We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“What a super, proper pub”
Review of The Raven Inn

The Raven Inn
Ranked #9 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Corsham
Level Contributor
62 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“What a super, proper pub”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

Five of us went to celebrate a special birthday and what a wonderful time we had. The Raven is just what a proper country pub should be in my view - happy locals chatting and joking in the bar (with barrels of 6X and Henry's on stillages behind) and some round tables in a separate area for meals.

We gave the menu a good run for its money and all pronounced our food to be excellent. The prune, stilton and walnut starter got stare rating, while daughter Kate voted her beef fire pot exceptional. I had good old gammon and egg, but the gammon was a proper cut of good meat, not one of those circular discs of nothingness that passes for gammon all too often these days.

The beer was super, the meal great, the company fabulous, the atmosphere friendly and welcoming, the service spot on. Can't fault it and look forward to going back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMoss1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

189 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    130
    41
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
100 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Evening Meal”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

This pub restaurant is situated in the small village of Poulshot, and it obviously has some history. We got a great welcome and the food for four of us was excellent in all respects, I had the pie which was a great treat, loads of taste and very filling. There is a good range of Wadworth's beer and on the evening of our visit the place was busy but at the same time our food arrived quickly. All round a great place and certainly very different in that it has maintained its character whilst providing good service and great food.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Phil S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Sunday lunch ...... Yummy”
Reviewed 15 October 2013

Decided not to eat in on Sunday but go out and ended up at the raven at Poulshot. This is a smallish pub with a restaurant. I suppose some people would say that it has character. The food is great and there was a choice including a veggie option. Service was good and we were left alone to eat and enjoy the meal. Very good value for money.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Dormouse101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
480 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Great Sunday Lunch”
Reviewed 5 October 2013

Decided to try this pub for sunday lunch with my wife, as I used to drink here about 30 years ago. Lovely character pub, with options to eat in the bar or dining room. Good choice of food options, including sunday roasts and the regular menu. food was excellent, and they certainly know how to keep their ales here as well. The service was very friendly and efficient to. Would highly recommend.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AdamBilgy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Poor meal”
Reviewed 30 September 2013

A small party of us eat here last month, I had a steak that was very tough, two outside leaves of lettuce and and a small bit of tomato,only one mushroom and chips that tasted of old fat.For the money this was a very poor meal.
I must say the others enjoyed their different meals but one other person also said the chips were not t very nice.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank D C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raven Inn also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Raven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing