We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“tasty offerings” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of 1 Spice

1 Spice
Ranked #6 of 80 Restaurants in Devizes
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian, Asian, Balti, Bangladeshi
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Child-friendly, Special Occasion Dining, Kids, Business meetings, Romantic, Groups, Cheap Eats
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bradford OA
2 reviews
“tasty offerings”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 February 2014

Had the pleasure of dining here last week. Typical, indian food, great service, nicely presented but aren t most indian restaurants, Found the eating experience pleasurable but rather noisy atmosphere lead to a less than intimate evening.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank emily J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    136
    51
    15
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Trowbridge
Level Contributor
36 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“What a great restaurant”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 February 2014

Had a superb meal here tonight, great atmosphere and staff food was amazing. Butter lamb was superbly spiced I will definitely be returning here soon.

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank comeonyouswans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent fresh cooking”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 February 2014

This bright and modern Indian restaurant serves very fresh and tasty curry. Attentive staff and a manager who has really got this licked. Deservedly very popular so best to book.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sl0w2anger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
24 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Quite Simply The Best Restaurant in Devizes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2014

I have eaten in this restaurant at least half a dozen times since the current owners bought the premises from the previous Bangladeshi owners
The food is always superb and the service impeccable- they are the friendliest people in town

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Bealeyboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Devizes
Level Contributor
35 reviews
28 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“A Sunday treat”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 January 2014

After moving to Devizes we had been looking for a decent curry, alas nothing has hit the spot. We didn't find one tonight either. We found an exceptional one. I had a vegetable balti, the veg was fresh not any cheap frozen dice in sight. My husband had a chicken korai with fresh chicken and not frozen chunks . The nan was light and buttery. The staff were very friendly and attentive, they have even promised me my favourite dish that is not on the menu the next time we go. Who could want more?

  • Visited January 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed 1 Spice also viewed

 
Devizes, Wiltshire
 

Been to 1 Spice? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing