We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Beautiful and comfortable house”
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
101 reviews
West View House is in the centre of Devizes but is tucked away in a very quiet area.
The garden is south facing and in the Summer benefits from  sun all day.
The garden at West View House is a real sun trap.
A lovely bright room with a McCarron and Co kitchen and granite worktops. All appliances are Miele.
The kitchen is very well equipped with just about anything you will need.
The dining area seats 6-7 people comfortably.
The sitting room, which is south facing, so light and sunny has two comfy sofas and an armchair.
A beautifully light landing with a sofa. A pleasant place to read or just sit and look at the church
Bedroom 1, has a king size bed and plenty of storage. The view is to Devizes castle.
Bedroom 2. Another bright sunny room.
Bedroom 2 has both a king size and a single bed. Ideal for a couple or for children to share.
Bedroom 3, which is downstairs has a double bed.
The family bathroom.
There is also a shower room.
Aerial view of West View House.
Devizes Castle - Winter view from West View House.
View of St John's, Norman church from the landing.
View to St John's church from the garden. The church was built in the Norman era.
Sunset at West View House
Wadworth shire horses deliver beer to all the local pubs and hotels. A brewery tour is a must!!
Caen Hill locks; there are 26 of them! Take a boat trip on the canal!
The Kennet and Avon canal is a wonderful place to walk or cycle.
Bath on the river Avon
The beautiful city of Bath
Avebury, with it's neolithic stones is just a few miles away.
Part of the Avebury stone circle.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Devizes, Wiltshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 101 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
des_rey
Aylesbury, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful and comfortable house”
Reviewed 4 December 2017 for a stay in November 2017

We stayed here for 2 nights and wished we could’ve spent longer. Exactly what we all needed. There was 5 adults and 2 kids. The house is full of character, beautifully decorated and very clean! The rooms were all spacious and beds were super comfy! Sue and Richard were very friendly and helpful; always there when we needed them. They made sure a stair gate and travel cot was provided which we’d requested - and even included a mattress! House is in a quiet area but walking distance to all the amenities. Really cannot fault a thing and would love to come back again to stay longer! Thank you Sue and Richard!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 Dec 2017
Thank you so much for your very positive review.
We were really pleased that you enjoyed your stay and it was lovely to meet you all last weekend. We look forward to you perhaps visiting again in the future.
The curry you left for us was absolutely delicious, thanks very much!
Hope that you had a good journey home and look forward to seeing you again soon.
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manda63ca...
Leicester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Beautiful and comfortable house in the centre of a lovely town”
Reviewed 28 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017

Six friends met up in this lovely house in the centre of Devizes.
The house is gorgeous, well equipped, warm, has everything you need for a relaxing break, with the most comfortable beds!
Sue and Richard live next door and were very friendly and welcoming and made it clear that they were happy to be called upon if we needed anything but otherwise left us to ourselves.
We cooked for ourselves in a really well equipped kitchen although Devizes clearly has lots of choice of places to eat out if you fancy that instead.
Easy parking for 2 cars, right outside the property and Devizes was a great place to explore.
Lots of mooching around independent shops, fab and very friendly pubs, walks along the canal and a brewery tour if you fancy it!
Would highly recommend and we will definitely be returning.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2017
Thanks so much for your really informative and positive review Manda.
It was great to meet you all and we were so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us. We love living in Devizes and it's always nice to hear that our guests have had a good time whilst staying here.
We look forward to hearing from you again in the near future.
Best wishes and a very Happy Christmas to you all.
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Roy S
Nantwich, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Fantastic property in a perfect location!”
Reviewed 6 October 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Well what can I say!!

Six of us spent a weekend in this lovely house at the end of September and we had a fabulous time. We learned that the house is a conversion from the original Devizes Liberal Club which gives it some character and history.

A very spacious house, spotlessly clean, top quality fixtures and fittings throughout, and everything we needed for a home from home stay - from an extensive range of kitchen equipment, to loads of books to dip into.........and extremely importantly, lovely comfortable beds so we slept like babies :-)

Lots of great local information available to plan days out.........and there is so much to see and do in the area. Devizes which is a great market town, is a perfect location to explore from - with The Cotswolds, London and the coast all within easy driving distance.

Sue and Richard the owners, were very friendly, attentive and helpful.

All in all a superb choice, and a great place to stay. We will definitely be returning for a longer visit next year.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
9 Oct 2017
So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay in Devizes and many thanks for your very positive and informative review!
Look forward to hearing from you re a second visit next year.
In the meantime have a very enjoyable Christmas and New Year!
With best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dlh91358
Dublin, Ohio
1 review
“Awesome holiday house”
Reviewed 26 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

Lovely picturesque house in the heart of Devizes. Interior of this home is decorated beautifully. Very comfortable accommodations. Sue and Richard thought of everything to make our stay memorable.
Highly recommend West View House!
We plan on returning for another stay at this perfect setting.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Sep 2017
Hope you had a good trip home!
Thanks so much for your great review and really pleased that you enjoyed your stay.
Lovely to meet you all and look forward to hearing from you again sometime.
Best wishes
Sue & Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
concerned...
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Perfect”
Reviewed 6 September 2017 for a stay in September 2017

We arrived at the house which is in the centre of Devizes but tucked away in a quiet road. The house was bright and clean, and very comfortable . We were within easy reach of all the shops and attractions in Devizes. Lovely place to stay. Mr and Mrs Jackson could not have done more to make our stay better.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to do a review for us.
It was lovely to meet you and your family and we were so pleased that despite the problem with the hire car everyone enjoyed their stay.
If you would like to book the house again any time in the future it would be lovely to hear from you.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kadavey88
Rochester, United Kingdom
1 review
“Surprise weekend”
Reviewed 11 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We booked this house for a surprise wedkend for our friends 60th bithday. The house is beautiful and exactly what we wanted. Walking distance to our day boat hire and the restaurants and pubs for the evenings. The house had everything we needed for our get together and the rooms were so homely and the bedrooms were large and beautifully furnished. Would definitely go again.
Thank you again for a lovely stay.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Aug 2017
So pleased that you all enjoyed your stay in Devizes for the surprise birthday celebrations.
If you would like to make a return visit at any time we'd be very happy to hear from you.
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashman196...
Durrington, United Kingdom
1 review
“West View House Devizes”
Reviewed 7 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017

A great experience from start to finish. A very warm welcome was received. This is a wonderfully appointed house in a quiet location. It's central position made for a convenient location within Devizes. There has been no expense spared with the furnishing and equipping of the property. The property is spacious and accommodated 7 adults very easily. All the guests approved of the choice. The position of West View House is also convenient for many of the ancient and historical buildings, ruins and waterways that can be found in Wiltshire. Thank you both. I could not recommend West View House any higher

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Aug 2017
Thanks so much for your great review. We do try very hard to keep the house to a good standard and it's always nice to hear that it works!
It was lovely to meet you all and we were so pleased that the weather held for the wedding. If you ever feel like a relaxed few days away without too much travel you'd be very welcome!!
Best wishes
Sue and Richard
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing