We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another welcoming experience, fantastic food, overall service and noticeable additional features since last visit”
Review of Emilys - CLOSED

Emilys
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$1 - US$18
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Dear Sir/madams, Thank you for looking at Emilys tearoom page, unfourtuanatley, Emilys has ceased trading and we are moving to new premises to open in mid november. Should you require any other information or wish to know our whereabouts, please call on our mobile number on our page. our very kind regards Emily's Tearoom, Devizes
Chippenham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Another welcoming experience, fantastic food, overall service and noticeable additional features since last visit”
Reviewed 3 June 2014

Another welcoming and tummy satisfying experience before setting off on my long road trip home. Staff were friendly, polite and a real joy to see again. During my visit I noticed a couple of new additions to the traditional feel including a newly installed fireplace complementing the entrance/ counter side and a hand made traditional wooden pew running along the window wall in replacement of chairs adding a more homely touch to the cosy room set. I felt at ease and relaxed as if sat within my own living room with all the time in the world to drink my favourite hot beverage- green tea! A delightful visit topped off with outstanding service from two true gentlemen. Will definitely be visiting again!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Soniapig26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

205 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    173
    18
    7
    4
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
152 reviews
94 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Cute, Great looking quaint tea shop, poor scones”
Reviewed 1 June 2014

Emily's looks like a gem. Tucked into a side street just around the corner from the main shopping area. Looks adorable. All the things a great tea shop should have, except the scones and accompaniments were poor. Very unusual and it appears all your other viewers disagree with me.

I really thought when we stumbled on this place, without any prior knowledge, that we had found the perfect tea room, and we have been to many over the years. Alas the simple food , tea scones and clotted cream failed. It all tasted stale. Maybe we will try once more and hope to erase this poor experience and join the others in their raves.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank larryKitty8933
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine Robert... C, Manager at Emilys, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review. We are so sorry that you found the scones and other food poor. This is not our ushual standard. Please as and when, and if you feel appropriate, please make us aware should you visit, of your presence and we will be happy to compensate you for your inconvenience. Also we would like to thank you for the excellent pictures you have up uploaded of our family run establishment, they are very good quality. Please do visit us again where we hope it will be up to your rightful standard

Yours respectfully

Emily's Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
wales
Level 6 Contributor
103 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
“A REAL GEM!!”
Reviewed 31 May 2014

a real find we stumbled across emilys tearoom whilst out
for a walk and my wife who is gluten intolerant spotted the chalk board
which read gluten free treats
as soon as you enter you get a truly genuine warm welcome
the place inside is amazingly different from anywhere else
the food is fantastic and home cooked
and great value my wife had the gluten free bread and butter pudding
a rare treat and i had the triple cooked wedges with cheese and bacon
less than £10 for the both
its a familly run place and we cant wait to go back
and would recommend to everyone you are in for a treat :-)

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank mtx7x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“I love this place”
Reviewed 25 May 2014 via mobile

Needed afternoon tea and this place hits the spot. Very cosy environment with china cups hanging from shelves, pictures and old posters give it a retro look that is refreshing in the modern world. Talking of refreshing, the tea was just that, a great brew. It came with a large home made scone a good dollop of cream and a selection of their home made jam, which you can buy to take home in jars. Very satisfying and a personal service from the smartly dressed gentlemen who run the shop. I am rather partial to tea and scones, and this place is recommended.

Helpful?
2 Thank SwindonMikey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andover, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Had 2 amazing sunday lunches here and can't wait to go back again. Amazing quality and value for money. Only had sunday lunch there but without a doubt its the best i've ever had. Customer service is also some of the best i've ever experienced. The only down side is that i live 45 minutes away as if i lived in Devizes i think i would be there every sunday.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sean1243
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Emilys also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing