We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fantastic Restaurant in Wiltshire!”

The Peppermill Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$6 - US$45
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special Occasion Dining, Groups, Bar Scene, Business meetings
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Dinner, Accepts American Express, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Digital Payments, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: A 2AA rosette award wining restaurant with rooms situated within the Market Place of the Town Centre. Offering a good selection of menus for breakfast, lunch & dinner 7 days a week. We also have a fantastic wine/cocktail bar with over 200 cocktails, 36 different Gins and over 80 different wines 12 by the glass.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic Restaurant in Wiltshire!”
Reviewed 4 June 2014

What a brilliant restaurant. Have called by for the occasional Leffe in the past, but this was the first time I'd eaten there and my expectations were well exceded. Almost certainly the best steak I've ever tasted. Leon the Chef is a master at his art and all too obviously the steak was the real deal - not the poor quality version supplied in far too many supposedly top notch restaurants in the UK and beyond. Moreover, the wine selection is also superb - catering for all tastes and wallets. The Chocolate Block red is especially good, ditto the Celebration. Great staff, great ambience, great food, great wine. I'll be back very soon.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank AconcaguaMark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip O, Owner at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for such a great review it is always nice to see. I will pass your comments onto all the staff. Try the Cabernet Sauvignon from Arboleda, Chile next time you are in its excellent .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

469 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    303
    95
    42
    19
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
151 reviews
93 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Wiltshire”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Less than 1 year old and it is making waves. Excellent and and exciting atmosphere with clean look and ability to look into kitchen to watch all the food being prepared and the instructions being given by the executive chef to the kitchen staff. Lively crowd makes everything exciting. Loved every moment. All the food on the dishes coming from the open kitchen looked very good. There was an amazing assortment of dishes of all shapes and sizes. I disagree with Gordon Ramsey who says shape of dishes does not matter. It adds to the evenings pleasure and look of the food and presentation.

The food that we tried that was excellent was all of it including amazing Scallops, Steaks , Cod, Mussels, Goat cheese. And for desert the best ever Sticky pudding. The owners of our B&B who know and love food, when they went the next night based on our recommendation, thought it was excellent. Truly a place not to be missed.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip O, Owner at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
It is always great to have overseas visitors writing reports and a glowing one at that. We are glad you enjoyed your experience at The Peppermill we are always striving to do the best we can and next time you are here you will be able to stay with us in our new boutique hotel opening in August
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Another quick visit”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

Our time in Devizes is always short, but we are never disappointed here. Today the soup was cauliflower and blue cheese.

Delicious.

As for the platter? An excellent selection

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sasparilla H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip O, Owner at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Once again thanks for taking the time to write a nice review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely place to sit and have a drink”
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

The only decent wine bar in Devizes, fantastic selection of wine and beers, the food is top quality with a lovely on trend open kitchen, staff are brilliant fantastic vibe. Top top try the homemade cake delicious.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jo w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip O, Owner at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
Thanks for your great review, I shall tell Beth & Amanda who make the cakes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Nothing to get excited about.”
Reviewed 30 May 2014 via mobile

Nice environment but the food wasn't really all that special; not terrible in any particular way but just underwhelming over all. Factor in the higher end pricing and disappointing would be the best description of my experience.
And I'd advise checking the bill!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
4 Thank Blowjif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philip O, Owner at The Peppermill Restaurant, responded to this review, 13 June 2014
We are sorry if we didn't live up to our reputation, I am always disappointed on an average or bad review, just wish people would say at the time if they are not happy with food or service as i would rather going onto a web site to tell eveyone
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Peppermill Restaurant also viewed

 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to The Peppermill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing