We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Sunday Lunch”
Review of The Cross Keys

The Cross Keys
Ranked #25 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar Scene, Child-friendly, Groups
Dining options: Dinner, Lunch, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Kidderminster
Level Contributor
47 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 16 June 2014

Superb carvery served with a smile. Have never seen so much meat being put on a plate. All hot and very tasty.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Kathleen_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    36
    12
    5
    3
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ramsgate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Ok food average service”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

While staying in the village we visited the Cross Keys for an evening meal / drink. Had to wait to get menus and ordered 3 basic meals , scampi, ham egg and chips & fish cakes. Despite not being that busy on the food front still took nearly forty minutes until it arrived. It seemed from the running around of the owner that not enough staff were around to serve. Food when it did arrive was average . We did not go back again preferring to try other eating establishments in and around Devizes.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dave2707
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great country pub”
Reviewed 24 May 2014

Great pub meals and at reasonable price. Warm fire in the lounge bar, warm welcome and friendly, efficient staff.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Jane A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Calne, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Sunday Carvery”
Reviewed 7 April 2014

My first visit to the Cross Keys at Rowde since Steve took over in order to sample their carvery. Value was excellent with a wide choice on the menu. If I had to criticize there were no starters but the carvery was well cooked with a good variety on offer. Meats included Beef, Turkey or Pork with roast and new potatoes plus plenty of vegetables, including colliflower cheese, peas, carrots and too many more to mention. Shannon carved with separate knives which I like and was generous in her portions. The carvery was reasonably priced at £7.95 plus 3.95 for apple pie with ice cream . The waitresses were pleasant and efficient. I enjoyed the meal and will be back in a couple of weeks.
Donald Keighly
Calne

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Donald K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“All new”
Reviewed 22 February 2014

New Landlord, New Chef.

Just spent a cracking afternoon/evening in the pub watching the rugby.
Finished with a steak and chips done to my liking.
Refurbished restaurant and menu, give it a go!
We were very happy.Great day in a real pub.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Shaun D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Cross Keys also viewed

 
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Cross Keys? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing