We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Idyllic location for the ideal property.....”
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
100 reviews
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
The garden at West View House is a real sun trap.
A lovely bright room with a McCarron and Co kitchen and granite worktops. All appliances are Miele.
The kitchen is very well equipped with just about anything you will need.
The dining area seats 6-7 people comfortably.
The sitting room, which is south facing, so light and sunny has two comfy sofas and an armchair.
A beautifully light landing with a sofa. A pleasant place to read or just sit and look at the church
Bedroom 1, has a king size bed and plenty of storage. The view is to Devizes castle.
Bedroom 2. Another bright sunny room.
Bedroom 2 has both a king size and a single bed. Ideal for a couple or for children to share.
Bedroom 3, which is downstairs has a double bed.
The family bathroom.
There is also a shower room.
Aerial view of West View House.
Devizes Castle - Winter view from West View House.
View of St John's, Norman church from the landing.
View to St John's church from the garden. The church was built in the Norman era.
Sunset at West View House
Wadworth shire horses deliver beer to all the local pubs and hotels. A brewery tour is a must!!
Caen Hill locks; there are 26 of them! Take a boat trip on the canal!
The Kennet and Avon canal is a wonderful place to walk or cycle.
Bath on the river Avon
The beautiful city of Bath
Avebury, with it's neolithic stones is just a few miles away.
Part of the Avebury stone circle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 100 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
evans7gro...
Epsom, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Idyllic location for the ideal property.....”
Reviewed 1 April 2017 for a stay in January 2017

This property can only be described as perfect, great size, spotlessly clean and maintained regardless of cost.
Location is perfect.......quiet with great parking and yet a minutes walk to great bars, restaurants and shops.
The owners Sue and Richard are always on hand to help. This is by far the best holiday home we have stayed in.
We could not recommend this property enough.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
It was great to have you as neighbours and we miss you being next door. Hope you're now all settled into your new home.
Thank you for your great review and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackie J
Doha
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Beautiful house”
Reviewed 27 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

This was our second stay at this lovely property owned by Sue and Richard Jackson. It is a warm and cosy house perfect for the Christmas holiday season. Sue is so helpful and keeps the house to a very high standard great kitchen and level bedrooms. Will definitely stay again.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 Dec 2016
Thank you for taking the time to do a review and so pleased that you had a great Christmas.
A very happy new year to you all and we look forward to hearing from you again in the future.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Resort685...
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Highly recommended ”
Reviewed 21 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016

We rented this accommodation for family visiting from abroad. They like us were impressed and delighted with the quality of the house and its facilities.
The kitchen was stunning and was beautifully equipped.
We were able to dine as a family within the kitchen-dining space.
The central setting of the property was enhanced by the quiet secluded area it occupied. Ideally situated central to Devizes town and the county of Wiltshire.
It provided an ideal location from which to explore Wiltshires heritage e.g. Avebury Stone Circle, Stonehenge and Salisbury with its spectacular cathedral.
The owners of the property was very helpful and accommodating.
We would highly recommend this property!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Dec 2016
Many thanks for taking the time to do a review; particularly at such a busy time of year!
It was lovely to meet you and your family and we were so pleased that you had a wonderful wedding weekend and wish you both all the very best for the future.
If you would like to book the house again at any time we'd be really happy to hear from you.
Look forward to seeing you around and about Devizes!!
Have a very Happy Christmas and New Year
With Best Wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Z5534LJja...
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Fabulous accommodation in wonderful location”
Reviewed 5 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016

West View House is a beautiful cottage situated in a quiet area yet within a short stroll from the lovely town of Devizes with the added bonus of having its own private parking immediately outside the house. It is exceptionally well equipped with comfortable furnishings, immaculately clean and has everything you could possibly need and more to enjoy a relaxing stay.

The owners, Sue and Richard, couldn't have been more friendly, kind and helpful during our stay and were just next door if we needed anything. One of our party had car problems and the owners were most helpful in calling a recommended mechanic who although extremely busy took the time to fix the problem.

We have stayed in many self-catering properties but this has to be one of the best, if you want to stay in this area then look no further and book West View House, you won’t be disappointed.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your great review.
We very much enjoyed meeting you all and we're very happy to help with the car issues. That's one reason we like to be close by, so that if our guests have any problems we can sort them immediately.
I hope that you have a wonderful Christmas and very happy 2017.
Look forward to perhaps seeing you again sometime in the future
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jessica-R...
Middle England
Level 6 Contributor
106 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Charming Home from Home”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We are a group of college friends who met 40 years ago and remained in touch ever since.We chose West House Devizes as the perfect home from home to celebrate a special birthday.The location were perfect as we live all over the UK so it was a central point to meet up. We found Devizes charming and also visited Lacock and Caen Hill Locks. We had coffees and lunch in town but for the evenings we cooked dined and wined in the extremely well equipped and beautiful kitchen at West House, my friends are very keen cooks so were impressed by everything provided.
The whole house is furnished to an exceptionally high standard and every little detail thought of so beautifully. I found the downstairs bedroom very useful as I have mobility problems and find stairs very difficult, there is no shower downstairs but there is a spacious cloakroom.
The location is perfect as the house is situated in a very quiet courtyard with views of the church and flowers all around but is just a few steps away from the centre of town.
Our hosts Sue and Richard were so warm and welcoming and living next door were able to advise and help with anything we needed-many thanks to them for their kindness and friendliness. We had a great weekend and hope one day to return

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and high quality furnishings
Liked least: Beds are a little firm for some of us -maybe matress toppers for our older bones lol
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Oct 2016
It was lovely to meet you all and we were so pleased that you all enjoyed your stay and that the house was all you had hoped for. We make a huge effort to keep the house comfortable and well equipped for our guests and it's nice to know that we've achieved that.
Thank you so much for your glowing and informative review.
We'd be really happy to here from you in the future if you'd like to make a return visit.
Best wishes to you all.
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dennis H
Noblesville, Indiana
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
“Beautiful Place to stay in Devizes”
Reviewed 16 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

What a lovely place to call home for five days. Our stay was perfect in all aspects. The home is beautiful and well equipped with everything you need for a fantastic holiday. The location for exploring the English countryside is very convenient for day trips and the location in Devizes allows you to enjoy the area all within walking distance. The owners, Sue and Richard, are delightful people. Would definitely stay here again and will highly recommend to friends traveling to the area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your great review. It was a pleasure to host you and we so enjoyed meeting you all. We were so glad that the house worked well for you and that you felt at home and comfortable during your stay.
If you would like to stay again any time in the future we'd love to hear from you.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David S
Chester, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Another wonderful stay at West View House”
Reviewed 23 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Stayed again for another family wedding in the area. Immaculate presentation of the property maintained from our first visit a couple of years ago and a very comfortable experience once more. An ideal central yet quiet location with very helpful hosts. Look forward to returning in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and quality of the property
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Sep 2016
Many thanks for your glowing review! It was lovely to meet you again and we were so pleased to hear that you all enjoyed your second stay at West View House.
We look forward to possibly hosting you again some time in the future.
Best wishes
Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing