We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very welcome addition”

The Peppermill Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Bar Scene, Groups, Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 2AA rosette award wining restaurant with rooms situated within the Market Place of the Town Centre. Offering a good selection of menus for breakfast, lunch & dinner 7 days a week. We also have a fantastic wine/cocktail bar with over 200 cocktails, 36 different Gins and over 80 different wines 12 by the glass.
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Very welcome addition”
Reviewed 1 August 2012

My wife and I visited on Friday evening on the spur of the moment as we were passing.I very much agree with liam141, this is very much what Devizes has been waiting for ! Great decor, friendly and efficient staff, and a chef of the highest order as the food was top notch ! The wine selection was varied and reasonable priced.The jovial proprietor helped with our choice of wine which complimented the meal well. I agree that the main meals need to come with sides but I understand this was only the second evening services and I'm sure these type of issues will be rectified.All in all money well spent and we will return !

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CGW957
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    95
    42
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Devizes, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great Atmosphere”
Reviewed 31 July 2012

What a great place. Devizes has needed this for years. Went on Saturday night. Food was great, service was amazing and the atmosphere was superb.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Philip O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good food, too expensive”
Reviewed 30 July 2012

We have been looking forward to Devizes having a new place to eat in the evenings and booked a table as soon as we heard about the Peppermill opening in the evenings.

The inside is lovely (nice decor, not over the top or too minimalist) and the staff very friendly and well presented.

We were disappointed that main meals were not served with any sides and that these had to be ordered at additional cost. For example, I had mussels (£12.50) but they did not come with any bread, chips or salad. The portion size was a bit on the small side for the price we were paying.

Everybody agreed the food was delicious but we probably would not go back as we did not think it was value for money.

We would encourage the owners to reconsider the prices and the additional cost of sides as we would love to see the place succeed and Devizes needs more choice of restaurants.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank MWic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip O, Owner at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this review, 16 August 2012
Thanks for your comments and we have looked at the menu and have amended prices and added sides with all main meals. As you know this was the first weekend of opening and I appreciaite all feed back so we can get it right.

I hope to see you again to see that value for money has got better.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Relaxing”
Reviewed 12 July 2012

A relaxing place to stop off! A warm welcome, great service and quick!

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
Thank Steviebird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peppermill Restaurant also viewed

 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Peppermill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing