We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pre-salted frozen chips!”
Review of The Raven Inn

The Raven Inn
Ranked #8 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Pre-salted frozen chips!”
Reviewed 6 February 2014 via mobile

Biggest no-no at the Raven was the pre-salted frozen chips that had been deep fried. Poor quality yet big quantity. It would be far better to have less chips yet homemade and not salty! The menu itself it quite limited, there wasn't really many options. If each meal was cooked to a high standard a small menu would be understandable however the food does not live up to this. The Raven itself is a very welcoming building with two lovely fires, nice and toastie warm! Overall I would say it's ok for a quick dinner but wouldn't recommend for a 'nice' meal or special occasion.

Helpful?
1 Thank Brits_246135
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

196 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    133
    45
    12
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Melksham, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Christmas Day Lunch”
Reviewed 10 January 2014

What a fantastic Christmas Day lunch! Well worth every penny paid.
This was the first time that we have been out for Christmas Day/Birthday Lunch and what a wonderful time we had. We took our time, there was no rushing us. Although the food was pre-ordered I was able to change my desert on the day, due to health reasons. Staff very friendly and helpful. Restaurant was not overcrowded nor was there 2 sittings, like some do on Christmas day.
Shall not hesitate to go again.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank VerityAJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
60 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Fish Curry Overload”
Reviewed 8 January 2014 via mobile

Nice pint of Wadworths IPA (a rare thing these days! ) straight from the wood. Ordered the fish curry which was different! The spice completely drowned out any taste of fish but it wasn't bad. Friends all said they enjoyed their meals. Nice place. Cosey and warm. Service was friendly but somewhat abrupt and we had real concerns that our meals may end up in our laps. Interesting place, I'll certainly return there and try the beer. Just to make sure ;)

Helpful?
Thank CaptainBovril
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Trowbridge, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
59 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely meal”
Reviewed 1 January 2014

Tried the raven for a meal for two, we used to be regulars but after a few disappointing meals we hadn't been there for a long time. We'd heard good things so tried again, and we weren't disappointed. We both had a three course meal, which is unusual, and each meal was perfect. My only grumble was we were a table of two, and it was a very small table - this is often the case for tables of two

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Aimee2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Seend, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Christmas Celebration”
Reviewed 12 December 2013

18 of us visited The Raven yesterday for Christmas lunch. The experience lived up to expectation and beyond. On arrival we received a warm and relaxed welcome and the staff couldn't have been more helpful and efficient. The meal was quite simply delicious and, everyone agreed, cooked to perfection.
If you haven't visited this pub before then go soon. By the way, the chips are the best in Wiltshire!

Thank you all for making it such a happy event.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EXCW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Raven Inn also viewed

Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Raven Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing