We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic property in ideal location”
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
The garden at West View House is a real sun trap.
A lovely bright room with a McCarron and Co kitchen and granite worktops. All appliances are Miele.
The kitchen is very well equipped with just about anything you will need.
The dining area seats 6-7 people comfortably.
The sitting room, which is south facing, so light and sunny has two comfy sofas and an armchair.
A beautifully light landing with a sofa. A pleasant place to read or just sit and look at the church
Bedroom 1, has a king size bed and plenty of storage. The view is to Devizes castle.
Bedroom 2. Another bright sunny room.
Bedroom 2 has both a king size and a single bed. Ideal for a couple or for children to share.
Bedroom 3, which is downstairs has a double bed.
The family bathroom.
There is also a shower room.
Aerial view of West View House.
Devizes Castle - Winter view from West View House.
View of St John's, Norman church from the landing.
View to St John's church from the garden. The church was built in the Norman era.
Sunset at West View House
Wadworth shire horses deliver beer to all the local pubs and hotels. A brewery tour is a must!!
Caen Hill locks; there are 26 of them! Take a boat trip on the canal!
The Kennet and Avon canal is a wonderful place to walk or cycle.
Bath on the river Avon
The beautiful city of Bath
Avebury, with it's neolithic stones is just a few miles away.
Part of the Avebury stone circle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mari B
1 review
“Fantastic property in ideal location”
Reviewed 17 October 2014 for a stay in October 2014

Excellent facilities. Within easy walking distance of town centre.comfortable property with everything we needed for a pleasant stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and comfort
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Oct 2014
Many thanks for your lovely review. So pleased to hear that you both enjoyed your stay; despite the weather! If you would like to make a return visit in the warmer weather we would be very happy to hear from you.

Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
CarolynEl...
BIRMINGHAM
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Brilliant!”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

This property is centally located in quiet backwater of Devizes. Walking distance of town, canal and Wadworth Brewery. Amazing, well equipped kitchen. Comfortable beds. One smallish bedroom but plenty of space overall for 6 adults. Owners really helpful but discreet. Lots to visit in area. We spent day at Avebury, walked along the canal and did a brewery tour so something for everyone. Didnt try any local restaurants or pubs but there are several to choose from. Only our group's policy of trying somewhere new each year has stopped us booking again for our annual get together. However we have booked owners other property for New Year and we are sure this is going to be as good.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything!
Liked least: Having to go home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
11 Sep 2014
Thanks so much for the wonderful review. We were really pleased that you all enjoyed your stay in Devizes and it was a pleasure to meet you.
Have the dates booked for you at The Manse for New Year and hope that your stay there is just as memorable.

Best wishes to you all - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hannah B
Ipswich, United Kingdom
1 review
“Fantastic house in the heart of Devizes”
Reviewed 1 September 2014 for a stay in August 2014

I have just come back from spending four days away with my two young boys and parents at West View House. West View House is a fantastic place if you are wanting to stay in Devizes. Although set in the heart of the town, it is a very peaceful and relaxing place to stay. The house is of an excellent quality with very good facilities. The owners, Richard and Sue, have thought of everything from night lights on the landing to hairdryers in each bedroom to the top of the range kitchen with Miele appliances and a bathroom with an amazing shower! It is all very tastefully done and we were very warmly welcomed.

I would highly recommend this place to anyone wanting to spend time in the beautiful historic town of Devizes.
Thank you for a brilliant stay!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: It is very difficult to say what I liked best as everything was very good. However, I particularly liked being in the heart of the town but feeling like you are away from the noise.
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Sep 2014
Thanks so much for your very positive and glowing review. We try very hard to keep the house to a good standard; one we would expect ourselves. So pleased you all enjoyed your stay, especially your two lovely boys and look forward to seeing you again next year perhaps!
Best wishes to you all - Richard & Sue PS.Joseph's picture now takes pride of place in our visitors book, please thank him.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Karen O
Barking, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic Property”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Fantastic accommodation ideally situated in the heart of Devizes Town. The house is very well equipped and beautifully looked after. Sue and Richard are very friendly and welcoming and made the whole process from booking, our arrival and last day departure ~ stress free. We will definitely be returning.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Thanks so much for the lovely review. We try very hard to keep the house in good order and comfortable for our guests and it's so nice to get really positive feed back. We enjoyed meeting you all and are pleased that you enjoyed your stay in Devizes. We'll look forward to hearing from you sometime in the future. Let's hope the weather is just as glorious!
Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
300KateY
Perth, Australia
1 review
“A highlight of our travels, a beautiful house full of character.”
Reviewed 28 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

This beautiful house exceeded our expectations. It is a stunning house full of character, squeaky clean, well equipped and cosy. It is next to a Norman church, and is a short walk to the town centre. The owners were delightful. We will certainly return if we get the chance, and would most definately recommend this rental to a friend.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: A stunning house, and very welcoming owners. A beautiful kitchen.
Liked least: Leaving.
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2014
Lovely to hear from you and thankyou for the wonderful review. We're so pleased that your stay at West view House was a highlight of your trip. It was great to meet you all and if you visit the UK again it would be a pleasure to have you stay.
Best wishes - Richard and Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Traveller...
Belfast, United Kingdom
1 review
“Peaceful retreat”
Reviewed 23 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

We had a lovely stay at West View - although it's 2 minutes from the town centre shops, it really is very secluded. The interior is painted throughout in white with big windows - so lovely and airy. It's all beautifully furnished with a high spec kitchen and good appliances - so truly a luxury stay. And the front garden is much more private than the pictures might suggest.

But, for us, the friendliness and helpfulness of Sue and Richard was one of the biggest pluses - nothing is too much trouble for them, and they take a real interest in where you've been etc. and providing recommendations, without overly intruding.

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Aug 2014
Thankyou so much for finding the time to do a review on West View House. We love the house and its situation; so quiet and peaceful yet so close to all amenities. We are always happy to hear from our visitors that their stay has been an enjoyable one. It was lovely to meet you all and if you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd be really happy to hear from you.
With best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jamcd21
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“First Class Accommodation”
Reviewed 22 July 2014 for a stay in July 2014

The house was fantastically located in the centre of devizes within 2 mins walk of shops, restaurants etc. It is a beautiful house, very well appointed and like a home from home. Highly recommended.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Thankyou so much for your wonderful review. We are happy that you enjoyed your stay in Devizes and if you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd be pleased to hear from you.
Best wishes - Richard & Sue
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing