We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, all you can eat done well”
Review of Zumi

Zumi
Ranked #51 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Cuisines: Chinese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Reservations
Description: A family operated local Chinese Restaurant serving 'A La Carte' and 'All You Can Eat' menus as well as a takeway service including home delivery. Please note we do not operate a buffet service and all of our dishes are cooked fresh to order, as such, with the 'All You Can Eat' being a three course meal, at least 90mins (possibly more when busy) should be allowed to enjoy this menu. If you are short on time then you should consider ordering 1 course from our 'A La Carte' menu.
wiltshire
Level 5 Contributor
79 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Excellent food, all you can eat done well”
Reviewed 9 June 2014

There are two menus; one a la carte and the other fixed price £13.97 all you can eat. I'm normally cautious about all you can eat restaurants - the food is normally pre-cooked and a help yourself buffet.
Zumi isn't. Each dish is freshly cooked and very well cooked as well. Take a look at the menu, but we ate all the dishes we normally do at a Chinese, including crispy duck, but didn't have to worry about the price. As long as you can eat it, they will keep it coming.
The waiting staff were friendly and efficient.
My one slight complaint is that the modern décor means that the noise level is high, but this is a common complaint with modern, minimalist designed restaurants.
Overall we were very happy and will be going back.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank serendipityagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    34
    24
    10
    8
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Fab meal and great value”
Reviewed 21 May 2014 via mobile

The food and service here is brilliant. Great value for money and you are also not ripped off with the drinks like most places. Will definitely return.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank W24D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
340 reviews
116 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 789 helpful votes
“Awful service, poor food and a long wait for everything”
Reviewed 19 May 2014

My wife's parents were visiting and based upon the half decent experience we had here last time, we decided to give it another go. We walked in at 9.15pm, the place was three quarters empty, with used plates, glasses and cutlery on most of the unoccupied tables. One table was laid out, just right for the four of us, yet we were asked to wait at the counter "for five minutes".

Five minutes became ten, nothing was happening, and we were on the point of walking out when we were led to a table, in fact the one we had been looking at for the past ten minutes.

Having been seated, we then waited for a further ten minutes for the menus, whilst the waitresses cleared the piles of stuff from the other tables. No offer of "would you like a drink?" or anything. Menus finally arrived so we ordered quickly from the "all-you-can-eat" menu.

The first course took a full half hour to arrive by which time we were so hungry, we ate the lot in five minutes. We then sat looking at the empties for 15 minutes. "Enough is enough" I said, and got up to leave. I left what I thought to be the correct amount of money for the small amount we'd eaten and walked out.

What a dump, so mis-managed, so "couldn't-care-less" and whomever owns this place, should invest some money in staff training. Dreadful and I'd give it "no stars" if such were available.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank GBfromDevizes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ledoantrang, Owner at Zumi, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
This reply is directed at others that are reading this and not this 'so called' customer. The events described here just simply DID NOT happen and this review is fake and suspicious and as such has been reported to Tripadvisor. Nobody has ever entered our Restaurant at 9.15 on any night of the week and found all the tables except one full of plates and glasses etc. our 'actual' customers know full well that we clear as we serve. nobody in the history of Bambou/Zumi has waited 10 minute for menus, giving menus is the first thing we do even to the piont of walking past the menu stand and grabbing them on the way to the table to sit the customers, and likewise we DO NOT take 30 minutes to get starters to the table which again our customers will confirm. Most important, nobody has left after the starters and left what they consider 'the correct amount' of money for it, this simply did not happen. given this reviewers dislike of just about every eating establishment in Devizes apart from the Indian and Wetherspoons, perhaps he should just go there!
So Mr 'GBfromDevizes' given your outright lies, I urge you to re-consider if you think of ever returning.
If you are a local Devizes man, you should be supporting your local businesses, not moaning about all of them all the time. So if you, by nature, are a serial moaner and complainer, then better you not say anything at all. 1Spice are welcome to you....
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Great takeaway”
Reviewed 15 March 2014

Good food, great value and really fast delivery. I can highly recommend the Set Menu D - our kids loved it, especially the duck which was really tasty and generous portions. All the dishes had good flavour and were perfect for a family meal, and it looks like they have a lot more adventurous dishes on the menu.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnotherMoonraker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Like old times”
Reviewed 16 February 2014

After my disappointing visit in Sep I booked a table and revisited Zumi with my wife last night. The visit was more like the old days with a pleasant ambience, attentive service and good value food from the £15.95 menu, including the aromatic lamb which was new to us. If it stays like this, we will certainly return. I never got to speak to the owner but all I would have said is you have an excellent restaurant, please don't spoil it by allowing walk in trade on busy nights to prevent you being able to cope with known bookings; set a limit and turn the rest away.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank GentlemanVolunteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Zumi also viewed

 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Devizes, Wiltshire
 
Devizes, Wiltshire
Market Lavington, Devizes
 

Been to Zumi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing