not cooked, hard to tell ! Either way, the landlord and his wife refused to accept that the food was bad and didn't even offer any alternative, let alone any money back. That's customer service for you. Keep away.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Mick D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
The Hague, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Good pub food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 August 2013

The evening we went the staffing was a bit chaotic due to staff shortages. Staff were very friendly and food was good.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank HammyHammster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cross Keys also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing